We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great manager”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mirage Inn & Suites
Ranked #154 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“great manager”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

stayed for 3 nights to see san fran, great position 1 block from zoo tram $2.00 to town easy to use , free parking , ok rooms , basic breakfast , but best part is the great manager , really helpful , great guide nothing to much trouble .
All hotels in city a little pricey but if you want a good basic room with freee parking, easy trasport and a caring staff choice this days inn
Diner two doors down good food and staff

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoodyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    206
    174
    65
    48
See reviews for
258
135
36
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

We took our teenagers to the Outside Lands music festival at Golden Gate Park and stayed here 3 nights.

Bonus Points:
Free parking. San Fransisco hotel parking fees are typically $50 per night.
Location: For us it worked very well. Dropped the kids off at the park. Left the car at the hotel and jumped on muni (public transportation-super easy to use). We spent our time in the city while kids enjoyed the music festival. The pakring area under the hotel is tight, but the area around the hotel had space for our Tahoe and it was free. The area is quiet because it is residential. Java Beach next door offered great coffee, nice workers and good looking danishes. We drove about 5 blocks north and ate at Vanida Thai for lunch and dinner. It was outstanding. There is a CVS in that area also where we purchased some water and other misc items that we needed for the weekend.
Folks at the front desk were very freindly and helpful.
Negitives.
We booked on Booking.com and ended up with a smoking room. Requested non-smoking. Was told it was the last room left when I had made the reservation. Ummm..maybe. That was in May.
I would stay here again, but maybe call directly to the hotel to be sure to get a non-smoking room.
Note: there are reviews here that led me to believe they had some large rooms. In fact, my booking.com resevation stated "larger room". Those larger rooms are the suites. Unless you book a suite or get a surpise upgrade, you'll be in room with two queens and not much space. We were hoping to put down a blow up mattress for the extra kid be brought. No such luck. It worked out, but I was expecting a larger area based on what I had read.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank BitBeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Good location. Nice people at front desk but Days Inn management needs to spend a little money and put some up grades in the place. It has the feel the hotels in the 60's. Not much in the area of restaurants so you better eat before you get there. And forget about shopping only a nursery close by.
I booked through Wyndham and got a smoking room. I do not smoke and my daughter has asthma. Unfortunately Wyndham puts you in whatever room is available. The location is way out so do not expect much in restaurants around there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leliani1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

If you like a long walk on the beach and a stroll through the zoo as well as a comfortable bed in a clean room, all without having to move your car, this is the place for you. The beach is just a short walk away and the zoo is across the street.

Room Tip: Our cheap room had a view of a parking lot but we had plenty of views on our walks so it didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandmum07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hewitt, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and enjoyed it. Across the street from the zoo, so sometimes you hear some wild birds calling, but it adds to the charm. Foggy all the time, but this is San Francisco. The beach close by is not very good, but there is a good walking path to a better area. Our room was very large and clean, and the bathroom was spotless. Don't let the front desk/hospitality area put you off. This is a good place, and we found a little something on the breakfast offering every morning. Another plus is there is public transportation and some restaurants nearby. We got to downtown SF in about 20 minutes on the tram for $2, so don't bother with a car or parking to do the tourist stuff. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: You may want to ask for a room away from the busy street, but the traffic does die down after rush h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pchTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madera CA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Excellent location near the beach and the Veterans Hospital. No traffic. Very kind owners, nice room, good value. Nice size bathroom, fridge, microwave and coffee maker in the room as well as a continental breakfast. Safe area. A good safe area to return to late evening after a long day visiting my ill father in the hospital.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank imafirebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed here for two nights while visiting SFSU. The location was perfect and the room was large and comfortable. The staff members were very helpful. For a "no frills" place to stay, it was great. The only down side was getting in and out of the parking garage. On our last day there a rather large vehicle was parked in one of the spaces close to the entrance, and it took some serious maneuvering to get my car out. There are a few places to eat nearby, but they were closed by 9pm, so plan ahead for late night snacks. Otherwise, it's a mostly residential neighborhood, apart from the zoo across the street!

Room Tip: Some rooms do have a slight view of the ocean. There is some street noise in rooms on the front side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RachF52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Francisco
Alpine Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Daly City
375 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#141 of 229 in San Francisco
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rodeway Inn & Suites San Francis...
#173 of 229 in San Francisco
131 reviews
Marina District
Inn at Golden Gate
Inn at Golden Gate
#139 of 229 in San Francisco
213 reviews
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#145 of 229 in San Francisco
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirage Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirage Inn & Suites

Property: Mirage Inn & Suites
Address: 2600 Sloat Blvd, Sloat & 44th Ave, San Francisco, CA 94116-2649 (Formerly Days Inn San Francisco at the Beach)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mirage Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mirage Inn and Suites is a hidden gem of San Francisco, located directly across the street from the San Francisco Zoo, two blocks from the beautiful Ocean Beach and within walking distance of many restaurants and parks. All of our rooms come with a kitchenette, bathtub, shower and free wifi so you can easily make yourself right at home at Mirage Inn and Suites. Guests enjoy the Muni light rail station which is directly across the street making many local attractions including the historic Cliff House, Sutro Baths, Sutro Tower, Land's End and UCSF very easily accessible. Formerly a Days Inn franchise, Mirage Inn and Suites changed ownership on March 1, 2017 and is currently undergoing renovations. Before the end of the year the entire property will be completely upgraded and modern. Mirage Inn and Suites is here to make your San Francisco stay as memorable as possible! We welcome you from wherever you come from! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mirage Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn San Francisco At The Beach Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing