We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Engagement Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Drisco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Drisco
Ranked #1 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Memorable Engagement Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

My fiancee and I went to San Fransisco to celebrate our engagement, and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay! The accomodations were beautiful and classic, just the type of place for a memorable vacation. Bob at the front desk was absolutely wonderful - and very helpful. We took advantage of the free town car service to Union Square and enjoyed talking with the driver. The breakfasts were delicious and filling, and the wine and cheese happy hours were the perfect appetizer.

Bottom Line: Great location. Beautiful city. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cassius_Boltus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,207
    169
    35
    16
    12
See reviews for
272
761
56
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tiptree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

We loved staying in this hotel, which is a converted old Victorian mansion. The staff are wonderful, particularly Marty the concierge, who couldn't have helped us more. We didn;t do the wine tasting, but breakfast was delicious and, as per usual in US hotels, what is described as a continental buffet is actually more like a light buffet than would be the case in Europe. This is yet another hotel we wished we had had longer to stay in, but were here for our last night before returning home.

The only possible downside I can think of would be for those who want to hit the tiles in downtown SF. It can take 5--10 minutes for a cab to arrive and they do need to be called. For us though, this did not matter, as we were heading home and simply wanted a good meal, good night's sleep and so forth. Marty recommended an excellent restaurant, arranged the booking and we strolled past some very lovely houses to get to it.

Go here if you want to experience staying in one of these wonderful old houses. Facilities are good and the staff exceptional

Room Tip: Go for a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elmrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont St Peter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

I had read the reviews on Tripadvisor for Hotel Drisco before travelling and my expectations were high. The hotel exceeded those expectations - it was a great hotel with excellent service. The rooms were large and clean. The complimentary breakfast was great, with a good selection of food and drinks, served in a lovely breakfast room.

The concierge was especially helpful, they always offered a welcoming and personalised service.

Pacific Heights is a lovely neighbourhood, with some great local restaurants. There are plenty of buses to get you in to central San Francisco.

A perfect stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JPit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

What a find, what a truly fantastic hotel! I booked Hotel Drisco after reading reviews here on Trip Advisor, again the reviews matched the experience. The hotel is situated in Pacific Heights in a very residential area but only minutes from Marina District and downtown. I actually rather enjoyed the fact that it was slightly out of the way.
We arrived late and were warmly greeted, shown to our room which really had the "wow" factor. The building is beautifully decorated, in keeping with the period of the building. Warm colours and eleganat furnishings made this feel like a "botique" 5 star experience. The room was large with a lovely view over the city, bed was incredibly comfortable and the cleanliness was of the highest standard, possibly the best I've seen!
The experience from moment of arrival to departure was absolutely wonderful, this is now my first choice place to stay in San Francisco. If you fancy something different to the more corporate style hotels around Union Square then look at the Drisco, its warm, elegant and in a great location. I'm looking forward to my next stay!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

This was the last stop of our holiday and after staying in a 5 star hotel in Vegas, this hotel did not compare and that may be a little harsh. The hotel was beautifully decorated throughout to fit the manner of the architecture and the surroundings of the area but it felt old fashioned and dated. The hotel was located around 3 miles from the city centre, which in San Francisco is a long way if you fancy a walk!

Our room was on the 4th floor and the elevator did not fill you with confidence as it clunked and clattered its way slowly upwards. We were also unfortunate to back onto the elevator shaft so were occasionally woken by the noise and the room also had an archaic heating system that spurted out heat whenever it wanted and as loud as it could. The room was satisfactory and cleaned daily. Although the cleaners tended to knock on your door before 9.00am so a lie in was out of the question. Breakfast was on a buffet basis, a wide choice and very substantial.

Overall a lovely traditional hotel, that has kept its character but it was too far away from the city's attractions and it wasn't for us.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattCSenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2011

My wife and I had the hotel's limo service pick us up from the airport. The driver was courteous and drove us safely to the hotel.

Upon our arrival, we were greeted at the hotel front door by the bellman and the front desk manager. Both were very welcoming and got us to our room quickly. They explained the hotel's features and a map of the area.

The wine tasting receptions (free) in the evenings and the breakfasts (free) were definitely relaxing and a pleasure to enjoy. Probably the best service and most enjoyable stay we've had at any hotel in the U.S.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank claydemler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2011

I based my booking on reviews read here. Expectations were high. All expectations met and some surpassed. Location was excellent for our needs. High end amenities and service. Front desk/concierge recommendations were spot on. Business center, convenient and free for printing airline tickets. Breakfast spread surpassed my expectaions. And... the coziest robe, i've ever been provided at any hotel. Will definitely book again when in the city.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yvonneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,914 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Drisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drisco

Property: Hotel Drisco
Address: 2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115-1011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Drisco 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note that we are currently closed for renovations until July 1, 2017! The Hotel Drisco, constructed in 1903, blends traditional elegance with the convenience, comfort, and amenities of a world-class modern hotel. Our warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere, and impeccable service are designed to please business and leisure travelers alike. Our complimentary services include a gourmet continental breakfast, evening wine reception, chauffeured sedan service to several popular San Francisco locations and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Drisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drisco Hotel San Francisco
Drisco San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing