We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location with parking. Needs updating.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mirage Inn & Suites
Ranked #157 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We booked this hotel for a 3 night stay in SF despite some poor reviews although most of these were quite old.

Initial impressions are not good as the outside needs some TLC and the
layout is a bit fort like.

However check in was quick and helpful and our room was a good size and seemed clean. However closer inspection revealed the linen and pillows were old and in need of replacement. They had been laundered but some old stains remained. Also the fly mesh was broken which the front desk were aware of.

The location was good with the beach nearby and the bus stop straight into SF only 2 blocks away. We asked for a room at the back to avoid road noise but don't think this is really an issue. Of much greater importance was the noise from the toilets which sounded like aircraft toilets and the dust carts in the back alley.

The morning coffee was fine but the breakfast was basic. We would stay again based on location and value but otherwise were disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RestfulLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

499 - 505 of 585 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

We only had one night here. The location is awesome, only 2 blocks from the beach, and right across the street from the San Francisco Zoo, the size of the room was great for a family. It needs some room maintenance, and the breakfast was typical wrapped pastry, fruit bowl, juice and coffee with toast or english muffin, and that was it. Nothing special, but served it's purpose.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

After searching for hotels and traveling with a car I was shocked to see not only did most places charge $200-$300 per night they also wanted another $50 if you had a vehicle, ridiculous.

I came across this place on tripadvisor and most of the reviews were decent so I decided to give it a try at a cost of about $180 a night for a 5 night stay and free parking and I was glad I did. The rooms are basic but they are clean and if you are planning to spend most of your time outside the hotel and only come back for sleep and rest it is a completely fine hotel. And this is speaking from staying in the room with my wife and 3 young children.

The parking lot does have small parking spaces but I saw full size trucks parked in there so this shouldn't be an issue.

It has 3 establishments to get food/supplies right out the front door; a pizza place, a cafe and a deli (I recommend the yard bird sandwich). Depending on the length of your stay there is a walgreens and safeway within half a mile as well as a laundry mat.

The beach is a five minute walk from the hotel. You will get sandy if you go to it but there is a wash off station next to the restrooms to get cleaned up.

While this is definitely away from central part of the city you are a short 30 minutes train ride to various stops all along the city. You also get one connection with your $2 ticket so if fisherman's wharf or Alcatraz (a place I highly recommend going to) is your destination you simply ride to final stop, go up the stairs and take the F train another 5 minutes. Getting back to the hotel is easy as well since the closest stop to the hotel is the final stop of the L train so all you have to do is sit back and wait for the driver to declare final stop where anyone still on will need to get off. I found this makes it less worrisome that you might not hit the next stop button when you don't the area that well.

For the price, ocean right down the road, free parking and closeness to public transportation I would say this place was definitely worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TKO_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We arrived at this hotel around midnight a little unsure of the area and we follow the signs to underground parking (unsecure). We carried our bags up stairs (no elevator) and we greeted by a lady at the small front desk behind the glass. After chatting for few minutes she eventually open window and helped us check in. After receiving our keys we had to walk outside in order to get to our room, again more stairs. The breakfast was below averages.

The Good:
- Free parking and internet.
- Free breakfast

The not so good:
- Very outdated and does not look clean
- The mattress also needs an upgrade.
- Bathroom was small and hot water was on and off
- Nothing within walking distance for food.

Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGO007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

stayed for 3 nights to see san fran, great position 1 block from zoo tram $2.00 to town easy to use , free parking , ok rooms , basic breakfast , but best part is the great manager , really helpful , great guide nothing to much trouble .
All hotels in city a little pricey but if you want a good basic room with freee parking, easy trasport and a caring staff choice this days inn
Diner two doors down good food and staff

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoodyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We took our teenagers to the Outside Lands music festival at Golden Gate Park and stayed here 3 nights.

Bonus Points:
Free parking. San Fransisco hotel parking fees are typically $50 per night.
Location: For us it worked very well. Dropped the kids off at the park. Left the car at the hotel and jumped on muni (public transportation-super easy to use). We spent our time in the city while kids enjoyed the music festival. The pakring area under the hotel is tight, but the area around the hotel had space for our Tahoe and it was free. The area is quiet because it is residential. Java Beach next door offered great coffee, nice workers and good looking danishes. We drove about 5 blocks north and ate at Vanida Thai for lunch and dinner. It was outstanding. There is a CVS in that area also where we purchased some water and other misc items that we needed for the weekend.
Folks at the front desk were very freindly and helpful.
Negitives.
We booked on Booking.com and ended up with a smoking room. Requested non-smoking. Was told it was the last room left when I had made the reservation. Ummm..maybe. That was in May.
I would stay here again, but maybe call directly to the hotel to be sure to get a non-smoking room.
Note: there are reviews here that led me to believe they had some large rooms. In fact, my booking.com resevation stated "larger room". Those larger rooms are the suites. Unless you book a suite or get a surpise upgrade, you'll be in room with two queens and not much space. We were hoping to put down a blow up mattress for the extra kid be brought. No such luck. It worked out, but I was expecting a larger area based on what I had read.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank BitBeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Good location. Nice people at front desk but Days Inn management needs to spend a little money and put some up grades in the place. It has the feel the hotels in the 60's. Not much in the area of restaurants so you better eat before you get there. And forget about shopping only a nursery close by.
I booked through Wyndham and got a smoking room. I do not smoke and my daughter has asthma. Unfortunately Wyndham puts you in whatever room is available. The location is way out so do not expect much in restaurants around there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leliani1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Howard Johnson San Francisco Marina District
Howard Johnson San Francisco Mar...
#189 of 231 in San Francisco
236 reviews
Marina District
Greenwich Inn
Greenwich Inn
#153 of 231 in San Francisco
251 reviews
Rodeway Inn & Suites San Francis...
#172 of 231 in San Francisco
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#131 of 231 in San Francisco
527 reviews
SeaScape Inn-A FairBridge Hotel
#177 of 231 in San Francisco
8 reviews
Marina District
Inn at Golden Gate
Inn at Golden Gate
#141 of 231 in San Francisco
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirage Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirage Inn & Suites

Address: 2600 Sloat Blvd, Sloat & 44th Ave, San Francisco, CA 94116-2649 (Formerly Days Inn San Francisco at the Beach)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $124 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mirage Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mirage Inn and Suites is a hidden gem of San Francisco, located directly across the street from the San Francisco Zoo, two blocks from the beautiful Ocean Beach and within walking distance of many restaurants and parks. All of our rooms come with a kitchenette, bathtub, shower and free wifi so you can easily make yourself right at home at Mirage Inn and Suites. Guests enjoy the Muni light rail station which is directly across the street making many local attractions including the historic Cliff House, Sutro Baths, Sutro Tower, Land's End and UCSF very easily accessible. Formerly a Days Inn franchise, Mirage Inn and Suites changed ownership on March 1, 2017 and is currently undergoing renovations. Before the end of the year the entire property will be completely upgraded and modern. Mirage Inn and Suites is here to make your San Francisco stay as memorable as possible! We welcome you from wherever you come from! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mirage Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn San Francisco At The Beach Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing