We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cornell Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cornell Hotel de France
Ranked #23 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

What a cosy hotel. Nice rooms. Great shower/badtub. Nice elevator.
Good breakfast in the morning and right in the center of san francisco.
Very good for exploring the city and very friendly people.
Worth every penny.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Sir,

We thank you very much for your good comment.
Hope to welcome you again.

Best regards

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    766
    623
    118
    40
    27
See reviews for
209
852
100
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We booked the hotel at Booking.com and every thing worked well. We payed 175 USD pr night PLUS the tax incl. Breakfast. For breakfast you can choose French toast or your choise of eggs with toast and some roasted potatos. Loved the little asian women running around with coffee!
We stayed at the hotel for 9 nights and can highly recommend it. It is clean and we got so much help from Joan in the reseption about trips, how to use the cable cars etc. She was perfect!
BUT - watch out for the little gray-haired women (I think she is french) in breakfastrestaurant and reception! No smile and no eye contact from that lady - and we really tried!!!
The location is close to Union square - 3min. down way. I do not think you could make a better choise for location - 2 min to a percet mexican restaurant, 2 min for a beautiful Louis Diner (open 24h) and 3 min to a Wahlgreen pharmacy/supermarked. Cablecar stop is just around the corner.
Overall a positive impression - it is and old charming hotel (remember no minibar/fridge) and we would definateli go there again if we visited wonderful San Francisco again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HanneAbildtrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Hanne,

We are happy that you liked our small hotel even being a "vestige of the past "..(.like me).
Your good comment is very valuable considering that you stayed nine days with us.
Sorry you could not get a smile from the small lady with grey hair... she lives in another
world : history, literature, poetry seem to be her main interest..she is shy too.. I told her many
times that not being interested with people, or able to communicate she should
move in a cabin, deep in the woods.... she is an original with other qualities.. she is my
daughter too.
Merci encore Hanne and forgive me for being a little too personal .

Claude Lambert- Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotts Valley
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and I were in SF for one evening to attend a concert, and wanted something a bit different from the usual chain hotels. A friend stayed here a few years back, and I wrote the name down hoping to stop here myself someday. I was certainly glad I did. Our room was cozy & airy, nicely decorated and light. Loved the claw-footed tub in the bath. We dined at Jeanne d'Arc, and it was terrific. Best of all, I had the best night's sleep I've had in YEARS. I'm not sure if it was the mattress, the ambiance, or just finally getting out for date night, but I slept very well. Overall experience was terrific, and I'd definitely recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Our room faced Bush, but was nice & quiet with the double windows. I'd stay on that side aga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg belge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were looking for a (relatively) cheap, nice and comfortable hotel in downtown San Francisco to spend a couple of nights before heading out for a road trip to the Rocky Mountains; we found Cornell Hotel de France thanks to previous guests' comments on booking.com and we were not disappointed. Breakfast however could have been a little bit more diversified but was still ok.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wazeau69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

I carefully read the reviews here and wasn't sure what to expect. What a pleasant surprise. This very charming and lovely hotel was like staying at a small family hotel in Europe. The hotel itself was a quirky little gem. The proprietors and staff were professional, friendly and helpful. The room was teeny tiny but comfortable and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was updated spotlessly clean and sparkling. The location was fantastic. The full breakfast that was included in the bargain price was great. If you are looking for the standard Marriot - Hyatt - Comfort Inn ( at three times the price) this may not be for you, but if a small room is OK and you enjoy a hotel with a little bit of individuality with a great location at an unbelievable price this is one not to be missed. I would stay here again and enthusiastically recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Sarah,

Your comments made every body happy in our small hotel.
It is very rewarding when somebody see, understand and
appreciate what you do or are trying to achieve...
Merci beaucoup

Warm regards

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
751 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We rounded out a two week CA road trip in San Francisco by staying at the Cornell Hotel de France for 3 nights.

Booking the hotel was a fiasco, I think it seriously took 8 emails to get it right. A few of those emails were because I changed my mind on something but still! It was nearly impossible to get a hold of them in a timely manner.
Leading up to our trip I kept looking for different hotels in SF because I thought all of these emails were going to be a “sign” of what was to come while staying there. Luckily I never found a better deal because the Cornell Hotel de France ended up working out great.

The hotel is in a perfect location for sightseeing. You are right at Bush & Powell which means you can hop right on a cable car (if there is room) A lot of times the cable car was already full by the time it got to us so it was easier to walk a few blocks & hop on earlier.

The ‘American’ breakfast served each day was good. It was always hot & came out quickly. The coffee was terrible though :S It was SO strong that by the time you added enough cream to it, it was cold. The ‘waitress’ running around was a little high-strung/stressful to deal with in the morning, but she got it all done.

We booked a ‘small’ room & the room was bigger than I expected. The room was pretty clean overall but there were some stains on the sheet over the duvet & there was a fair amount of black mildew in the shower up by the ceiling.
This hotel needs to invest in “do not disturb” signs. We never want our room serviced while on vacation but there is not sign to let people know that. We let the front desk know the first day & left a note on the end of the bed requesting no service. The second day we just left the note & someone came into the room. So it would have been helpful to just have a sign & not worry about it. We never put our valuables up because we expect people to stay out of the room.

The hotel has a locked area for you to keep your luggage if you need to either drop luggage off before you can check in or leave it there after checkout. We didn’t have a car, but they do provide parking (for a charge) close to the hotel.

They had fast/free internet which is always nice.

If you’re looking for something convenient, nice and reasonably priced in SF this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrussoDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orebro, Sweden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

A nice hotel located close to union square. the staff were friendly although the room looked a bit old/worn down. The breakfast could have opened at 7 instead of 7.30. overall a good impression and i would definatly come back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank l0ckig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,015 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,814 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,675 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#7 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornell Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Hotel de France

Property: Cornell Hotel de France
Address: 715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cornell Hotel de France 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of San Francisco Discover the charm and elegance of France in the heart of downtown San Francisco at this family-owned and operated hotel, ideally placed within walking distance of vibrant Union Square. Cornell Hotel de France boasts an exceptional location close to many of the city's main points of interest. The theater district as well as the legendary Chinatown can be found only minutes from the hotel. The city's historic cable car system is also easily accessible and provides service to many areas of the city. Originally built in 1910, the Cornell combines old-world charm with today's modern amenities such as wireless internet access. Start the day with a free breakfast at the hotel's on-site renowned restaurant, Jeanne d'Arc. Admire prints of masterpieces from famous artists throughout the hotel. Union Square is a great choice for travelers interested in shopping, restaurants and city trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Cornell Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing