We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hospitlity” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Drisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Drisco
Ranked #1 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent hospitlity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Fantastic hotel and service. The stunning views make up for the need to take a taxi to the sights. Great buffet breakfast. Your own home in SF. But what really makes it is the really obliging staff, and with a constant smile. The evening complimentary wine and bites is fun.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PapaTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,191
    167
    35
    16
    12
See reviews for
267
749
56
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Hotel Drisco was an excellent experience for our short stay in April, 2013. I have nothing, but praise and admiration for the wonderful service we received from everyone. The front desk attendants were knowledgeable, helpful, and catered to our every need. This boutique hotel is lovely and wonderfully decorated.
Although there is full disclosure on their website, do keep in mind that there is no air conditioning in the hotel, which was a problem for us even in April (there was a minor heat wave) and while the windows did provide relief, they have no screens on them..so I was a bit concerned about "pests" entering the room. The located in a beautiful neighborhood in Russian Hill, but just keep in mind that this is a very long way from most tourist attractions in San Francisco. Having been to San Francisco many times, I wanted this type of new experience of staying in a neighborhood setting and I'm glad we did. We had a wonderful night's rest and met some very lovely people. Although I mentioned this before, I can't really say enough wonderful things about the caring and kind staff. Simply wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, VA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We loved this boutique hotel! The place is just lovely, we enjoyed the quiet sitting room. The staff were generous with their time and provided prompt assistance. Wine and appetizers were lovely as is the complimentary breakfast and the location is close to parks and a lovely shopping area. We won't look for another San Francisco hotel-this is our place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

The Drisco was a great hotel for us. We were looking for a quiet, comfortable hotel that cares about the quality of life it provides for guests. The entire staff was kind and accommodating, the breakfast was copious and yummy. This is not a party hotel placing emphasis on design over service--rather it is a beautiful historic gem that is perfect for travelers looking to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vwomyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I love this place-very charming- it felt almost like a bed and breakfast. Most friendly and helpful staff I have ever come across. They made you feel right at home. Loved the wine and cheese in the evening and the breakfast in the morning was perfect. I also loved the slippers:) I will be staying here again next time I visit San Fran for sure. It was also a great location, surrounded by the most gorgeous homes and centrally located. We were able to walk to most places.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsMeganJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

I would live at the Hotel Drisco if I could! The staff, the ambience, the yummy breakfast, the lovely wine and cheese in the evening were all superb. I highly recommend this hotel! The view from my room was spectacular. The bathroom was spacious and I loved the robe and slippers. Loved every minute of being there. Especially commend the front desk staff, the housekeepers, and the dining room personnel. Very attentive without going overboard.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beverly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed over a long weekend in San Francisco, and wanted to stay out of the traditional hotel areas. The residential location in Pacific Heights is really convenient for heading out to the Presidio, Marin County, the Marina and surprisingly, most anywhere else in the City. The hotel is older, but beautifully appointed and charmingly friendly and well-managed. The room was full of natural light, but had layers of window coverings to allow privacy or keep the sun out for sleeping in. The "expanded" continental breakfast that comes with the room rate is really exceptional. There's only limited room service, but with San Francisco restaurants, why would you want to stay in? Highly recommended, unstuffy, expensive and worth it.

Room Tip: Bay view rooms have great city views, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pdotmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,573 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#7 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#17 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,633 reviews
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#9 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Drisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drisco

Property: Hotel Drisco
Address: 2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115-1011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Drisco 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Drisco, constructed in 1903, blends traditional elegance with the convenience, comfort, and amenities of a world-class modern hotel. Our warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere, and impeccable service are designed to please business and leisure travelers alike. Our complimentary services include a gourmet continental breakfast, evening wine reception, chauffeured sedan service to several popular San Francisco locations and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Drisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drisco Hotel San Francisco
Drisco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing