We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cornell Hotel de France
Ranked #24 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The hotel was certainly well located and the staff friendly, but our room was disappointing even accepting that the hotel is older. It was very small, which in itself is not a big issue, but was also quite shabby and uninviting. The one small window in the room looked on to a small interior yard and the room was very dark as a result. Final negative point was the plastic sheet on the bed - not good!

We thought that the breakfasts were good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spinaltrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,828)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,011 - 1,017 of 1,828 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2013

The hotel is cute - I liked the European feel to it. The check in was easy and informative - answered all questions about San Francisco.

My only complaint is about breakfast. Although it is appreciated that it is complimentary, it wasn't a good experience. The server was unfriendly and unhelpful. When she brought the wrong food, she insisted that we ordered what she served and refused to make it right. Even though we all heard the order when it was given, she simply refused to bring the right meal. I found that to be the only negative to our trip - otherwise everyone we met in San Francisco was more than gracious.

The table next to me told her that the milk in her coffee was curdled and the server replied that that was the creamer of the day and there was nothing she could do. A man from the next table went over a offered his creamer to her.

I suggest you find another server. Three tables in all were affected by her refusal to be helpful.

Thanks

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nlpurdy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This cute French hotel is in the best location. Great access to the cable car and walking distance to Union Square and other neighborhoods. Unfortunately we were placed in room 101 for 5 nights and it is noisy. We did request to be moved however they were fully booked. The room is right by the front door, breakfast area and street side. In fact we could barely get in and out of our room if other people were coming in the front door. The street side had double pain windows which was not the problem for the noise. The first morning they were vacuuming right outside our door at 8 am (even slammed the vacuum up against our door). I know some people were up by then but we had stayed out late. I did mention this to the front desk they made a note and it never happened again. However, we could still hear every time someone was coming and going and as they set up and took down the breakfast service. Our rate did include breakfast but it was only available until 9 or 9:30 so we never ate. You can't beat the rate, the comfortable bed, the location and the hot water. We would stay here again however we would request a different room!

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmen-Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This hotel is located just off Powell street so the cable car is right at the door and Union Square is just a few blocks down the street. Our rate included a cooked breakfast so it was very good value. It is an old hotel so don't expect a modern bathroom. The shower is over the bath and is surrounded by a shower curtain that I had a battle with. This was the only downside to our room. I would stay here again. There are restaurants of all types and budgets within an easy walk.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Belmore52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We have stayed at the Cornell Hotel 3 or 4 times in the past 20 years. Each time we visit it is better than ever. It is small, but charming. The staff and owners are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are older but very comfortable. Despite being just a couple blocks off of Union Square, it is very quiet and we always get a good night's sleep. The elevator is lots of fun and the art work is inspiring. It is close to many things and right on the cable car route. We usually just stay for a weekend, as we live only an hour away. But there is no end to the adventures, theaters, galleries, restaurants and shopping that are right outside the door of the Cornell Hotel. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Our room had a shower in a claw foot tub. It was fine for us, but might be a little tricky for someo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McLartymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Perfect hotel for seeing the city! Cozy, and I mean that in a good way. Rooms are very clean and there is hardly any street noise. Above average breakfast for being free. Staff was very nice and would go above and beyond to make your stay better. Would stay there again for sure!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Brock S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Charming place to stay in San Fran. Clean, great location, lovely staff and excellent value,We have stayed at the Cornell on our past 4 visits to the city. A dear friend in Los Gatos recommended the Cornell to us, This is the only hotel he frequents on his many weekend visits to San Fran.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jagmac1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#18 of 231 in San Francisco
5,396 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#37 of 231 in San Francisco
627 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#73 of 231 in San Francisco
780 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
#64 of 231 in San Francisco
1,737 reviews
Union Square
Petite Auberge
Petite Auberge
#28 of 231 in San Francisco
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornell Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Hotel de France

Address: 715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $149 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cornell Hotel de France 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of San Francisco Discover the charm and elegance of France in the heart of downtown San Francisco at this family-owned and operated hotel, ideally placed within walking distance of vibrant Union Square. Cornell Hotel de France boasts an exceptional location close to many of the city's main points of interest. The theater district as well as the legendary Chinatown can be found only minutes from the hotel. The city's historic cable car system is also easily accessible and provides service to many areas of the city. Originally built in 1910, the Cornell combines old-world charm with today's modern amenities such as wireless internet access. Start the day with a breakfast (Free for any booking on our website) at the hotel's on-site renowned restaurant, Jeanne d'Arc. Admire prints of masterpieces from famous artists throughout the hotel. Union Square is a great choice for travelers interested in shopping, restaurants and city trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cornell Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing