We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Captures most of the good feelings of a French hotel, and a few not so good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cornell Hotel de France
Ranked #26 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2013

In many ways, the Cornell Hotel de France did feel like a Paris stay. The hotel is located in a busy but beautiful part of the city, an easy walk to Union Square and just off the Powell Street Car line. The decor is a bit older but it all feels comfortable, and everything is very clean. Our room was quite large, light and airy, and although the room faced Bush Street, we were never disturbed by any traffic noise. Unfortunately the hotel also has a few less enticing aspects of some French hotels: inside of bathtubs with pealing paint, two tiny pillows, and our greatest disappointment for a US hotel: no fitted bottom sheet for a queen bed (tiny mattress pad and small sheet made for uncomfortable night sleep). A lovely manager on duty, but after the fifth time she reminded us to "lock your door" we started to feel a bit less comfortable. Breakfast was quite reasonable (very American but a croissant would have been a welcome treat), and we found the restaurant setting to be truly beautiful. Beware of the sweet breakfast server - each morning she served us coffee as she ran to the next table, and most of the time the coffee didn't actually reach our cups!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimnCaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Dear SimnCaite,

Thank you for commenting about our Cornell Hotel de France
and for the generous four stars that you gave us in spite of the
few "less enticing aspects" that you observed.
Sorry for the inside of your bathtub... we remodeled almost all
of them in the hotel excepted four of them, including yours,
unfortunately. They will be changed in the next few weeks.
Identical story with the pillows, we agree that they are too small
but brand new, larger and softer ones will replace them soon
(before the end of the year....)
Fitted bottom sheets ! We were not aware that it was offered
by our industry.
Breakfast.offered by Restaurant Jeanne d' Arc is free, the
choice consequently, has to be limited but a lot of
restaurants in the neighborhood can offer you what you desire.
We shall tell the sweet waitress to serve coffee in a more
civilized manner........

It was nive answering your comments

Claude Lambert - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,785)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

961 - 967 of 1,785 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is an older, and tired, hotel near Union Square. as others have said, with a bed and breakfast feel. yes, the breakfasts are just fine...however the lack of air conditioning and heat make staying here somewhat chancy in either cool/cold or warm/hot days and nights. the hotel bathrooms need significant revision, the total lack of ventilation other than opening a window is worth paying attention to and the erratic TV service ( by the way, no guide to channels seems to be in evidence when asked for one) makes this a bit dicey place to stay. their immediate competition is the Orchard Hotel, with fine beds, great AC/ heating and lovely bedrooms. sometimes the Cornell is lower; sometimes the same. just check them both out pricewise before making a reservation...

Room Tip: since all rooms, I believe, require opening windows for ventilation, ambient noise is constant from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear Leonard Y,

Thank you for your comments regarding our Cornell Hotel.
We see that you notice the ' bread and breakfast" feeling of our place.
Yes, we offer a full, complimentary american breakfast ,served
in the beautiful dining- room of our Restaurant Jeanne d' Arc.
Like many San Francisco old buildings, we have steam heat, efficient, healthy
somewhat hard to control but after a few adjustments and basic advices to
customers our rooms are comfortable..
We do not have air- conditioning but in our city it is not even necessary
considering that yearly we have only a few days of excessive heat..
Sorry if our bath- rooms were not modern enough for you, but remember that
we are described as " a vestige of the past ".
As a rule, our televisions work well. We apologize if you could not get a list of
channels during your" night stay ".

The last part of your comments made us feel uneasy.. We ,respecfully understand that
you were not satisfied with the Cornell but why comparing us, to our disadvantage,
with a competitor located further in the same street ..We work very hard to improve our
ranking but are fully aware of our limits. and we expect to be judged for ourself, not to
promote oddly another establishment.

Thank you again for taking the time to comment.


Claude Lambert - Owner
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very much like a bed and breakfast. The location is awesome for downtown San Fran. The staff is fantastic. The breakfast is great! And the parking rates are quite nice as well.

I think that the bathrooms could be updated and the rooms for that matter. However. I do understand that the feel is supposed to be French and it's just fine.

The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. Great stations for cable- something we don't have at home.

Seriously. This location is perfect. If I were to come back to this destination I would stay here again. If you are looking for a more personal experience, look no further.

Thank you!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank kmenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear Kmenne,

We are glad that you liked our hotel.
It is a pleasure for us to see that our business attracts
nice and kind patrons. Thank you for generously
honoring our staff. In France they can have modern
bath- rooms but you noticed that we are a vestige of the past...

Warm greetings

Claude Lambert - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

This is more like a Bed & Breakfast than a Hotel. I live just down the highway in Sacramento, so I spend a lot of time in San Francisco, especially during baseball season. And, I was married to a Frenchman for a few years, and lived in a French town outside of Paris. When he was in California once, we stayed here for a couple days, and he was right at home. The Cornell Hotel de France is like staying with friends. I occasionally have to stay in another hotel, but this one is always my first choice. And it seems that each year they make little improvements that make my stay even more comfortable and fun. Can't beat the nice rooms, great breakfast, friendly service, and location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rockmom19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear Rockmon 19,

Merci beaucoup Madame for your good comments.
Yes , with the restaurant serving breakfast and dinner
we are like a big bed and breakfast and ...all our customers
are our friends.

Amicalement

Claude Lambert - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Our first 2 nights were in the Jr. Suite and it was spacious and very comfortable. The staff was very helpful and attentive. On our first evening we enjoyed a truly delicious dinner in the cozy restaurant in the basement....it was outstanding! The breakfasts were beyond our expectations and we were always greeted with very pleasant service. After returning from a few days in wine country we stayed in a front room for 3 nights. It was perfect! The location of this hotel is excellent...central to everything in San Francisco. We will return someday.

Room Tip: Take a front room if you want to listen and see the cable cars on Powell St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Dear Dan A,

Thank you for your good revue. It has been a pleasure
to serve you and hope to have the opportunity to do it
again. We like to take good care of our customers and
see them happy.

Gratefully

Claude Lambert - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We booked this hotel due to reviews read on tripadvisor and were not disappointed. Location is excellent in the Union Square area - we walked from the BART train station which we caught from the airport and walked to the hotel - albeit abit steep at the end.

The room was clean and tidy, the linen lovely. We stayed twice on two day stopovers and had a bigger room the second stay which had a lovely old bath - just great for a tired jetlagged visitor.

Breakfast is complimentary and nicely prepared and presented. Staff are friendly and helpful with the Manager/owner even offering to run us to the Bart station when the shuttle opted not to pick us up for our airport run.
Have no hesitation in recommended this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Depends what you are used to - the Cozy Queen is cosy but adequate and our room was at the back of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Dear Heather T,

We are glad that you liked our small hotel and found
it adequate for a tired jetlagged visitor.
Thank you for your good revue
Thank you too, for the Intermediary: Trip Advisor.

Best regards

Claude Lambert - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a quick trip to San Francisco. Rooms were a little outdated but cozy. It had a good breakfast and was in a safe neighborhood. We have no complaints. We would stay again on our next trip!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Emily K,

We were happy to read that you had no complaints with
our establishment and ..would return. Yes, our rooms are kind of
outdated...but we are supposed to be an hotel of the past !

Thank you

Claude Lambert - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,361 reviews
Union Square
Petite Auberge
Petite Auberge
#24 of 230 in San Francisco
1,551 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#7 of 230 in San Francisco
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
613 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornell Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Hotel de France

Address: 715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $127 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cornell Hotel de France 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of San Francisco Discover the charm and elegance of France in the heart of downtown San Francisco at this family-owned and operated hotel, ideally placed within walking distance of vibrant Union Square. Cornell Hotel de France boasts an exceptional location close to many of the city's main points of interest. The theater district as well as the legendary Chinatown can be found only minutes from the hotel. The city's historic cable car system is also easily accessible and provides service to many areas of the city. Originally built in 1910, the Cornell combines old-world charm with today's modern amenities such as wireless internet access. Start the day with a free breakfast at the hotel's on-site renowned restaurant, Jeanne d'Arc. Admire prints of masterpieces from famous artists throughout the hotel. Union Square is a great choice for travelers interested in shopping, restaurants and city trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cornell Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing