We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inexpensive and centrally located” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cornell Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cornell Hotel de France
Ranked #21 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Inexpensive and centrally located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We enjoyed our three nights at the hotel in mid-February. The location was convenient and in a decent neighborhood considering it's proximity to the less appealing parts of San Fran. The room was comfortable and clean although this is an old facility so judge appropriately. What some find to the charming others might not. We spent very little time in our room so didn't care much. Lots of restaurants nearby and nearby transit too. Having the breakfast included was an unexpected bonus although one of the three days was just short of awful (undercooked eggs, wrong order, slow service).

Room Tip: We had interior room (206) that was on an air shaft. Probably quieter than front rooms but not much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdmissal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear jdmissal,

Room 206 is not our best room, being on the second floor,
consequently dark and giving on an inside alley.
Sorry for your breakfast, the little ladies serving it are not very
articulate,but you should have made a new order cooked to your
satisfaction.
Thank you so much for giving us four stars in spite of some
flaws that you encountered

Warm regards

Claude Lambert - Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    623
    118
    40
    27
See reviews for
209
851
100
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Pines, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

I have stayed at the Cornell several times now, it's my number one choice in San Francisco. You can't beat the Union Square location. It's also got great old-world charm and decor. I can't say enough about the friendly, hard-working staff, they just add that extra personal touch that's impossible to find these days. I highly recommend the Cornell.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Michelle B,

Thank you so much for recommending our Cornell Hotel de France.
It is nice to know that we have faithful customers and it is a pleasure
to welcome them back in their "second home" in San Francisco.....

Merci and warm regards,

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolinas, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

For our anniversary, we invited 10 long-standing friends to celebrate a day of fun in San Francisco with us. The Cornell is very comfortable; walking anywhere is easy from there; the staff of the hotel and fine restaurant are professional and at the same time hospitable; and the atmosphere is quite delightfully French.

Room Tip: Larger rooms have lots of light and are quiet even though they face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Chere Susan R,

Merci beaucoup.. for your nice comments about us. We are very
happy that you and your nice group appreciated the ambiance and
style of our small establishment.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Warm regards

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Excellent location, great staff, neat and clean room, delicious breakfast.
Single problem, very small rooms (and a small bed).
We arrived in October, so we had no problem, but no air conditioner in the room.

Room Tip: Great hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anna k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear anna k,

Thank you for your generous comments and your
five stars in spite of the imperfections that you
noticed. Some of our rooms are small and should
be rented to a single person but those facing the
street or the back of the hotel are bigger. We have
queen beds in practically all of them. We have less
than ten days of unusual heat per year and
air- conditonning is not even a must.

Merci encore,

Warm regards




Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Cornell Hotel de France was walking distance from all the sights and food we wanted to experience in San Francisco. The decor and rooms are charming in an old-fashioned way. We had a room with two twin beds. The beds were very comfortable and the room was small but fully furnished. The breakfast area in the basement is like walking into a medieval dungeon (in a good way). The complimentary breakfast was good for filling up before a day of walking around the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaimelire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear jaimelire ( Beau nom !)

Thank you for your good comment which describe well our
small Cornell Hotel de France.
A little mistake, our restaurant is not located in the basement
but in the lower floor of our our establishment .........

Merci encore

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

A little slice of Paris. The ambience of Cornell Hotel de France was above par, nicely decorated, clean, tasteful. Excellent and attentive staff from front to back. This lovely hotel is centrally located in the heart of Downtown San Francisco, accessible to everything, but quiet as could be. The food was delicious, beds were comfortable, everything is sparkling clean. Very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear anne p,

Thank you for taking the time to so generously comment on
our small hotel. So happy that you noticed our efforts to please
our customers in pleasant and beautiful surroundings.
.

Again...Merci

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile


Small, cozy, super clean, bit old, thats way they call french style! Breakfast is simple and good, nothing special, scramble eggs, toast, juice coffee etc....
200m away from Union square, best location! staff is very polite!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Abvaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Abvaus,

Thank you for taking the time to comment positively about our small
Cornell Hotel de France, about its convenience.
Yes our building is old, but we are french because of the art, decoration,
ambience, restaurant evoking the life of "Jeanne d' Arc", language spoken
by many of us.
Breakfast is generously offered by Restaurant Jeanne d' Arc, the customers
do not spend a dime for it, it explains why it is simple.

Thank you again
Best regards.

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,013 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,808 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,674 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#7 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornell Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Hotel de France

Property: Cornell Hotel de France
Address: 715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cornell Hotel de France 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of San Francisco Discover the charm and elegance of France in the heart of downtown San Francisco at this family-owned and operated hotel, ideally placed within walking distance of vibrant Union Square. Cornell Hotel de France boasts an exceptional location close to many of the city's main points of interest. The theater district as well as the legendary Chinatown can be found only minutes from the hotel. The city's historic cable car system is also easily accessible and provides service to many areas of the city. Originally built in 1910, the Cornell combines old-world charm with today's modern amenities such as wireless internet access. Start the day with a free breakfast at the hotel's on-site renowned restaurant, Jeanne d'Arc. Admire prints of masterpieces from famous artists throughout the hotel. Union Square is a great choice for travelers interested in shopping, restaurants and city trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Cornell Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing