We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of France in San Francisco!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cornell Hotel de France
Ranked #26 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We had a very nice return stay, this is our third visit to the hotel. The rooms are simple, but immaculate and have everything that you would need, except a mirror in the bedroom. We appreciated being able to catch our breath in the little coffee and tea room near the lobby. A nice breakfast is included in the charming dining room. Now there is complimentary wi-fi, a good parking garage with a discounted rate of $24.00 and the hotel is only a few blocks from Union Square. The hotel restaurant is a pre fixe and very pleasant, and a good buy for $42 per person! I look forward to our return!...Patricia Berry-owner Buon Viaggio Travel, St. Helena Ca

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 998traveler1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,785)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,212 - 1,218 of 1,785 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2012

Loved this quaint little hotel. Perfect location near Union Square. An excellent experience from the start. Making our reservation with Marite was so easy and she was very knowledgeable and helpful. The owner was there to greet us upon arrival. We were given an upgraded room. The rooms are small, but very comfortable (the bed is super comfy)! Bathroom with Ball & Claw tub. Restaurant was fabulous, they have a great chef and very gracious wait staff. The room cost includes an American style breakfast. We took advantage of the Holiday Special, which was for one night and included parking, breakfast and dinner in the Jean d' Arc restaurant (the lamb was perfect and we even had a Gran Marnier Soufflé). We felt like we were in Europe...we may have been the only ones speaking English. We will definitely be back again and again. We live in Carmel and love to find the perfect little hotel wherever we travel to remind us of home...this is IT! I almost don't want to tell anyone else about this treasure, but obviously, I just have. I hope you enjoy this hotel as much as we did!

Room Tip: We had room 308, a back of the hotel corner room, which was fairly quiet. Hotel is heated via radiat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JoyceYates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Love this little Hotel! A little French Hotel around the corner from Union Square!!!Every one there is very nice.There is a wonderful Restaurant downstairs "Joan de Arc" Delicious French food for dinner. Good American breakfast included in the price of the room.I have stayed here a few times and will definitely stay her again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

My sisters and I meet every December in San Francisco for plays, walking tours and shopping. We have stayed at the Cornell for the last 15 years, and it is always wonderful. It is a quick walk to Union Square, Chinatown, theaters and the financial district. Parking and breakfast in the delightful restaurant downstairs is included. This year they have added a small cafe for free coffee and tea which is the perfect meeting place. The hotel is decorated beautifully with different French artists honored on each floor. The hoted seems to get better every year!

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter, as are the ones in the back. There are some street noises which quiet do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol32832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We loved staying here. The location is great, just above Union Square (but, to note, to access Union Square or any of the surrounding attractions and shopping, you must first travel down the steep hill the Cornell is located on...but that's easy...it's the walking back up the hill after a busy day out that can be taxing, especially with any bounty bought from the day...otherwise) and we loved our room and the morning breakfast. Be sure to arrive at breakfast as close to the starting time(s) as possible as the (smallish) restaurant forms a line later on into the latter part of the breakfast serving time range). Pulling your car over in front of the Cornell when checking in can be a challenge on busy Bush street, but we "got lucky" and unloaded and dropped our car off at the garage across the street (reduced rates for Cornell guest...of course, still pricey in San Francisco...). The property is clean and pleasantly atmospheric. We will be back.

Room Tip: We had a very pleasant and comfortable room on the 2nd floor in the front of the hotel and, yet, we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank calmpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We have stayed at the Cornell off and on since the mid 90's. We love San Francisco and it is near enough to visit often. The Cornell is in an great spot to see many of the local sites. It is an excellent location for the theater district, business district, China town, Nob Hill, shopping, Union Square, 'touristing' and to start a good 'city walk'. Don't be put off by the male nude review next door:) I am bouncing my review off "linsuelou3" review which goes into detail about the hotel, of which I completely agree.
As the other reviews proclaim the rooms are not large but the amenities and atmosphere take it way beyond noticing. After all, you are in San Francisco and you will want to be out in the beauty. The rooms are quite nice and very comfortable. Each floor is decorated with the art of a different French painter, for example the Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec floor, the Chagall floor and so on. The cable car picks up at the intersection a few steps from the front entrance. There is a parking garage across the street affiliated with the hotel. There are fancy restaurants, a pizza/pasta restaurant and a variety of prices and other choices within steps.
We love the basement breakfast room. It mentally places us back in Paris with the arches, decor and ambiance. It is also the evening restaurant Jeanne D'arc where you can have dinner or celebrate Bastille day in full regalia.
We still try other small hotels and occasionally large hotel 'deals' but always go back to the Cornell for known comfort, location and fun.
The hotel is on Bush St. which is a 'one-way' street and flat. Powell, the cross street, leads up two blocks to California St and UP is the word. Powell also leads down, steepley to Union Square and a little further on to the cable car turn-around, a fun walk down.
We begin our city walk from here going down to Union Square across to Maiden Lane where we like to get a bite of lunch on a sunny day outside. We continue thru to Stockton where we used to take in FAO Schwartz (no longer there) then up either thru the Stockton Garage elevator or up Grant st. to China Town. At the end of China town is Broadway, here we turn right to Kearny and left on Kearny up the stairs to Coit Tower/Telegraph Hill. These stairs are fairly shallow but there are many. At the top, wind your way up to the Tower and take in the sites. From here you can walk down the Filbert Stairs through gorgeous gardens, jungle and parrots to the Embarcadero or go down the other side to Lombard. Both are equally interesting. When you go to Lombard you will walk a very busy street several blocks to the incline of the crookedest street which is a beautiful street to walk up. At the top you are on Hyde St. where we turn left and head back to Nob Hill. It is all fairly level from here and there are many good restaurants sprinkled about on Hyde. San Francisco is a very small city as cities go for walking. There are areas you might want to take a bus or trolley to such as the Haight-Ashbury area then walk around. My husband and I walk this area and we are in our late 50's (I had polio and use an AFO) but we love the hills and the work-out. Give it a try and you will be surprised. Stop and rest now and then and have a chocolate or coffee. (take a small map with you)
Then come back to the Cornell knowing you have a nice evening ahead of you.

Room Tip: Rooms in front have street noise, however, offer a nice view out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nonexistent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is the second time I've stayed here for business and they take such great care of me each time. I feel safe enough to walk around for dinner even at night with the Hotel so close to many eating places.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room with the bay windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marcella O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,361 reviews
Union Square
Petite Auberge
Petite Auberge
#24 of 230 in San Francisco
1,552 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#7 of 230 in San Francisco
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
613 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornell Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Hotel de France

Address: 715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $127 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cornell Hotel de France 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of San Francisco Discover the charm and elegance of France in the heart of downtown San Francisco at this family-owned and operated hotel, ideally placed within walking distance of vibrant Union Square. Cornell Hotel de France boasts an exceptional location close to many of the city's main points of interest. The theater district as well as the legendary Chinatown can be found only minutes from the hotel. The city's historic cable car system is also easily accessible and provides service to many areas of the city. Originally built in 1910, the Cornell combines old-world charm with today's modern amenities such as wireless internet access. Start the day with a free breakfast at the hotel's on-site renowned restaurant, Jeanne d'Arc. Admire prints of masterpieces from famous artists throughout the hotel. Union Square is a great choice for travelers interested in shopping, restaurants and city trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cornell Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing