We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Drisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Drisco
Ranked #1 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vientiane
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delightful...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The other reviews sum up much about this small hotel. Great rooms and service, and a wonderful location, if you are prepared to be out of the downtown area, and to pay what are pretty expensive room rates. We had a one bedroom suite that was spacious, well appointed and with great views out over the streetscape and beyond. The staff were friendly, courteous and highly professional.

Our only (tiny) complaint was that the bath faucet was faulty (although this may well have been an operator issue!) and the hot water wasn't really, well, that hot!

All in all, a great San Francisco experience...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please feel free to contact me personally regarding the bath faucet and hot water -- I have a maintenance staff that takes great pride in making sure everything works perfectly!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,141
    163
    35
    15
    12
See reviews for
250
720
56
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This hotel is absolutely fantastic. The staff, building, and service are incredible and you feel like you're living in one of the Pacific Heights mansions that surround you. I used to live in San Francisco in the same neighborhood, and it always feels like coming home to me in every way.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maria77777777777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your great review. I hope we can welcome you back "hone" very soon.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East coast, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My wife and I just spent a week in San Francisco. Because this was a break for us, I spent a lot of time researching hotels. My wife and I have been to San Francisco many times (for business and pleasure) and stayed in many of the best hotels; but I was curious to read the current "reviews" of hotels in the city. I was surprised to see the Hotel Drisco consistently rated so highly because we had never heard of it. We decided to give it a try, in part because it is a small, boutique hotel in beautiful Pacific Heights. We could not have made a better decision. The Hotel Drisco is as good a hotel as we have ever stayed in and better than most. The service is impeccable. The staff is spectacularly good -- friendly, thoughtful, knowledgeable and helpful. And they are at you call on a moment's notice.The buffet breakfast is terriffic, as is the complimentary wine serving every afternoon. We stayed in a City View Suite overlooking much of San Francisco. The rooms were large and clean, beautifully decorated, with large flat-screen televisions, many comfortable chairs and a couch, plenty of hot water, and bottled water delivered to the room each day. The hotel has a library of DVD movies from which you can borrow at no cost. The hotel has a limo service to pick you up from and take you back to the airport. They also arranged to have our car rental delivered to the hotel, and then members of the staff moved the car during the day so that we would not get a ticket for exceeding the three-hour parking limit. (There is plenty on on-street parking, but there are 3-hour limits during the day.) Pacific Heights is a gorgeous area and it is an easy drive to some of the best restaurants in the city (Gary Danko, Jardiniere, La Folie, to name a few that we tried). It is also an easy drive from the hotel to the Golden Gate Bridge heading north to the wine country. There is a small workout room that is always available. I could go on and on. The place is perfect, unless you prefer a big, noisey hotel. Our week in San Francisco at the Hotel Drisco was easily one of the best vacations we have every had, and we have had more than our share. I recommend this hotel without the slightest hesitation. It really is terrific.

Room Tip: We stayed in the City View Suite - 305A, I think. Great space and great view of the City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was an honor to host you for your week-long stay. I'm so glad that you found the Drisco to be the ideal base for all your excursions. And you are quite right -- if one is looking for a big, noisy hotel, one should look elsewhere! I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billericay
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This was a wonderful hotel - gorgeous location - staff that were friendly and attentive. Such attention to detail. Wonderful chocolate shortbreads given during evening turn down service. Huge range of toiletries in the bathroom, stunning quality decor. The ambience was relaxed but classy. We have stayed in some of the best hotels and I have to say this matched up to all of them. If you stay I guarantee you won't be disappointed. We even received a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine waiting for us when we arrived in our room. Bed was comfy and the room had nice robes and good honesty bar selection. Really was amazed - everything was catered for. You'll miss out if you don't stay here truly.

Room Tip: I should imagine they are all of the high calibre as everything was kept so well presented.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jasper1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

What a wonderful review -- thank you. We endeavor to provide absolutely everything our guests expect from a luxury hotel experience, plus a bit more. I'm very pleased that you noticed and appreciated all our little extra touches.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laytonsville, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

WHile looking for a place to stay for 5 days while our son was playing some spring break lacrosse games in the San Francisco area I happened upon Hotel Drisco on the site. After reading the reviews I booked a 4 night stay. First the views from Pacific Heights are spectacular. Second, and more importantly the front desk staff of Jon, Bob and Marti were wonderful from start to finish. Jon and Bob was very responsive in booking several restaurant reservations before we arrived. The parking situation was concerning to my wife and I but it could not have been easier. FInd a spot in the neighborhood or leave your keys with the front desk and they will take care of moving the car to avoid any parking tickets. Its location made it an easy trip over the GOlden Gate or down to the Wharf. Close walking distance to Union street was perfect for some casual dining and great shopping. The breakfast buffet was perfect to start the day. 24 coffee and tea service was a definite plus. WHen we go back to San Francisco we know where we are going to stay. Thanks to all at the Hotel Drisco for making a few days away something we will remember fro quite some time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to thank Jon, Bob and Marti for their part in contributing to your experience with us. Thank you for your review!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed in June 2011 for five nights as part of a trip around California.

The good-

Lovely, helpful staff. Very, very nice folk. Helped with reservations for shows, recommendations for getting around town. They even had an 'arrangement' with the parking attendants and if you leave your car keys, they will move it around to ensure you're not ticketed'

Great area. Pacific avenue- enough said

Great breakfast, albeit continental. The manager was there on a daily basis and ensured things ran smoothly, even serving on quite a few occasions himself.

The bad-

The rooms were rather small. For the price, you expect a bit better

Sequel to above, the walls were thin and it was impossible to get any rest beyond seven o'clock once other guests were up and showering. To compound things, there was ongoing construction work right outside our door. They started without fail every morning, and it was impossible to just decide to have a day indoors. We asked for a change but this never materialised.

Would I stay again? Probably not..

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lordoye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the noise disturbances you experienced on your recent stay with us, and I would like to learn more about your situation to see if there's any way we can encourage you to return to the Drisco in the future. If you would be so kind as to reach out to me personally, I would sure appreciate it.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The charming and elegant (English style) hotel was such a pleasant surprise. The neighbourhood is remarkably and wonderfully quiet. It doesn't feel as though you are in a big city, and yet a short cab ride takes you to the hustle of Union Square. The staff were friendly and helpful. The bedroom and bathroom were implicitly clean. The comfort of the bed gets an unequivocal 5 Stars too.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank EmelG72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased that you appreciated our quiet location in the upscale Pacific Heights neighborhood. I think it's the ideal balance for an urban hotel -- a stone's throw away from all the action when that's what you're looking for, yet a peaceful oasis to return home to every evening.

Thank you for your lovely review!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,267 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Nob Hill
The Fairmont San Francisco
The Fairmont San Francisco
#16 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#6 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,109 reviews
Nob Hill
The Scarlet Huntington
The Scarlet Huntington
#7 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Drisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drisco

Property: Hotel Drisco
Address: 2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115-1011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Drisco 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Drisco, constructed in 1903, blends traditional elegance with the convenience, comfort, and amenities of a world-class modern hotel. Our warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere, and impeccable service are designed to please business and leisure travelers alike. Our complimentary services include a gourmet continental breakfast, evening wine reception, chauffeured sedan service to several popular San Francisco locations and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Drisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drisco Hotel San Francisco
Drisco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing