We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“No better place to stay in San Francisco” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Drisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Drisco
Ranked #1 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Laytonsville, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No better place to stay in San Francisco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

WHile looking for a place to stay for 5 days while our son was playing some spring break lacrosse games in the San Francisco area I happened upon Hotel Drisco on the site. After reading the reviews I booked a 4 night stay. First the views from Pacific Heights are spectacular. Second, and more importantly the front desk staff of Jon, Bob and Marti were wonderful from start to finish. Jon and Bob was very responsive in booking several restaurant reservations before we arrived. The parking situation was concerning to my wife and I but it could not have been easier. FInd a spot in the neighborhood or leave your keys with the front desk and they will take care of moving the car to avoid any parking tickets. Its location made it an easy trip over the GOlden Gate or down to the Wharf. Close walking distance to Union street was perfect for some casual dining and great shopping. The breakfast buffet was perfect to start the day. 24 coffee and tea service was a definite plus. WHen we go back to San Francisco we know where we are going to stay. Thanks to all at the Hotel Drisco for making a few days away something we will remember fro quite some time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to thank Jon, Bob and Marti for their part in contributing to your experience with us. Thank you for your review!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,193
    167
    35
    16
    12
See reviews for
268
750
56
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed in June 2011 for five nights as part of a trip around California.

The good-

Lovely, helpful staff. Very, very nice folk. Helped with reservations for shows, recommendations for getting around town. They even had an 'arrangement' with the parking attendants and if you leave your car keys, they will move it around to ensure you're not ticketed'

Great area. Pacific avenue- enough said

Great breakfast, albeit continental. The manager was there on a daily basis and ensured things ran smoothly, even serving on quite a few occasions himself.

The bad-

The rooms were rather small. For the price, you expect a bit better

Sequel to above, the walls were thin and it was impossible to get any rest beyond seven o'clock once other guests were up and showering. To compound things, there was ongoing construction work right outside our door. They started without fail every morning, and it was impossible to just decide to have a day indoors. We asked for a change but this never materialised.

Would I stay again? Probably not..

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lordoye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the noise disturbances you experienced on your recent stay with us, and I would like to learn more about your situation to see if there's any way we can encourage you to return to the Drisco in the future. If you would be so kind as to reach out to me personally, I would sure appreciate it.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

The charming and elegant (English style) hotel was such a pleasant surprise. The neighbourhood is remarkably and wonderfully quiet. It doesn't feel as though you are in a big city, and yet a short cab ride takes you to the hustle of Union Square. The staff were friendly and helpful. The bedroom and bathroom were implicitly clean. The comfort of the bed gets an unequivocal 5 Stars too.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank EmelG72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased that you appreciated our quiet location in the upscale Pacific Heights neighborhood. I think it's the ideal balance for an urban hotel -- a stone's throw away from all the action when that's what you're looking for, yet a peaceful oasis to return home to every evening.

Thank you for your lovely review!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We've been staying at this hotel for over 20 years, both for business and pleasure. The most recent trip was my hubby and I just taking a quick weekend escape. The current ownership is BY FAR the absolute best of the best. They took a wonderful hotel and made it truly outstanding. The staff here are exceptionally nice, and not in an 'overly trained' sort of way. The rooms are comfortable, upscale, and clean. The location is to die for if you enjoy a respite from the city noise. We love that the hotel is right next to the Presidio- we did lots of walking and shopping on this trip. (Union Street, Chestnut Street, Filmore) Just strolling around in this upscale residential neighborhood (of mansions) is awe inspiring. This was without a doubt our best experience at the hotel so far. Sara at the front desk was exceptionally wonderful with lots of tips of where to go, what to eat, etc. Our last trip to SF we stayed at the Mandarin Oriental. We totally regretted it...we were being nickled and dimed, and felt nothing but resentment! The Drisco has free street parking, free coffee/tea, a wonderful included breakfast buffet, free bottled water in your room, and so many little 'extras' you feel like a VIP no matter who you are.

Room Tip: The Back side of the hotel has great city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fmjmclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for your loyalty to the Drisco over the years. What a wonderful acknowledgement it is to have your perspective on all of the hard work my staff and I have been engaged in these past few years to -- as you say quite aptly -- take a wonderful hotel and make it truly outstanding. We are all very proud, and very thankful to have your feedback.

I post all of our Trip Advisor reviews in the staff lounge for all employees to see. They are very engaged in all of the feedback we receive from guests -- both praise and the occasional criticism. So thank you again for taking the time to let us know your thoughts!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Situated among some of The City's most lovely homes, high atop a hill in Pacific Heights, the intimate Hotel Drisco is a luxury hotel that exemplifies old San Francisco elegance. Stellar service begins before you even arrive on sight - in anticipation of your stay, a call is placed by the desk to answer any questions you may have and address concerns or special needs. Staff greet you on the steps and throughout your day, from the expansive breakfast to the elegant evening wine reception and turn down, service never wavers. Rooms are thoughtfully appointed - including an umbrella and flashlight - quiet, clean, and elegant without being fussy. General Manager John Spear is unobtrusively omnipresent, orchestrating every detail with style and grace. I look forward to my next visit to Hotel Drisco, my most gracious home away from home in San Francisco.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marjorie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your incredibly kind review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

As a former San Francisco Resident (of 15 years), and a frequent visitor to the City, I finally
chose Drisco Hotel over all other usual options (Embarcardero, Downtown/Union Square, etc) and it was purely the BEST experience I have had staying in the City. By far, beats all the usual big hotels.

I highly recommend Drisco Hotel for the following reasons:

1. Location - amazing views, fabulous neighborhood, close proximity to the GG Bridge, GG Park,
Best shopping Streets (Union, Fillmore, Sacramento, Chesnut).

2. Property - understated elegance, beautiful Victorian building, lovely rooms, well appointed.

3. Staff & Amenities - kindness from the moment you walk in the door and consistent throughout the stay, had complimentary bicycles, workout room (which you don't need if you walk the neighborhood!), wonderful breakfast each day, complimentary wine (great wine), cheese in the evenings. Perfect directions to anywhere I needed to go right down the the exact parking garages needed.

Drisco stands apart because it is authentically San Francisco and I think everyone should experience this. You will live like a local during your stay.

Room Tip: Request a suite or a city view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carla k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san juan capistrano,CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

After several years of not going to San Francisco because my son moved I found myself back in this wonderful city because now my daughter decided to move there. Since I had always enjoyed staying at The Drisco I booked a small room for two nights. Everyone of the hotel Staff from the wonderful people at the front desk to the doormen who remembered me when I arrived and the people who are on hand for breakfast and evening wine and cheese made me feel welcomed and very much at home again. It was a great weekend and I look forward to going back soon.

Room Tip: Ask the friendly reception staff!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irtmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,579 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,639 reviews
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#9 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Drisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drisco

Property: Hotel Drisco
Address: 2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115-1011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Drisco 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Drisco, constructed in 1903, blends traditional elegance with the convenience, comfort, and amenities of a world-class modern hotel. Our warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere, and impeccable service are designed to please business and leisure travelers alike. Our complimentary services include a gourmet continental breakfast, evening wine reception, chauffeured sedan service to several popular San Francisco locations and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Drisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drisco Hotel San Francisco
Drisco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing