We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel in San Francisco”
Review of Hotel Drisco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Drisco
Ranked #1 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Drisco for 4 days on August 2012 and came back on November for another 8 days stay. I stayed in so many top hotels around the world and Hotel Drisco is no doubt among my very best hotel! It is a boutique hotel with world class service and full of initiative to please. The room quality is also excellent, not very big but everything inside are prepared and provided with top quality. The hotel surrounding is very comfortable and peaceful with many Magnolia trees around it. Staying in Hotel Drisco is like staying at home with luxury, comfort and warmth!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pramukti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

We take great pride in offering all of our guests an unrivaled collection of the very best amenities (and all complimentary!). I'm very glad you enjoyed all we have to offer.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,506)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

736 - 742 of 1,506 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2012

I have been looking for a hotel in San Francisco and finally found the perfect place. Comfortable and intimate, the Hotel Drisco fits all my needs. The staff is very genuine in their warmth and hospitality. The decor is luxury without being pretentious, while the complimentary breakfast is a feast not to be missed. Set in a quiet residential neighborhood, it is easy to get around town and near the steps at the Presidio, perfect for walking or running.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victorine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

So glad you found us! See you again soon...

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Drisco to be with a close friend who was having surgery nearby. What a delight it was! The staff was super helpful, the room was very comfortable with great bath accouterment, the late night snack room service (cuban sandwich) was actually superb, and the location can't be beat in the tony neighborhood of San Francisco. It's definitely a small, european-style boutique place so you won't find the glitz and spas of the Four Seasons or Intercontinental, but much more to my taste. All-in-all an excellent find and likely where I will always stay when I'm in town.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your wonderful review. I'm so glad we can count you as a new fan or ours!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager

P.S. Our room service offerings are being refreshed and expanded -- look for a new menu this winter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

There are not enough good things to say about the Drisco. Start with 70% of their guests are repeats. There is virtually no turnover in staff. Marti, Bob et al feel like family and treat you as such. It is truly is home away from home; every time we visit - which is 3-4 times a year - we are ready to move in. The breakfast is amazing. Parking your car on the street and you'll be away most of the day? No worries, they'll move it for you. Great accommodations, great service, just a great experience all around.

Room Tip: Suites are fantastic, and some on the higher floors - it goes only till 4 - have really good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UESfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are ready for you to move in -- just say the word! Thanks for your lovely comments and see you soon!

Kind Regards,

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Drisco is a lovely hotel in the gorgeous Pacific Heights section of SF. The rooms are nice, the included breakfast is fantastic and the staff is very nice and helpful. Note that it is off the beaten path and there is no public transportation right near the hotel. But if you're willing to do some walking and you're resourceful with public transportation, it's worth staying here. The areas around the hotel (Pac Heights, the Presidio, Fillmore and Cow Hollow) are really fun to explore. My only complaint was that the hotel has no AC and it was uncomfortably hot at night. (We opened windows, but that wasn't sufficient to cool it to a comfortable temperature.)

Room Tip: We were on the third floor. I would ask for a lower floor with the hope that it may not be as warm a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zonkers1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review, and I am so sorry for the problems you experienced with our heat. It looks like you stayed with us during a very short period of time just after we installed a new heating control system in the hotel. We quickly fixed a few issues that we were experiencing. Also, as you point out we do not have air conditioning in the hotel, but owing to the mild summer climate in San Francisco, very few older buildings do have A/C, or need to have it. Because of our location high on a hill we get brisk Pacific breezes that provide all the cooling that is usually required. Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts and I hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was our first trip to San Francisco and we fell in love with this location and hotel. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms, which did tend to get hot. There is no air condition in the hotel so make sure to open the windows and keep the curtains drawn while your out and about. The staff was very attentive and professional. I love the residential neighborhood feel and parking was never an issue. The location is great for dinner down on Fillmore street and you can easily access the Bart if you want to venture out to other districts.

Pro's: the breakfast buffet is wonderful! They have an assortment of fruit (freshly cut and presented beautifully), spreads and jams, biscuits, breads, croissants, and juice.
Wine reception in the evening is great as well, but I quickly learned that wine and cardio do not mix well in San Francisco (the walk down to Fillmore is not bad but you will have to go up hill on the way back to the hotel). They have a great mix of reds, whites and blends, and the wine consultant knew a lot about wines and shared some great suggestions as well as stories!
The room's are comfortable, clean and have everything you need.

Con's: the only complaint and it is was really not an issue once we realized what we had to do was the heat on the first day. We had not opened the windows and once we came back to the room after a day of site seeing, the sun had heated the room up to a point we just could not bear to site in there. Open the Windows's immediately and draw the curtains if you are heading out and you will be fine!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jody_Brookshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear Guest,

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay! I'm also glad you discovered that the Pacific Ocean is a pretty powerful air conditioner for us, given our location perched atop the tallest hill in Pacific Heights. Thanks for your review!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Hotel Drisco made us feel like we were back living in our old neighborhood. What a fantastic area with wonderful restaurants and shopping no matter which direction you decide to walk. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were extremely comfortable and the views spectacular. We highly recommend Hotel Drisco if you want an authentic San Francisco experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

I'm so glad you enjoyed your experience with us!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
535 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,474 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#29 of 230 in San Francisco
3,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#4 of 230 in San Francisco
1,266 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Drisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drisco

Address: 2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115-1011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $415 - $822 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Drisco 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Drisco, constructed in 1903, blends traditional elegance with the convenience, comfort, and amenities of a world-class modern hotel. The warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere, and impeccable service are designed to please business and leisure travelers alike. Complimentary services include a gourmet continental breakfast, evening wine reception, chauffeured sedan service to several popular San Francisco locations and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Drisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drisco Hotel San Francisco
Drisco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing