We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Drisco
Nearby Hotels
$338
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $239/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of $260/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $212/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
$202
$188
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $259/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of $270/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$215
$177
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $244/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$188
$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $250/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$170
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $232/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
$407
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $265/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$205
$174
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of $289/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,561)
Filter reviews
1,561 results
Traveler rating
1,319
176
37
16
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,319
176
37
16
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspacific heightsbeautiful neighborhoodthe presidiofillmore streetwine and cheese receptionsitting roomeach eveningcontinental breakfastpillow menucharming hotelfresh fruithome away from homesmall hotelcity viewupgraded to a suitecorner suiteturn down service
Filter
Updating list...
891 - 896 of 1,561 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Although the hotel could do with a little updating (it's a bit old fashioned), the room we had was lovely and the staff were friendly and helpful. They are also very generous with their towels. It's a few blocks from Fillmore Street where there are lovely shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EC1Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

I will have to admit, in some respects we are indeed a bit old-fashioned. We do occupy a 1903 Edwardian, we have a very traditional philosophy of service which places a high value on individualized care, and we provide many thoughtful touches around every corner -- a luscious continental breakfast, cookies at turndown, shoehorns in the closets and windows that open wide.

However, we are also constantly updating our services and amenities to keep pace with the times. In every guestroom we offer excellent and extensive HDTV, DVD players, ambient sound machines, free WiFi and many other modern amenities.

Thank you very much for your review!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

The problem with TA is that you get expectations from the reviews you read in advance and just sometimes you expect too much. Not so with the Hotel Drisco which is a perfect hotel in every way. We spent 3 nights here. Our room was quite small but perfect with a lovely bathroom and very comfortable bed. The wi fi was a bit dodgy but we understand this is under review.

We loved the position of the hotel, the surrounding houses were beautiful and the breakfast and wine tasting were lovely. We didn't have to use many of the hotel's facilities and were able to plan things well ourselves but the staff were charming and helpful whenever necessary and particularly Bob (hope we have this right!). Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and where do they get the chocolate biscuits that are left in the room every evening?

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bolly22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

What a wonderful endorsement, thank you! You did get Bob's name correct, and I will be sure to relay your compliments to him. Regarding the chocolate biscuits, I will gladly divulge our source to any guest who comes and stays with us!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Combine the attentive staff, a wonderful room, a gorgeous, ritzy neighborhood that is great for exploring, and the fact that the upscale shops and restaurants on Fillmore and sacramento streets are only a five-minute stroll away, and you've got the perfect San Francisco hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hiram_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Dear guest,

Yours is the second review in a row to have used the word "perfect." Now not even I can claim we're perfect, but I am certainly very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This is a fabulous hotel... In our experience it compares to "club level" at the ritz without being pompous. Amazing staff, gorgeous room, excellent location.... Let me first describe the staff. This is, in my opinion, the most important aspect of any business and the Drisco has the best.
Front Desk: Jon and Marti worked the desk for most of our stay and we're the most pleasant and helpful people you can imagine. They treated us like friends, and I mean that. Great sense of humor, unpretentious. T-shirt and jeans or tuxedo, these folks treat you the same. They were so kind to our 3 year old daughter. We've been home two days now and she still talks about Jon.
The wine: Every evening at 5:30 they host a wine tasting. Ann takes care of the lovely food presentation and it is phenomenal. Ann was so kind and generous, we love her. Take a three year old to a wine tasting? Yep! Thanks to Ann and Mike (the wine vendor) my daughter was treated like she was at my sisters home. So much love...
Jerry: Jerry does everything!!! He's quick, quiet and efficient and one of the most hardworking people i've ever met.
August: Not the month, the man! August provides car service and he is too cool! He will get you where you need to go in style for hardly more than a cab. Have him meet you at the "kiss and fly" parking area at SFO, forget cabs.
Housekeeping was perfect and transparent. I wish I knew names but they moved like ninja's.
Breakfast!!!!!! Ok, it's included and it is AWESOME!!!! If you're not staying here you can get it for around $15 and trust me, that is a bargain.
Our room was on the street and we had no noise issues. Temperature was perfect (in June) and the bed was the only hotel bed I have ever been comfortable in. The suite was huge. Our daughter had the front room, we had the back. I could go on and on..... I can't wait to return!!! We LOVE the Drisco... Bottom line... Better than Ritz club level at half the price..

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kellydminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind comments about the service you received on your recent stay with us. In addition to passing along your lovely comments to Marti, Ann, Mike, Jerry, August and the entire housekeeping staff, I will be sure to convey your three year old daughter's regards to Jon!

On behalf of everyone here, we look forward to your return!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Be preparedfor the type of service you have probably never experienced in a hotel. When room service says "in 15 minutes" that's when it arrives. When you request assistance with something, seconds after you hang up the phone, there is a knock on the door. And if you are looking for a warm friendly smile, pick out any hotel employee.

The hotel was built in 1903 but has been remodeled and refurbished many times. So, the facilities are up-to-date, but the hotel has a wonderful feel of an older building, made from wood and which fits in wondrously in the magnificent Pacific Heights neighborhood of San Francisco.

The hotel has a marvelous continental breakfast – but it is really far more than that--all the one can imagine for breakfast other than fresh cook omelettes.

Some might say that not being in the center of the tourist district is a negative – our reaction was just the opposite; being surrounded by magnificent homes with breathtaking views of San Francisco was perfect.

Certainly one of the best hotel experiences I've ever had.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews