We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free Parking in the City!”
Review of Hotel Drisco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Drisco
Ranked #1 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sacramento
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Free Parking in the City!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I recently attended business meetings at the Hotel Drisco and was very much impressed. On first blush, it's a little off the beaten tourism track and my usual Union Square haunts. However, the hotel is located in a beautiful neighborhood within easy walking distance to Presidio and up the hill from Filmore shopping, Be sure to do the Lyon Street stairs - three or four blocks of stairways fronting some mansions with a beautiful bay view.

About the title of the review...the hotel has no parking, however, after a pretty easy search for street parking, I provided the front desk with my keys and they dealt with moving my car for the street sweeping and other parking restrictions. So, if you use your car during your stay, you do have to hunt for street parking when you return, but it's free and that's a rarity in San Francisco. I'll take it.

Hotel was excellent - good service, a plethora of amenities, a great continental breakfast (they serve coffee with the self-service breakfast, which is a nice touch - "will you have an Americano again this morning, sir?"). Rooms were great and I slept very well, so all good in the sleep department.

I was so impressed, I made reservations to return with my family in two weeks - I can't wait to share the Hotel Drisco experience with them.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,219
    169
    35
    16
    12
See reviews for
274
766
58
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

From the minute I pulled up to the Hotel Drisco I knew I was in for a special treat. Located in beautiful Pacific Heights this hotel is absolute perfection. The staff was extremely accommodating going so far as to move my car when I parked in a three hour time zone saving me from a parking ticket - now that is service! The General Manager greeted me for the wine hour and for breakfast in the morning, and the front desk staff were available and helpful. My room was stunningly elegant and large. For a hotel in the city it was very quiet and peaceful, and I had a wonderful night sleep in an extremely comfortable bed. The Hotel Drisco is my new SF Hotel. I won't be staying anywhere else...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InnOnRandolph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here based on the TA reviews. It is a great little hotel. The service was great, the breakfast ample and our upgraded room had a sitting area overloking the city, bright, airy, delightful. It is in a great quite neighborhood of awesome houses but the downside of that is that is it is a $12 cab to most anything. Parking is free but requires you to move the car every 3 hrs (except weekends) but they gladly took care of that for me. I will make this my hotel when vistung SF.

Helpful?
Thank bonapetie
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Groveland, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

When in New York I stay at the Waldorf, in Memphis, the Peabody and in San Francisco, the Drisco! This property is thumbs down to these hotels when it comes to absolute perfection in attention to detail and the unbelieveable level of hospitality afforded their guests. Rooms are immaculate, with a level of amenities I've never seen before. What a great night's sleep after a long day of travel, with the great option of choosing the type pillow.

Since parking is limited and on the street, you needn't worry about getting a ticket every 3 hours...the Drisco staff move your vehicle to insure compliance with parking laws, and there's no $30/night parking fee!

Staff is totally professional and insures your every need is met. Food service at both breakfast and evening wine is terrific, with a very broad selection to choose from.

If you have the opportunity, the 360 degree view of the City from the roof is absolutely amazing!

Thank you, Drisco Staff for the 'perfect visit'.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wineaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calistoga, CA
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I visited the week of February 3 on a short business trip. Every single part of my stay was as close to perfect as I've ever experienced in a relatively small hotel in a big city. The staff (every single one I met) were so helpful, and even better, seemed genuinely happy to be helpful. One bell staff person even moved my car to avoid a parking ticket--after volunteering to do so.

The room (an executive suite) was very large and well appointed, had "every amenity known to man", and one of the most comfortable beds/bed linen combinations I've ever enjoyed. And the location was exceptional in the Pacific Heights area near the Presidio in one of San Francisco's classiest neighborhoods.

I also enjoyed the extensive (and FREE) breakfast options and the FREE afternoon wine and appetizers service--including the Hotel Drisco's own wine sommelier. That's a new one for me. She offered, and provided complete descriptions of, 5 or 6 different wines to taste, plus wonderful hors d'oeuvres. I'm from Calistoga in the Napa Valley and the whole experience was akin to any of the best tasting events I've ever attended.

Great job by John Spears, the General Manager, and all of his staff.

Room Tip: Try for an outside room on the upper floors--great views of San Francisco in all directions; north t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrannanCottageInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Recently I had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel Drisco. The location among fine historic homes on top of the hill gave you a real feeling you were in San Francisco. The staff was attentive and extremely polite. The decor was also old San Francisco with a more modern touch and style. The range of services provided is unexcelled in any other small hotel I have ever stayed in. Breakfast, afternoon tea, wine and cheese, choice of pillows, room service, transportation, and it goes on and on, all provided with a welcoming smile. The facility was spotless, with recent upgrades, but still retained the patina of old SF. I had an excellent nights sleep and would like to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donmartine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Mr. Martine,

Although most of the reviews here on Trip Advisor are relatively anonymous, it was pretty easy for me to tell that you were the author of this particular review!

It was such a pleasure to host you recently at the Drisco. I think our Trip Advisor audience would be interested to learn that you were recently inducted into the California Hotel & Lodging Association's "Hall of Fame" for your lifetime of achievements in the hospitality industry.

You do us honor by your exceptionally kind review!

Many Thanks,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

As Innkeepers of the Beazley House in Napa for nearly 32 years Carol and I know what it takes to even approach the level of excellence we just experienced at the Hotel Drisco in San Francisco this week!
There are no "Silver Bullets" in our business. No one thing like great location or immaculate upkeep to assure success. It is a combination of constant effort, applied by consummate professionals who make their guests feel warmly welcomed.
When a great bed, a delicious breakfast and expert advice are applied the result is an experience which lingers like a treasured memory.
We will return and send our guests who are looking for perfection in the City,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBeazleyNapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so very much for your kind review. It means a great deal coming from proprietors of such a lovely inn.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,169 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#22 of 229 in San Francisco
3,130 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#7 of 229 in San Francisco
1,013 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Drisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drisco

Property: Hotel Drisco
Address: 2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115-1011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Drisco 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Drisco, constructed in 1903, blends traditional elegance with the convenience, comfort, and amenities of a world-class modern hotel. The warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere, and impeccable service are designed to please business and leisure travelers alike. Complimentary services include a gourmet continental breakfast, evening wine reception, chauffeured sedan service to several popular San Francisco locations and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Drisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drisco Hotel San Francisco
Drisco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing