We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Again a delightful stay at The Cornell Hotel de France” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cornell Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cornell Hotel de France
Ranked #23 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Again a delightful stay at The Cornell Hotel de France”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

In the hustle of these times we throughly enjoy the courtesy and ambiance of the hotel and it's staff. The touch of Europe is pleasant and the history of the hotel a bit inspiring and would encourage anyone to spend a few moments with Le Directeur to discuss his passion and decades of effort to resurect this hotel.
And a very pleasant treat is the decor, service and food downstairs in Le Resturante Jeanne d'Arc. I don't know of a better meal and better price in SF. Hat's off to the chef!!!

Room Tip: While I enjoy the cozy style of the "std"rooms most American's would probably prefer t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    766
    624
    118
    40
    27
See reviews for
209
853
100
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brown Deer, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I recently stayed at the Cornell Hotel (Dec 31 through Jan 12). I could not have been more at home in the big city, with the simple but filling daily breakfasts included in the room rate, the friendly and helpful room staff, the concierge support of the front desk, and the gourmet prix-fixe meals of the Jeanne D'arc restaurant on the lower level of the facility. The entire hotel/restaurant would easily qualify as a French art museum. Each floor is a tribute to a different French artist. I was on the Gauguin floor with wonderful prints hanging everywhere. The historic artifacts and tapestries in the restaurant would takes hours to totally review. Located a block from Nob Hill, you will quickly get used to walking hllls. However, the Cable Car stops just a few feet away and the views of the city are wonderful. The "small" room which I occupied was quite adorable and sufficient for one person. I would recommend something larger for two or more guests.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randall W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is one of the most charming hotels I've ever seen. It was clean, quiet and the people were wonderful. Great little restaurant serving an excellent breakfast. Very convenient location. We felt like we were in Paris. I would never stay any place else and continue to tell friends about this little gem.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed one night at the Cornell Hotel de France during a weekend shopping trip to San Francisco and it was great. The room was nice and clean, loved the claw foot bathtub and the staff were so very friendly. Breakfast was included as part of the room cost, so that was a nice bonus! Convenient parking and a great location close to Union Square. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at this three-star hotel for a quick overnight in the city this weekend. The rate was a little higher-than-usual with the holiday weekend, but we still only paid $184 for the room, including cooked breakfast and parking across the street. The charming 1910 Beaux Art hotel is located in the Nob Hill area, close enough to walk to Union Square, but with Uncle Vito's pizzeria, and some other less touristy local color in the area. The hotel celebrates all that is Francophone, from the Jeanne d'Arc medieval basement restaurant, to six floors of rooms, each named after a famous French painter. Our room itself was very clean and comfortable, somewhat spartan, with a lovely clawfoot tub in the bathroom. Free wifi is a plus, and if you're French-speaking, you'll actually be able to converse and get city visit tips from Madame Lambert, one of the owners. The only drawback was the length of time to check in, but there is complimentary tea and coffee with newspapers available in the lobby sitting area. This is a unique, special find in the city and we will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

My husband and i got really lucky and got the last room this charming hotel had open!
Small, boutique style, really charming little place! This is a european style hotel so the rooms are a little smaller than your normal hotel, but they make up for space in charm!

The hotel is in a great location and walking distance to union square!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mlc0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here after reading a few reviews and were very impressed. First of all it is very affordable for being so close to Union Square. I have stayed in a lot of hotels in the area, but I really liked the old world charm of this little hotel. It reminded me of my old apartment from years ago in SF, right down to the early elevator. Our room was facing the street and we didn't notice any street noise. The rooms are on the smaller side than other hotels, but that is part of the charm with staying in a true old San Francisco hotel. We went with a package deal that included parking, breakfast (plated french toast or eggs), and a 4 course dinner for 2 for only $210. The dinner was in the restaurant downstairs and it was amazing. The food was great and the service was excellent as well. We will be staying here again on our next visit!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cgwatkins80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,016 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,816 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,677 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#7 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornell Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Hotel de France

Property: Cornell Hotel de France
Address: 715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cornell Hotel de France 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of San Francisco Discover the charm and elegance of France in the heart of downtown San Francisco at this family-owned and operated hotel, ideally placed within walking distance of vibrant Union Square. Cornell Hotel de France boasts an exceptional location close to many of the city's main points of interest. The theater district as well as the legendary Chinatown can be found only minutes from the hotel. The city's historic cable car system is also easily accessible and provides service to many areas of the city. Originally built in 1910, the Cornell combines old-world charm with today's modern amenities such as wireless internet access. Start the day with a free breakfast at the hotel's on-site renowned restaurant, Jeanne d'Arc. Admire prints of masterpieces from famous artists throughout the hotel. Union Square is a great choice for travelers interested in shopping, restaurants and city trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cornell Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing