We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in this beautiful little hotel!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cornell Hotel de France
Ranked #29 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Perfect location to everything! Trolley right outside, buses 1 small block in any direction. Walk down hill to union square & tons of shopping, either trolley takes you directly to wharf or Chinatown. Restaurants, cafes, diners- all within easy walking of hotel. This charming, beautiful boutique hotel was amazingly comfortable in every way. Staff incrediably friendly & accomodating to our schedule, allowed us in room 3 hrs earlier than check-in time, and held our bags for us for 6 hours our last day. We stayed 4 nights, slept wonderful each night, very quiet, very comfortable. Bkft included, in the charming basement french restaurant, was very good and filling. The decor and even the "lift" (elevator) were SO charming! Even the ceiling in our room had a mural painted on it. Loved it. The room was clean, neat, closet small BUT there was also a dresser, so plenty of room for our belongings. Was nice to have a window that opened. An iron/ironing board and blow dryer were all in room also. The shower had great water pressure always. We stayed in the "cozy room", room 207, myself and my 11 yr old dgtr. Was just right for us. Next time will try another room, would like room with one of their claw foot bathtubs!

Room Tip: This hotel is tucked in between 2 buildings, in lower Nob Hill. Don't expect any spectacular vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Levisgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,737)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,118 - 1,124 of 1,737 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel is all about location, situated 2 blocks from Union Square, difficult to beat that. The oldfashioned interior decoration didn't appeal to us and things like an oldfashioned tub with fixed shower affects the comfort. The heating was on only short periods each day and we felt a need for sweaters most of the time although the outside weather was warm for March. The corridor outside the hotel room was used to store replacement beds the main part of our eight day stay. The staff was very helpful and positive. Breakfast was included, always a plus.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Our stay at this hotel was fabulous in every way. We had arrived direct from Australia via LA that day and were tired but able to check in late morning. The room was as you would expect, was clean and in good condition. We had a medium size room on the 2nd floor at the back, we had no trouble sleeping, it had plenty of storage and good wifi. We used the stairs rather than the elevator. We had the 3 night, 2 dinner package and the restaraunt is wonderful, great service and fantastic food, the breakfast is excellent as well, it sets you up for the day. The location is perfect, close to Union Square and Chinatown, cable car and shopping. Overall the hotel is charming, the service great. It is a refreshing difference from the bland hotel chains. The price is fantastic value for such a great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

(The only way to enter a ranking is to write something, although I don't have a lot to add to what others have already said. But I thoroughly enjoyed my recent three-night stay at Hotel Cornell de France, and wanted to say so.)
In any case, the location two blocks from Union Square (and 20 yds. from the cable car line) is indeed ideal, yet my rear-facing room was always quiet; the room itself was compact, but warmly decorated with lots of French art and with first-class bedding; the elevator looked historic, but always worked; there was a pleasant front sitting room; and, above all, the staff were always friendly and helpful. There's a fine French restaurant in the cellar; and a B&B-quality breakfast (included in the price) is served there in the morning; and the price, finally, is very reasonable by San Francisco standards - I'll definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ranke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Nice hotel, room were very nice but smallish. Short walk to theater. Close to Union Square. Jeanne d'arc was closed so we didn't get to eat there which was sad since we had heard so much about it. Wifi was very good. Tub is old fashioned with claw feet and shower is the old fashioned in the tub with wrap around curtain. Tub is very high and if you have mobility problems it does pose a problem. No safety bar. Shower was very good however, with great water pressure. Only negative was breakfast. Only had two choices and could not mix. Eggs and bacon or waffles. Could not get waffles with bacon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is a nice option to the more expensive upmarket hotels. The room was on the small side, with a more "European" style. However, added space would not have added much to the experience and really isn't needed. Our room faced the street. If you needed the window open at night for cool air there was the typical city street noise (mostly cars, not people). With the windows shut, it was quiet. Wifi speed was good enough to stream Netflix without incident. Charming common spaces. Quaint elevator.

Restaurant package deal worked well for us. Breakfast was good and plentiful (eggs or french toast), and it was nice to be able to waddle back to the room after dinner in the hotel. We found dinner to be an exceptional treat which was made more affordable with the package booking. Several restaurants at all price points around, and nearby convenience stores.

Good access to MUNI, and BART and therefore the airport, Berkeley, etc. if you are a walker (several blocks with a hill). Union Square is just a few blocks away (Nespresso cafe is a trip in itself), it is a nice (more gently sloping) walk down Bush Street (by Chinatown) to the Ferry Building (Acme bread for those of you yearning for a baguette), and on to the Embarcadero, and points beyond.

All in all I found this to be a good balance of price, comfort and location. And while I would have preferred a/c (for the street facing room at least), I would rather stay here than the upmarket chains nearby or even the options near Fisherman's Wharf. I felt more like I was in the normal part of the city here rather than in the tourist zone.

For us this was a very good fit.

Room Tip: In the warm season go for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eugene00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have stayed here a few times - never disappointed. Quaint, unique, quiet and clean. Our rate included two breakfast and dinner at Jeanne d'arc. There was discounted parking. Near cable cars, so we didn't need our car. Owners were very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dorothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,317 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#9 of 230 in San Francisco
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Petite Auberge
Petite Auberge
#26 of 230 in San Francisco
1,534 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#13 of 230 in San Francisco
2,861 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
#67 of 230 in San Francisco
1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornell Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Hotel de France

Address: 715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $146 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cornell Hotel de France 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of San Francisco Discover the charm and elegance of France in the heart of downtown San Francisco at this family-owned and operated hotel, ideally placed within walking distance of vibrant Union Square. Cornell Hotel de France boasts an exceptional location close to many of the city's main points of interest. The theater district as well as the legendary Chinatown can be found only minutes from the hotel. The city's historic cable car system is also easily accessible and provides service to many areas of the city. Originally built in 1910, the Cornell combines old-world charm with today's modern amenities such as wireless internet access. Start the day with a free breakfast at the hotel's on-site renowned restaurant, Jeanne d'Arc. Admire prints of masterpieces from famous artists throughout the hotel. Union Square is a great choice for travelers interested in shopping, restaurants and city trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cornell Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing