We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cornell Hotel de France
Ranked #25 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect location”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed here for a "girls weekend" with friends. My room was small, but adequate for a single---it would have been a crush for a couple. All staff were friendly and helpful. The wi-fi was weak and slow, so I stayed with my 4G.
The mattress was nice and the room and bathroom clean.
Breakfast was included, just a couple of choices, but the eggs were well prepared. The only complaint was that the toast was very cheap white bread---could be upgraded to a decent bread for minimum cost.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Joyce T,

We are pleased that you were satisfied with our establishment.
Thank you for your good comments.
We agree with you that our small rooms would be crowded with
two persons. Our breakfast is not included in the price that the
customers pay.. it is graciously offered by Restaurant Jeanne d'
Arc . Sorry for the bread but you could have asked another kind.

Best regards

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    656
    124
    42
    30
See reviews for
228
903
107
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sequim, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed here on Feb 21, 2104. Very nice, very French hotel. located just a couple of blocks from Union Square. Old school hotel. Quite quiet for its location and reasonably priced for the area. Rooms are very quaint, clean and are part of the theme. Couple of quibbles: Couldn't figure out how to turn the overhead light on without also turning on the fan, and radiator function seemed a mystery. No air conditioning, but then this is San Francisco, so that's not a big deal as you can actually open the windows!.

With your room, you get a Real (not "continental") breakfast, served in their (French, naturally) restaurant downstairs. Did not have a change to try the restaurant for dinner, but the breakfast was great.

Parking is at a city lot across the street. They validate your ticket and you get 24 hours for $24 bucks, which beats the heck out of any comparable parking in SF, and with your validated ticket you get unlimited in and out (which regular parkers don't).

This is not the Parc 55. It's not as luxurious, but it's also not as sterile (or expensive).

Will DEFINITELY stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Road W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Road W,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your comments
with us. Thank you so much . We are glad that you were satisfied
with your experience at our small ( french as you noticed) hotel .
You described very well the establishment and what we offer.
Of course we cannot compare with the big chains, admit to be
" a vestige of the past " but we know and like our customers and
it is a pleasure for us to meet them. As you said accurately we
do not need air-conditionning in San Francisco and we are happy
to offer a full complimentary breakfast to our guests.

Once more : merci.
Warm regards

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Having read good reports of this hotel we thought a small family run hotel would make a change from the larger hotels we had booked in other cities for our 2 week stay in USA. We found the whole experience very disappointing. The bed was most uncomfortable, the shower really inefficient and the staff/owners ( not sure who was who) unhelpful and curt apart from the breakfast staff who were very friendly. We were only acknowledged when we walked past the office which doubled as reception if we said hello. We only asked for information twice, once to book hop on hop off bus tickets which we were told on arrival we could do at the hotel, yet when we tried asked a different person she said they could only issue 24 hour tickets not the 48 hour ones we were told we could get and the second time to enquire about getting a cab after visiting an evening ballet performance at the opera house. On this occasion we were told that we might have to walk because there weren't always cabs available although a second person did profer a phone number to call. They clearly didn't know that the opera house has an excellent system with an usher dedicated to taking your name and ensuring that there is a cab waiting at the end of the performance for you! We found this out by asking the helpful staff at the opera house
Breakfast was very limited and was just about adequate as long as you like eggs! The room was hot and stuffy in February so would be very unpleasant during higher temperatures. On our last full day we returned to our room at 5pm to find it had not been serviced. When I mentioned this clean towels were brought to our room but there was no offer of making the bed or cleaning the bathroom. I was asked if the do not disturb sign had been on the door, What sign? There was no information about the hotel in our room at all.
There was clearly a lot of decoration and other refurbishment work taking place in the bedrooms as we had to keep avoiding builders equipment on the way to our room and heard banging coming from the room next door. There was no general apology to guests for any inconvenience while this work was taking place.
Perhaps the owners of this hotel should visit other hotels, particularly the larger chains to look at the high levels of customer care they are providing despite their size.
On the plus side the location of the hotel is great, just a few minutes from Union Square and the Mason- Powell cable car.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Citrus125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Citrus 125,

Thank you for taking the time to express your frustrations after
staying at our small, unpretentious hotel. Everybody has different
tastes and expectations and we respect that... So be it.
--- However, we have to apologize for the unforgiven fault that one
of our (new) employee made by not taking care of your room.
The maids made mistakes now and then, but we always remedied
quickly to the consequent situations, leaving customers satisfied and
compensated. I would have liked to learn about your misadventure
directly from you rather than Trip Advisor. Hopefully your perception of
our hotel would have been different.
--- Our beds have all been changed recently- medium firm- and
seemed so far to be appreciated.
--- Our breakfast is gracefully offered by Restaurant Jeanne d' Arc, you
did not spend a penny for it......for this reason the menu has to be limited.
In Paris they charge twenty dollars for a mere croissant and petit pain..
--- You mentionned my name two times.. should you have ?..

Than you again Citrus 125....so sorry for your disappointment, too
many incidents prevented you to appreciate another side of us.

Best regards

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We enjoyed our three nights at the hotel in mid-February. The location was convenient and in a decent neighborhood considering it's proximity to the less appealing parts of San Fran. The room was comfortable and clean although this is an old facility so judge appropriately. What some find to the charming others might not. We spent very little time in our room so didn't care much. Lots of restaurants nearby and nearby transit too. Having the breakfast included was an unexpected bonus although one of the three days was just short of awful (undercooked eggs, wrong order, slow service).

Room Tip: We had interior room (206) that was on an air shaft. Probably quieter than front rooms but not much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdmissal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear jdmissal,

Room 206 is not our best room, being on the second floor,
consequently dark and giving on an inside alley.
Sorry for your breakfast, the little ladies serving it are not very
articulate,but you should have made a new order cooked to your
satisfaction.
Thank you so much for giving us four stars in spite of some
flaws that you encountered

Warm regards

Claude Lambert - Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Pines, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I have stayed at the Cornell several times now, it's my number one choice in San Francisco. You can't beat the Union Square location. It's also got great old-world charm and decor. I can't say enough about the friendly, hard-working staff, they just add that extra personal touch that's impossible to find these days. I highly recommend the Cornell.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Michelle B,

Thank you so much for recommending our Cornell Hotel de France.
It is nice to know that we have faithful customers and it is a pleasure
to welcome them back in their "second home" in San Francisco.....

Merci and warm regards,

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolinas, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2014

For our anniversary, we invited 10 long-standing friends to celebrate a day of fun in San Francisco with us. The Cornell is very comfortable; walking anywhere is easy from there; the staff of the hotel and fine restaurant are professional and at the same time hospitable; and the atmosphere is quite delightfully French.

Room Tip: Larger rooms have lots of light and are quiet even though they face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Chere Susan R,

Merci beaucoup.. for your nice comments about us. We are very
happy that you and your nice group appreciated the ambiance and
style of our small establishment.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Warm regards

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Excellent location, great staff, neat and clean room, delicious breakfast.
Single problem, very small rooms (and a small bed).
We arrived in October, so we had no problem, but no air conditioner in the room.

Room Tip: Great hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anna k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear anna k,

Thank you for your generous comments and your
five stars in spite of the imperfections that you
noticed. Some of our rooms are small and should
be rented to a single person but those facing the
street or the back of the hotel are bigger. We have
queen beds in practically all of them. We have less
than ten days of unusual heat per year and
air- conditonning is not even a must.

Merci encore,

Warm regards




Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
5,192 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,757 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 229 in San Francisco
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#54 of 229 in San Francisco
1,630 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#9 of 229 in San Francisco
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornell Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Hotel de France

Property: Cornell Hotel de France
Address: 715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cornell Hotel de France 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of San Francisco Discover the charm and elegance of France in the heart of downtown San Francisco at this family-owned and operated hotel, ideally placed within walking distance of vibrant Union Square. Cornell Hotel de France boasts an exceptional location close to many of the city's main points of interest. The theater district as well as the legendary Chinatown can be found only minutes from the hotel. The city's historic cable car system is also easily accessible and provides service to many areas of the city. Originally built in 1910, the Cornell combines old-world charm with today's modern amenities such as wireless internet access. Start the day with a free breakfast at the hotel's on-site renowned restaurant, Jeanne d'Arc. Admire prints of masterpieces from famous artists throughout the hotel. Union Square is a great choice for travelers interested in shopping, restaurants and city trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cornell Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing