We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”
Review of Hotel Drisco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Drisco
Ranked #1 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

On several occasions we've stayed at the hotel and have received only the very best treatment we've ever experienced anywhere. We feel like family at the hotel, with a warm and wonderful welcome and a continual sense of whatever can be done to enhance the experience will be done. Pacific Heights is stunningly beautiful and the experience of being away from the hustle-bustle is a total bonus. Breakfasts are top-notch. A truly positive experience each and every time.Will return as soon as possible.

Room Tip: City views or at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank essay811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for your warm and wonderful review. We do indeed work very hard every day to "enhance your experience" as our guest. We are not one to rest on our laurels, and we are constantly engaged in a program to both keep the hotel looking its best and to invest in new and innovative amenities.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,213
    169
    35
    16
    12
See reviews for
273
764
57
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I've now stayed at the Hotel Drisco twice:

(1) The night before brain surgery at UCSF.. which was also my 1 year wedding anniversary!
(2) four months later for a successful follow up at UCSF

What could have been a stressful, pre-op night ended up to be a cozy and wonderful one. Friends and family gathered with me in the small private dining area to watch football and eat take-out. Then when I went to my room later, my husband had decorated our suite to the nines with chocolate treats, bouquets, and flower petals everywhere! (ok, just teared up writing that). The incredible staff at the Drisco were beyond accommodating in making sure I was incredibly comfortable, relaxed, and special on such a unique evening.

The second time I went I was simply reminded of what a gem this place is. The adjectives that come to mind are:

-regal
-cozy
-fresh
-cheerful
-traditional
-historical
-luxurious
-detail oriented
-incredible views
-charming

Btw- I loved this place and I never even did the complimentary breakfast or wine tasting, which I know is a total hit there. Ultimately, I can't say enough about this San Francisco treasure.

Room Tip: The first room I stayed I had the living room part on the sunny side, and the bedroom part on the da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dessertdarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

I just love your list of adjectives! Thanks so much for choosing us for such an important occasion, and for your lovely review.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
160 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

After all the great reviews of the Drisco we were excited about staying here. first impressions were great, up in the Pacific Heights region, quirky old building and staff... we stayed on the top floor (4th) and had a nice view over the suburbs.

Room (a deluxe) was average size, with large bathroom and closet. All nice and clean.

Our lack of love came by four things - 1 the old fashioned over bath shower - we would leave the thing on for 5 minutes to get much heat at all out of it, so we actually dreaded using the thing! 2 breakfast was a free for all that wasnt replenished much, and so we either didnt eat or had little (and there are NO other options within close walking distance) 3 the car service is very restricted hours of operation so we were not able to use it at all...not a big deal but irritating nonetheless. 4 weekend service at reception we found to be unhelpful and vague....

So would we stay here or advise other people to do so.... its a great location for something different, the service was at times very good... if they could sort out the water issues and revise the breakfasts then maybe... worth a shot as all the other hotels in SF seem so corporate and bland, but dont expect it to be amazing...

On the up side - the hotel already contacted us about our stay, and the issues raised are apparently being fixed...

Room Tip: go for a deluxe room on the upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sydneyslicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very sorry that you were not able to love us as you had hoped! Please accept my sincere apologies. Rest assured that we take to heart absolutely every bit of guest feedback we receive.

Please feel free to contact me personally so that I can get to work on fixing the issues you experienced right away.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager

P.S. Our complimentary chauffeur service operates every weekday morning from 7am to 10am. For service outside of these times it is always available for a small fee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Wonderful hotel from beginning to end. Beautiful neighbourhood. Easy parking on the street. A genuinely warm welcome from people who know they're working in a great place. Terrific views of the San Francisco skyline from a quietly luxurious room. Outrageously comfy bed. A breakfast buffet that shows real thought and attention. Seriously good coffee. And a "haste ye back" from someone who I'm pretty sure actually meant it. Our new home in San Francisco.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Guest ,

You've done it. You've captured us in a few words. There's very little I can add other than to say "thank you" and, once again, haste ye back!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suttons Bay, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We didn't feel like tourists, more like residents of the city. You're not a number at this hotel, this hotel staff treated us like royalty. Pacific Heights is a cut above and the streets around the hotel were so nice to walk around in the morning. Our room was attractive and spacious and very clean. We will stay here again. It was a real San Francisco experience.

Room Tip: we asked for a room that was quiet and got one
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoshuaS40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for your kind review! We endeavor to make all our guests feel like family. I look forward to welcoming you back home.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Staff is very friendly and helpful. Accommodations were clean and roomy. Located in a beautiful part of the city. I chose this hotel because of the good reviews and it's proximity to UCSF Medical Hospital. They serve a beautiful breakfast buffet in the morning with the best coffee anywhere. Every evening for an 1 1/2 hours they have wine, cheese and appetizers. I thought it would be just a "tasting" but they let you help yourself to full glasses of excellent California wines. I wrote them all down to buy later.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlundin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your experience, particularly the beverages! If you'll pardon the immodesty, we do indeed serve really excellent coffee. Illy for our espresso and cappuccino and Equator for our brewed coffee. And our sommelier selects a variety excellent California wines each month for our complimentary nightly wine reception, many cuts above wine receptions you may have experienced in other hotels.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
165 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This property has the charm and intimacy of a small inn, but services and privacy of a large hotel.
Slightly out of the way location, but with beautiful views on the beautiful streets of Pacific Heights.

Pros: Lovely old building, great character, nice views, large rooms and suites. Not inexpensive but good value. Very good quality breakfast buffet and ambience. Genuinely warm service. Great beds and pillows.

Cons: Slightly out of the way, albeit in a lovely area. Room furnishings and baths not quite 5 star, but entirely pleasant and serviceable.

Room Tip: We were a family of five and chose a 2br 2ba suite. Very reasonable priced and spacious, not easy t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 6ContinentsNCounting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

I think your review of us is spot on in many ways -- thank you! However, you mention as a "con" that we are "out of the way." All I can say is, guilty as charged! We are indeed out of the way, and we also recognize that our location in the heart of San Francisco's most upscale residential neighborhood, Pacific Heights, is not ideal for the guest who is interested in being in the heart of the action. And that is by design.

We are most assuredly an urban hotel, and as San Francisco is a very compact city, as our guest it will not take you long to get where you're going -- museums, concerts, restaurants, even the airport. Some destinations are a short drive or a hop on a bus, others are a stroll down the hill north, south east or west. But the Hotel Drisco is an urban retreat. We are in the center of a neighborhood of lovely homes where both pedestrian and vehicular traffic is minimal.

Thank you for your review!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,079 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#22 of 228 in San Francisco
3,019 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 228 in San Francisco
956 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Drisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drisco

Property: Hotel Drisco
Address: 2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115-1011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Drisco 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Drisco, constructed in 1903, blends traditional elegance with the convenience, comfort, and amenities of a world-class modern hotel. The warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere, and impeccable service are designed to please business and leisure travelers alike. Complimentary services include a gourmet continental breakfast, evening wine reception, chauffeured sedan service to several popular San Francisco locations and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Drisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drisco Hotel San Francisco
Drisco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing