We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A decent small hotel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cornell Hotel de France
Ranked #23 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Germantown, MD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A decent small hotel in a good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

The Cornell is a couple of blocks from Union Square, which means that it is quieter than places closer to the action. Nob Hill is just another few blocks away as is Chinatown. I stayed in a room with two double beds. The room was very simple and fairly small, but had a large closet and bathroom. The building is old, but the halls and rooms are decorated nicely. Service was a little spotty: maid service was missed our first day, and we had to ask for toilet paper. On the other hand, we had no problem leaving our bags for a full day before our red eye flight in the evening. Breakfast was decent with a choice of eggs and toast or French Toast. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a premium room if you care about having space. Also, if you want to have dinner in the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    634
    120
    41
    27
See reviews for
215
871
100
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aptos, CA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Small boutique budget hotel with a European flair. Located conveniently to Union Square.
Prices are low, value is excellent. Provide parking at a garage directly across the street at
a relatively low cost (for San Francisco). Restaurant serves very good French food at reasonable
prices. Personnel try to make you feel at home.

Room Tip: Large rooms on 5th or 6th floors front or back are spacious, pleasant, and European in style. Quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Edev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

One of the best boutique hotels near the Union Square and China Town. My wife and I had stayed here many times over the last ten years. A unique feature is the hotel's original vintage elevator, which is most charming and reliable, and one of the last of its kind anywhere. Rooms, which are simply furnished, vary in size and amenities, but ours were always quiet and comfortable. The basement-located restaurant serves simple breakfasts daily (included in the room price, excluding tip), and four-course prix-fixe dinners. Our first dinner there in February 2013 exceeded all expectations.

Room Tip: Some rooms on the higher floors (5, 6) offer nice city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
153 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

From the first time we stayed there 12 years ago, and every time since, we have enjoyed the unique European style and culture of this hotel. Having travelled to and stayed many time in France for business, this boutique hotel never fails to impress my wife and I. Small, quite old but very well kept and maintained right down to the cage type elevator.

If visiting on the weekend, we always make sure to reserve a table at the Joan d'Arc restaurant in the basement and their always enjoyable prix fix menu. It is like dining in a wing of a French museum. In our foursome, two had leg of lamp, one lamb chops and I had a salmon filet in an incredible sauce.

There are 3 room choices with the "smaller" room being quite small (and very economical for San Francisco) but then again, one does not go to the Heart of San Francisco to spend much time in their hotel room. Maids are very helpful, and tidy. Madame Lambert is the personality of the hotel, her french accent being most charming. Every floor (etage) of the hotel is named for a famous artist: Modigliani, Matisse, Chagall, Gauguin,Toulouse Lautrec with the first floor being devoted to Jeanne D’Arc. Each door to a room has an original artist painting on the hallway side. A nice little touch.

The hotel is conveniently located just steps west of the Powell Street cable car line on Bush Street two blocks north of Union Square. A full breakfast is included every day for guests and there is likely 50 restaurants within a 5 block walk of the hotel.

Highly recommended for those who enjoy small, european or french hotels with personal service, good food and convenient location.

Room Tip: Smaller rooms, while more economical, are filled with the queen size bed and a small desk and chair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phineasfogg25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Very Romantic place! Rooms here are a little pricier than some of the larger hotels, on weekends, anyway, but great for an anniversary splurge, etc.
They have a restaurant in the basement which is very good, with very good prices!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RomanticoYcheapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed at Cornell Hotel de France for 2 weeks and absolutely loved my stay. The rooms were really clean and the hotel was really quiet. The beds were very comfortable. The best part was the location which is very close to Union Square. I felt that I got great value for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CEM_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
70 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

The bed was excellent but there was often no hot water, the radiator made noises like it was being player like a bongo drum, the corridor is full of old mattresses and smells bad.

We were disappointed by the lack of French breakfast (sweet processed white toast instead of baguettes or croissants), the cheap conserves and lack of good cereal and fruit.

Surprised that noone speaks French!

We won't be coming back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Korshka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,060 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Marines Memorial Club Hotel
Marines Memorial Club Hotel
#10 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#8 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornell Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Hotel de France

Property: Cornell Hotel de France
Address: 715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cornell Hotel de France 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of San Francisco Discover the charm and elegance of France in the heart of downtown San Francisco at this family-owned and operated hotel, ideally placed within walking distance of vibrant Union Square. Cornell Hotel de France boasts an exceptional location close to many of the city's main points of interest. The theater district as well as the legendary Chinatown can be found only minutes from the hotel. The city's historic cable car system is also easily accessible and provides service to many areas of the city. Originally built in 1910, the Cornell combines old-world charm with today's modern amenities such as wireless internet access. Start the day with a free breakfast at the hotel's on-site renowned restaurant, Jeanne d'Arc. Admire prints of masterpieces from famous artists throughout the hotel. Union Square is a great choice for travelers interested in shopping, restaurants and city trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cornell Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing