We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,920)
Filter reviews
1,921 results
Traveler rating
961
745
135
50
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
961
745
135
50
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjeanne d'arcgolden retrieverfrench hotelbasement restaurantfrench themeclaw foot tubdifferent french artisthand paintedfrench toast or pancakesunion squarecharming hotelbush and powellamerican breakfastcable carsmall hotelhot breakfastbreakfast was included
Filter
Updating list...
625 - 630 of 1,921 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2015

We spent one night in SF and had spent hours combing hotels online as it is difficult to find anything in the city for less than $300 a night that isn't sketchy. This hotel is very small, very old, but has a provincial charm about it and is in a great location. That being said, space (as it is in every city) is a commodity, so our coffee pot was in our bathroom. The bed was comfortable, but I wondered as I looked around how long it had been since someone had dusted. Bathroom clean, etc. And while in October you typically don't need air conditioning in SF, be forewarned that if you go in the summer, you may be toting your own fan. I say the hotel was very good mainly because of its location, but next time we will save the money and stay in a more updated hotel. There is a hidden gem in this hotel...it's downstairs in the restaurant called Jeanne d'Arc...if you like classic French fare, don't miss it. I am reviewing it separately.

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Betty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2015

Dear Betty W,

Thank you for posting a review about our small Cornell Hotel de France. As we understood you booked a small room costing almost half of your mentionned figures. No wonder the space was limited and the coffee pot installed far away in the bath- room ..... but we offer bigger rooms (costing a little more), facing the back or the street. AC is not even necessary in San Francisco, as a rule we do not have more than ten very hot days yearly , summer days are cool and...any way you do not have to bring your own fan... we provide them if need be.
We shall see that our maids dust correctly the rooms, we apologize if one of them did not perform well.

Best

Claude Lambert - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2015

This certainly is a very unique hotel for the US, it is more French/European than you can ever imagine. The owners have put a lot of love and effort in to creating the
Cornell Hotel de France and it may not be what everyone is looking for, However if you think cosy Paris hotel, this is the one for you.
The location is excellent, WiFi very strong, breakfast adequate, rooms warm and comfortable, Great value for San Francisco...Excellent.
The in house restaurant is highly recommended, offering a very French 4 course set menu for a great price with very good wines available.
I highly recommend staying here, however think Europe not US in your expectations.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel quieter
  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Ceilings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2015

Dear Ceilings,

Good description of our small Cornell Hotel de France, which has our personal touch and must be understood. Our goal is to evoke the past with a cultural background. Jeanne d ' Arc the Maid of our home town, Orleans, was a good subject to create this atmosphere.
Thank you for your good comments.

Best regards

Claude Lambert - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2015

This is a unique and lovely property! The decor is beautiful and the breakfast absolutely delicious...a big step up from the dry cereal and danish fare offered at most complimentary hotel breakfasts. My husband especially loved the fresh roasted coffee - strong, flavorful and much better than the typical brew you usually get. The staff is friendly and the place is run exceedingly well. The room was charming and very clean. The only negative was the noise. With no AC, we had to crack the windows and the noise kept us up throughout all 3 nights of our stay. I had reserved 4 months in advance and specifically wrote a note requesting a room at the back of hotel at that time, as I heard those were quieter. But the hotel staff told me they were all occupied when I called a few days before our arrival to double-check on my reservation. So I was a bit bummed about that. But all in all, a wonderful place and we do recommend it if you're a fairly heavy sleeper. I'm not sure if we'll stay there again the next time we're in SF, only because it was tough not getting a good night's sleep any of the 3 nights we were there. If we could have closed the windows (which made it very quiet), this would have been a 5 star review.

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank floridafun512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2015

Dear wcsdancerFlorida,

Thank you so much for the good review that you posted on Trip Advisor despite the fact that we did not conform to your request .. a room giving on the back of the hotel. The front rooms are very quiet if the sound proof windows are kept closed... which is not the case if, due to high temperature you have to open them. We apologize for our mistake.

Warm regards

Claude Lambert - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2015 via mobile

Perfect location and easy walking distance of all the attractions
Clean and tidy room
Good free breakfast
Wifi in the hotel and rooms
Friendly and helpful staff and happy to help
Small boutique hotel not a massive hotel
Will happily stay here again
30-40mins from the airport in a taxi

Stayed: October 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Masterp77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2015

Dear Masterp77,

"Merci beaucoup" .. for the good review that you posted on Trip Advisor. Glad you enjoyed staying in our "old charm" Cornell Hotel de France. Will happily welcome you again.

Warm regards

Claude Lambert - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2015

The location was great, so close to the main shopping areas and everything was in easy walking distance. The hotel is very themed which wasn't quite my cup of tea but does add a certain amount of charm. The room we had was very small and hot and with 2 adults and 2 suitcases in the room, there was very little space to move around the room. The breakfast was lovely and the staff serving were very friendly and hospitable.

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2015

Dear Suzan M,

Thank you for posting a review about our small hotel.
We have bigger rooms, of course with higher prices.
It is according to what the customers want to spend.
We have the reputation to have very reasonable rates.

Best regards

Claude Lambert - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews