We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cornell Hotel de France
Ranked #24 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“excellent”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I was impressed by the detail in decoration. In addition to hanging wall paintings they had flowers painted directly on the doors and parts of the walls. Our room's walls had crazy molding running up them and our ceiling even had some flowers painted on it. The restaurant in the lower section also was well decorated with a castle-y feel and excellent service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hector P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    796
    644
    122
    41
    28
See reviews for
219
885
102
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

My room here was a little on the small side though it seemed to be in scale with properties in San Francisco generally and it wasn't small enough to be a problem. The room was clever and compact, rather than uncomfortable or inconvenient.
It was also clean, quiet, secure and had a great mattress on the bed. The free wi-fi was strong, fast and reliable.
Location-wise, I couldn't have been happier. Whether I was spending the day walking or catching public transport, it was near the connections I needed. At no point did I feel unsafe on the streets nearby.
And to top it off, the staff of the hotel were helpful and friendly - no sign of officiousness! They were efficient too so I got to spend as much time as possible doing my own thing, not filling out forms or wondering if my wake up call would happen.
The complimentary breakfast was not high-gourmet but was tasty, fast and had a certain amount of flexibility built in to match what you felt like.
I would stay here again in a flash.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1katherineabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

You will think for a moment that you are in France. Very nice hotel, clean, the double bed was comfortable but not the single bed, hotel is in a prime location. We had a front triple room with a beautiful window and noise was never a problem during our stay. We had warm weather during the day but as it is less warmer at night, the room was comfortable with the fan. Nice French decoration. The service was nothing special, could be a little more smilling, For breakfast, the choices are : cold cereals, eggs with bacon, potatoes and toast or one day pancakes and the other french toast, service was fast and food good. Some problems that I found not acceptable: waiting 30 minutes to be seated, luckily we had no tour, having a strange look from the waitress when I asked an other orange juice for my daughter (served in a very small glass), and some other issues. The restaurant Uncle's Vito in front of the hotel is a very good choice, very good pizzas and pastas, not expensive. For the price paid, it is a good value in San Francisco.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LyseMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear LyseLaval,

Thank you for the good review of our small hotel and giving
us four stars in spite of your displeasure with our breakfast .
We are sorry if you had to wait a little- not thirty minutes- but
it is impossible to serve everybody at the same time, mainly
when everybody come at the last moment. Be aware, that during
the tourist season it is not rare in our neighborhood to see
people lining in the street in front of restaurants before obtaining
a table where they are going to pay ten or fifteen dollars when
our breakfast not included in the room rates is completely free.


Best regards

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Everything about this small hotel is completely charming - it's in a great location and is like a little piece of France in the heart of SF. The rooms are comfortable and uniquely decorated with good quality bedlinen. Although there is no air-conditioning - probably not needed in SF anyway - we were there during a heatwave and the fan provided was more than adequate at keeping us cool. The decor is amazing, particularly in the basement restaurant and the old fashioned cage-style lift adds to the charm. Staff were pleasant and helpful and the complementary breakfast was substantial and very good. Please remember to leave a gratuity however - the service really is worth paying for. In terms of eating out, we can recommend Pearls for a fantastic - and cheap - burger and garlic fries. The House of Nanking on the edge of Chinatown was great too - you will need to queue to get in and the service is bossy verging on rude! but the food was great and it was an experience not to be missed. If you go with that in mind you won't be disappointed. Uncle Vitos just over the road was good for a quick pizza and salad too. If you want a predictable chain hotel then this one isn't for you but if you want to try something a little different you'd be hard pressed to find anything better for the price. We would go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Louise,

We liked your good review of our small Cornell Hotel de France,
a reward for all of us. The good description of our establishment
and the mention of the good places of our neighborhood may tempt
Trip Advisor readers to visit us.
Thank you so much for writing that you appreciated your complimentary
breakfast. Restaurant Jeanne is offering graciously this privilege (under
further notice) Nice of you to suggest that a tip should be left for the
waitresses.
Merci.. for your kindness Louise

Warm regards

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed four nights in a quiet and charming courtyard room. The bed was very comfortable, and our room immaculately clean. Breakfast was consistently great, and the location was perfect: close to many good restaurants, cable-cars, Chinatown and Union Square. Best of all - the staff- they were all charming and friendly and helpful. It was a pleasure to stay there.

Room Tip: Our courtyard room was quiet and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear GMS S,

Thank you for your nice words about our small Cornell Hotel de France
and sharing them with the Trip Advisor readers. It is rewarding for us to
know that we do the right things and serve our customers well.

Warm regards

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

SF has overwhelming array of lodging options. This was my first visit to the city, and it was limited to 36 hours. We arrived after long flight from Asia so Cornell was going to be our base to explore the city AND overcome jet lag. Cornell surpassed expectations on all fronts. Fairly large room w/ 2 beds overlooking Bush, very comfy beds and a perfect sound nights sleep. Cornell 1, jetlag 0. I thought the breakfast excellent. And look at the prices at the neighborhood cafes and diners...that (included) breakfast is a deal. Location is a hike up from the BART at Powell and Market...if you have luggage, you may want to taxi it up or plan your bus route...but going down, well, it's all downhill to any form of transport you choose! Cornell de France was gracious and generous in letting us leave our stuff in their storage...and even come back several times during the day to access our bags and use the bathroom. Then, they kicked it into overdrive by suggesting we take BART to our connecting train across the bay in Emerysville (Amtrak Station). I was going to wuss out and take a taxi, but the very helpful staff, invoking the law of gravity inherent in any San Francisco movement decision, pointed out that is was just a roll down Powell to BART...where the fare to Emerysville was only $3.50. I forgot the bathroom! HUGE. Classic, old time tub standing on its own "feet." But modern otherwise. Decent restaurants and cafes in the neighborhood (I regret I did not try the dinner in the restaurant). Some have complained of small, dingy rooms...well, we got a good one for $200 booking on the hotel website, and it comes w/ cooked breakfasts. Yes, you can go to a chain and pay twice that....and get zero character. Thank you , Cornell de France!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear David W,

What a reward it can be for us when we have a nice review from
an appreciative customer. We liked you good judgement when
evaluating the advantages of being with us.
We thank you very much, happy that you do not regret to have stayed
in our small hotel.

Warm regards

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
182 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Not really an authentic French hotel -- their rooms are 2X-3X the size in Paris! Decor is really neat here. They did a bangup job decorating the property, and especially the restaurant. (2) very intimate tables for dinner in the restaurant. Good service but I would get there early for breakfast.
No A/C so try to get a room on the street (bad ventilation if your room is inside!). Good value for the $$ and location is superb.

Room Tip: Get on street if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xsoccer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear xsoccer1,

Thank you for your good review of our small Cornell Hotel de France.
We like when customers are appreciative of the artistic features which
are present all throught the establishment. We noticed the beautiful
dogs in your arms. Everybody love Michel our golden retriever, the star
of our place. We hope that you met him.

Warm regards

Claude Lambert - Owner
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,109 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Marines Memorial Club Hotel
Marines Memorial Club Hotel
#10 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#8 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornell Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Hotel de France

Property: Cornell Hotel de France
Address: 715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cornell Hotel de France 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of San Francisco Discover the charm and elegance of France in the heart of downtown San Francisco at this family-owned and operated hotel, ideally placed within walking distance of vibrant Union Square. Cornell Hotel de France boasts an exceptional location close to many of the city's main points of interest. The theater district as well as the legendary Chinatown can be found only minutes from the hotel. The city's historic cable car system is also easily accessible and provides service to many areas of the city. Originally built in 1910, the Cornell combines old-world charm with today's modern amenities such as wireless internet access. Start the day with a free breakfast at the hotel's on-site renowned restaurant, Jeanne d'Arc. Admire prints of masterpieces from famous artists throughout the hotel. Union Square is a great choice for travelers interested in shopping, restaurants and city trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cornell Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing