We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cornell Hotel de France
Ranked #22 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

The location of this hotel is great, within walking distance of the shops and public transport. We stayed in the cosy room, which certainly was small, but we only needed it for sleeping so it was fine. Breakfast options were limited, but it tasted great. Overall the hotel was good value for what we needed in San Francisco.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Laura658,

Happy to see that you have been satisfied with our small
Hotel. True that our location is ideal. We have bigger rooms
than the one in which you stayed ... they costs a little more..
Our breakfast is limited but do not forget that it is graciously
offered by Restaurant Jeanne d' Arc and did not cost you
one penny.

Thanking you for your comments
Best regards

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    831
    666
    127
    42
    30
See reviews for
231
919
107
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Concord
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

This boutique hotel is the gem de la gem of the Union Square area. It's located in a very good section of the area, on Powell and Bush a short walk, either between Union Square or the Fairmont Hotel. On the premises is our favorite SF restaurant, Jeanne d'arc. We have been dining there for at least 10 years. The food and menu selections are superb. Upon dining there, a few years ago, we decided to try a night at the hotel, thereby elongating the experience. It was the right decision. We have been lucky enough to take advantage of their one night special which includes: a comfortable room with an old fashion decorated bath, a queen bed, dinner or 2 and breakfast for 2 at Jeanne d'arc and overnight parking at the garage across the street, The lobby is so quaint and includes an old fashion metal gate lift and the service is impeccable. Enjoy - specially the restaurant.

Room Tip: Cable car on Powell street can get noisy so you might want to choose a room off Powell. But, cable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConcordBaddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear ConcordBaddog,

We are glad that you decided to stay in our hotel after
your dinner at our Restaurant Jeanne d' Arc, we very
much appreciate your good comments.

It is our pleasure to serve you.
Warm regards,

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Olivos, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The Cornell is charming, small, and in a great location, just off Union Sq. The workers are super friendly and helpful! Parking, right across the street is 1/2 the cost of other lots. Rooms are small but clean and comfortable. Dining room downstairs with breakfast included.
Recommend Kuleto's a few blocks away for a great Italian dinner!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDuCharme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear MDuCharme,

Thank you for your nice words.
It is rewarding to know that we
serve our customers well.

Best regards

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Although I had a choked toilet very early one morning around 2am, the staff whom I called quickly came to my rescue and transferred me promptly to another room. I was so pleased with his service that I gave him a big tip! Wonderful staff and service there!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yvette2014ggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Yvette,

Thank you very much for your kind comment, the employee
who helped you will be happy to see that his good service has
been noticed.
Pleased to receive an e- mail from intriguing and far away
Singapore.

Warm regards

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Great little hotel in an excellent location. A short walk (downhill) to Union Square, and only metres from the cable car to Fishermans Wharf. My room was at the back of the hotel, lovely and quiet but you could still hear the odd cable car bell which was great. Breakfast is included and served in the very 'quaint' restaurant downstairs. The staff on reception were helpful and friendly. I'd definitely stay here again on any future trips to San Francisco.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back if you like a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiWanderlust1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear KiwiWanderlust1,

So glad you found our small hotel to your convenience
and appreciated the service of our staff.
Thank you for your good comments

Warm regards

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed here for a "girls weekend" with friends. My room was small, but adequate for a single---it would have been a crush for a couple. All staff were friendly and helpful. The wi-fi was weak and slow, so I stayed with my 4G.
The mattress was nice and the room and bathroom clean.
Breakfast was included, just a couple of choices, but the eggs were well prepared. The only complaint was that the toast was very cheap white bread---could be upgraded to a decent bread for minimum cost.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Joyce T,

We are pleased that you were satisfied with our establishment.
Thank you for your good comments.
We agree with you that our small rooms would be crowded with
two persons. Our breakfast is not included in the price that the
customers pay.. it is graciously offered by Restaurant Jeanne d'
Arc . Sorry for the bread but you could have asked another kind.

Best regards

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed here on Feb 21, 2104. Very nice, very French hotel. located just a couple of blocks from Union Square. Old school hotel. Quite quiet for its location and reasonably priced for the area. Rooms are very quaint, clean and are part of the theme. Couple of quibbles: Couldn't figure out how to turn the overhead light on without also turning on the fan, and radiator function seemed a mystery. No air conditioning, but then this is San Francisco, so that's not a big deal as you can actually open the windows!.

With your room, you get a Real (not "continental") breakfast, served in their (French, naturally) restaurant downstairs. Did not have a change to try the restaurant for dinner, but the breakfast was great.

Parking is at a city lot across the street. They validate your ticket and you get 24 hours for $24 bucks, which beats the heck out of any comparable parking in SF, and with your validated ticket you get unlimited in and out (which regular parkers don't).

This is not the Parc 55. It's not as luxurious, but it's also not as sterile (or expensive).

Will DEFINITELY stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Road W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Road W,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your comments
with us. Thank you so much . We are glad that you were satisfied
with your experience at our small ( french as you noticed) hotel .
You described very well the establishment and what we offer.
Of course we cannot compare with the big chains, admit to be
" a vestige of the past " but we know and like our customers and
it is a pleasure for us to meet them. As you said accurately we
do not need air-conditionning in San Francisco and we are happy
to offer a full complimentary breakfast to our guests.

Once more : merci.
Warm regards

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 229 in San Francisco
5,235 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,778 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#59 of 229 in San Francisco
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#9 of 229 in San Francisco
1,715 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#35 of 229 in San Francisco
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornell Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Hotel de France

Property: Cornell Hotel de France
Address: 715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cornell Hotel de France 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of San Francisco Discover the charm and elegance of France in the heart of downtown San Francisco at this family-owned and operated hotel, ideally placed within walking distance of vibrant Union Square. Cornell Hotel de France boasts an exceptional location close to many of the city's main points of interest. The theater district as well as the legendary Chinatown can be found only minutes from the hotel. The city's historic cable car system is also easily accessible and provides service to many areas of the city. Originally built in 1910, the Cornell combines old-world charm with today's modern amenities such as wireless internet access. Start the day with a free breakfast at the hotel's on-site renowned restaurant, Jeanne d'Arc. Admire prints of masterpieces from famous artists throughout the hotel. Union Square is a great choice for travelers interested in shopping, restaurants and city trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cornell Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing