We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”
Review of Hotel Drisco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Drisco
Ranked #1 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Southern California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were treated like royalty at the Hotel Drisco! The hotel is beautiful and the service is exquisite. Our room was bright and beautiful, and exceedingly comfortable. The breakfast service is delicious and the afternoon wine and appetizers was an unexpected treat. We also ordered a pannini one night and they were delicious, too.

The neighborhood is lovely, quiet and secure; the hotel was a nice respite from the noise and bustle of the city during the day.

It is a short walk (.5 mile?) to the closest trolley line which will take you right to the Embarcadero. The staff was great about taking care of moving our rental car around for us, which was an added bonus.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaineyMacCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,227
    169
    35
    16
    12
See reviews for
274
773
59
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We will definiately be back to the Hotel Drisco! Lovely boutique hotel in beautiful Pacific Heights. My husband and I stayed in a suite with a city view in March. Very comfortable accomodations. We especially enjoyed the breakfasts, and the wine and cheese hour. Simply delicious. I have stayed at boutiques in France and Italy, and the Hotel Drisco is right in line with them. Fabulous service and hospitality. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank primodonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Hotel Drisco is one of the most charming, lovely hotels i have stayed in in a while......
We were greeted by Sarah, who was delightful and helpful in describing the neighborhood and suggesting places to go and then turned over to Howard, ( hope i am remembering this correctly) who saw us settled in our room and made sure we had every little thing we needed !!
The wine and food tasting in the afternoon was wonderful....and the breakfast in the morning was delicious !!
I would never stay anywhere else in this city !!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizard33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

This was a lovely small hotel with nice rooms and great service. If you're looking for something near either Union square or fishermans wharf it is a bit out the way, as we didn't have a car we either walked about, which was ok during the day, or public transport. So if you have young children or those less mobile perhaps consider somewhere a bit closer to where you want to be. But it was a lovely area, and the breakfast included was really nice and alot on offer for a buffet.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We just spent two nights at the Drisco. We had never been before but the reviews here were spot on. It's an amazing place, with great service and wonderful amenities. The staff was extremely helpful, and we really enjoined the evening wine party, which was very generous and offered up some very nice wines.

If you've ever wondered what it would be like to live in one of the $10M homes in the area, you get a pretty good peek at the lifestyle at the Drisco. The creaky floorboards just add to the ambiance. :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The other reviews sum up much about this small hotel. Great rooms and service, and a wonderful location, if you are prepared to be out of the downtown area, and to pay what are pretty expensive room rates. We had a one bedroom suite that was spacious, well appointed and with great views out over the streetscape and beyond. The staff were friendly, courteous and highly professional.

Our only (tiny) complaint was that the bath faucet was faulty (although this may well have been an operator issue!) and the hot water wasn't really, well, that hot!

All in all, a great San Francisco experience...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please feel free to contact me personally regarding the bath faucet and hot water -- I have a maintenance staff that takes great pride in making sure everything works perfectly!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This hotel is absolutely fantastic. The staff, building, and service are incredible and you feel like you're living in one of the Pacific Heights mansions that surround you. I used to live in San Francisco in the same neighborhood, and it always feels like coming home to me in every way.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maria77777777777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your great review. I hope we can welcome you back "hone" very soon.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,235 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 229 in San Francisco
3,201 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#8 of 229 in San Francisco
1,075 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Drisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drisco

Property: Hotel Drisco
Address: 2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115-1011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Drisco 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Drisco, constructed in 1903, blends traditional elegance with the convenience, comfort, and amenities of a world-class modern hotel. The warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere, and impeccable service are designed to please business and leisure travelers alike. Complimentary services include a gourmet continental breakfast, evening wine reception, chauffeured sedan service to several popular San Francisco locations and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Drisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drisco Hotel San Francisco
Drisco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing