We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprise hotel in the TL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel 6 San Francisco Downtown
Ranked #152 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A surprise hotel in the TL”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I stayed here during Bay 2 Breakers. The room was booked at the last minute, and I had some reservations about what to expect, especially being in the Tenderloin. I was thoroughly impressed. The room was very big, clean, and included a fridge. It wasn't fancy by any means, but for a fifth of what I would've paid at the W or aomething similar, it really wasn't bad. If you are unfamiliar with the city, you may be a little shocked by the location, but I didn't have any issues. For a place to crash in between running and partying for the weekend, this room exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    76
    93
    29
    16
See reviews for
52
74
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakley, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Check in was fast, WAY OVER PRICED! 160 for a bed and 3 bars of soap. The towels had brown stains on them, the hall ways smelled of bleach and other chemicals. The manager was VERY rude! When the sun went down the homeless and prostitutes bombarded the lobby offering their services. My friend was pregnant and called down for another blanket the manager demanded that she came down and got one which she already tried and he gave her a towel instead. Someone ended up getting shot in front of hotel and stabbed at the bar next to the hotel. She sheet and bed felt DISGUSTING! I couldn't leave fast enough to go home and quarantine myself! DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 744ashleyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

walked in off the street so couldn't expect much
$130 for a bed but at least the parking was free - as was wifi
The hotel was draughty and cold - huge gaps around the door and not particularly clean.

Staff were lovely, really helpful - thank you

It is good as a motel 6 - it isn't good for $130 a night - not even in San Francisco

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mervous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and 3 days. During our stay, the place is good, staff are friendly and clean room. We did not book for a reservation, we just go there and get a room! It's affordable for a traveler like us who's always on a budget.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandGurlLAboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester, ny
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

To be honest, I've never stayed in Downtown SF before. The area overall is dirty. I think the price for the hotel is high for what you get, but compaired to nicer places that cost $400 a night in the same area, i think it was pretty fair. They don't have a lot of things in the room that you may need (iron, blow dryer) but they do have them at the front desk. The bathrooms are dirty, and the shower curtains dont work well so water gets all over the floor. All in all for somewhere to stay to avoid high costs it would do in a pinch for a few days. There can also be a lot of noise at night.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loverlylyllah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montigny-le-Tilleul, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We are Belgian Citizen (58 YO) and like to travel in the USA. For our Agust 2011 holidays this was our hotel choice for San Francisco. The Motel is ideally situated. You can easily visit San Francisco from here without need for a car. The drop on drop off coaches are nearby. The city shops too including Macys (delight for the wife). Do not expect a luxurious hotel but a nice, clean and spacious place to sleep.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pierre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

While in what might seem to some a "sketchy" neighborhood (Tenderloin), it was a clean hotel with a private bath at a good price in San Francisco. My wife and I never felt unsafe but there A LOT of homeless people in the neighborhood. If this bothers you, this hotel is NOT for you.

Room Tip: We were on the side overlooking the garage, not the street and it was never noisy from outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank losgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Alexis Park San Francisco
#167 of 229 in San Francisco
133 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#141 of 229 in San Francisco
151 reviews
Red Coach Motor Lodge
#148 of 229 in San Francisco
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Music City Hotel
#118 of 229 in San Francisco
394 reviews
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#83 of 229 in San Francisco
716 reviews
Pacific Heights
Inn on Broadway
Inn on Broadway
#169 of 229 in San Francisco
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Francisco Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Francisco Downtown

Property: Motel 6 San Francisco Downtown
Address: 895 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94109-7217 (Formerly Days Inn)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 San Francisco is located within walking distance to may area restaurants and attractions. Union Square & Chinatown .75 Miles; Fisherman's Wharf 2 miles; Golden Gate Bridge 4 miles. Free Wi-Fi, parking, and morning coffee is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Motel-6, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Motel 6 San Francisco Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 San Francisco Downtown Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Motel Six
San Francisco Motel 6
Motel Six San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing