We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“PERFECT LOCATION AND QUIET” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cornell Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cornell Hotel de France
Ranked #18 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Nevada City, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“PERFECT LOCATION AND QUIET”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We really enjoyed this hotel. Location and staff excellent-good parking available across the street at good rate

Rooms typical european size rooms--small but adequate and very clean. Breakfast to order and very cheerful staff. great location on cable car line. We will be back!

Room Tip: Second floor in back quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edwards572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Dear Edward S,

We are happy to know that you will be back at our small
Cornell Hotel de France, Thank you so much for your good
review on Trip Advisor.

Best regards

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    538
    103
    36
    25
See reviews for
177
727
89
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

The Cornel hotel was clean, friendly and in a excellent location. The rooms were nice and comfortable and they had a full complimentary American breakfast. San Francisco is expensive I found The Cornell to be affordable and a good buy for the money

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
Dear Jennifer R,

Thank you for the good review of our small hotel
that you posted on Trip Advisor. We are happy
that we met your expectations.
Please visit us again.

Best regards

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Charming, comfortable, perfectly located--I rarely use the word "unique," but this lovely little hotel is one of a kind. Travelers, take the reviews seriously: this is a European-style hotel, more like what Americans would term a B&B, with en suite baths. If you want large rooms and 24/7 room service and fitness center and so forth, this is not for you. If you want warm personal service and sparkling rooms with all necessities at hand, near Union Square at the base of Knob Hill, parking in a garage across the street, and a useful corner shop with groceries and liquor, this is for you. Full breakfast (provided) in the Jeanne d'Arc restaurant (wonderful ambience) is made to order from limited but nicely varied options, quickly served and of high quality. And you will pay about half what you would at one of the large, fine downtown hotels. Go! Enjoy!

Room Tip: A grandfather clock chimes in the front through the night--I liked it, my partner not so much! So up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
Dear Anne W,

We are glad that you liked your stay in our small hotel.
Thank you so much for your wonderful review , one of
the best to describe what we do and offer and we hope
that many Trip Advisor reader read it.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you again and have
the opportunity to talk to you.

Very gratefully

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
144 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Once again (7 times in 13 years), everything was great: large room, comfortable bed, great new concierge Michel (a 7-month old Golden Retriever), pleasant and quick staff service and a wonderful 4-course dinner in the restaurant/come museum Joanne d' Arc. Fabulous location 2 blocks from Union Square and 100 ft from the Powell Street cable car.

Room Tip: There are small, medium and large rooms each priced accordingly with about 7-8 rooms per floor. Doe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phineasfogg25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Dear Phineasfogg 25,

We are very grateful for your faithfulness with our Cornell Hotel
de France, Thank you for your kind words. No doubt that Michel
the new concierge will be happy to see you again and then, please
knock at my door .....

Warm regards

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay here. It was central to pretty much everything, and after long days of exploring and walking up and down those hills it was just like walking through your own front door - it felt like home. It is an old building so all its imperfections just added to its charm. If you are expecting large rooms with air conditioning and perfect walls, then this is not for you, but we had no problem with an open window for fresh air. Good old fashioned service with staff welcoming and very helpful.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Enid R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Enid,

Thank you so much for your recent visit and you subsequent good review.
Cornell Hotel de France has been our home for the past forty eight years,
it is our creation and our pleasure is to share it with appreciative customers
like you. Air conditioning is not necessary in San Francisco where we have
hardly ten very hot days yearly.

Warm regards

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

I absolutely LOVED this hotel. I was a little nervous to book a hotel online in a city I had never been to, but I will definitely be going back again and recommending it to everyone I know. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, the complementary breakfast is delightful, and the location is perfect-just close enough to Union Square. It's very quiet and homey, the rooms are small, but adorably cute, and the room had a claw foot tub. So impressed with everything about this hotel. Stay, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeagAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear MeagAsh,

We just loved your comment so spontaneous and generous
for us. You enjoy being at our hotel and described well what
we offer and try to achieve.Thank you for mentioning that our
breakfast is complimentary and served in the beautiful dining
room of Restaurant Jeanne d' Arc.
Merci beaucoup et revenez

Warm regards

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

What a great find! Right in the middle of all the action, beautiful European decor, excellent restaurant on site with wonderful hot breakfast included. Great service and good value. We were very satisfied with our stay at the Cornell.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YSkeete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear YSkeete,

Thank you for your review showing your satisfaction
with our Cornell Hotel de France. We are glad that
you found us and would be happy to welcome you
again.

Warm regards

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,712 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,257 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#12 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,434 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
Warwick San Francisco Hotel
#36 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 400 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#7 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornell Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Hotel de France

Property: Cornell Hotel de France
Address: 715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cornell Hotel de France 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of San Francisco Discover the charm and elegance of France in the heart of downtown San Francisco at this family-owned and operated hotel, ideally placed within walking distance of vibrant Union Square. Cornell Hotel de France boasts an exceptional location close to many of the city's main points of interest. The theater district as well as the legendary Chinatown can be found only minutes from the hotel. The city's historic cable car system is also easily accessible and provides service to many areas of the city. Originally built in 1910, the Cornell combines old-world charm with today's modern amenities such as wireless internet access. Start the day with a free breakfast at the hotel's on-site renowned restaurant, Jeanne d'Arc. Admire prints of masterpieces from famous artists throughout the hotel. Union Square is a great choice for travelers interested in shopping, restaurants and city trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Cornell Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing