We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful stay in an inviting French setting.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cornell Hotel de France
Ranked #28 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I enjoyed a very pleasant one week stay at this charming hotel. The room was cottage/French decor-very clean, with a comfortable bed, big windows, claw foot bathtub/shower, no central air (not needed on our trip, fortunately). With our 1 week stay we received 4 free gourmet French meals (Tues.-Fri.) prepared by Pierre, our chef. The rack of lamb, and the orange grand marnier souffle' were favorites on the wonderful menu. Also included in our stay were full breakfasts (eggs any way you like, or French toast)-both very good and free daily! The cable car line is on the corner, making transportation to many destinations (Fisherman's Wharf, Chinatown, Lombard St.) a fun adventure. Talk to the visitor's center about passports that can be bought for different modes of travel throughout the city-three day or week long passports were available. The visitor's center was just around the corner from our hotel. The hotel's location was central to many tourist destinations-making a car necessary only to go to Muir Woods, Stinson Beach, and Pt. Reyes Lighthouse. A car would be needed to get to Sonoma or Napa Valley. Across the street parking was $24.00 day. Radiator heat the last day was noisy -(our only chilly day there). October was the perfect time of year to vist-warm days and not too cool mornings and nights. The Joan of Arc theme in the restaurant was interesting, inviting, colorful, cozy, and well known by locals who also frequented for dinner. Priced very reasonably- I will return some day and highly recommend to all.

Room Tip: First floor Rm. 107 was convenient. Radiator heat was noisy one night. A one time short duration of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheryl k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,766)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,229 - 1,235 of 1,766 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

To begin, we loved our stay at this gorgeous French, family-run hotel. Luckily we picked up the advertised package deal, 3 nights with breakfasts and dinners included in the very good price. Our room, 4th floor at the front, was delightful, typically French and had all that we needed. It was clean and comfy and a little quirky. So beautifully French, we loved it.
The cooked breakfasts wwere in the restaurant in the basement (very pleasant), and our beautiful dinners, prepared by the French chef, were excellent. And the souffle!!! Oh so delicious, and I wangled the recipe from the chef too!!
Our hosts were quiet and caring. It was just as though we were in a family run hotel in Paris.
(having experienced this in Paris, it was eerily similar).
Perfect position right near the corner of Bush and Powell Streets, transport at the door, easy walking to Union Square and shops for all needs. Actually the hotel was perfect for us in every way, and I have already spread the word to friends who are planning a trip to S.F.
If you are looking for a nice, quiet, comfortable hotel as opposed to the fancy, shiny and brilliantly lit, overpriced 5 star alternative.....then Hotel Cornell de France is a great choice.

Room Tip: The windows at the front are double glazed for temperature control and noise control.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights at this hotel. This French family run hotel was charmingly decorated with wall murals. A statue of the French patron saint" Joan de arc " stood in the doorway.The hotel was conveniently located near union square.Staff was courteous but not exceedingly helpful. Delicious breakfast was served at the tavern restaurant below the hotel. The bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taysiewhua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Hotel theme is middle ages; Jean d'Arc, run by French owners. Very different from any hotel I have ever stayed at, but nice. Hotel is located very close to Union Square. Valet parking is offered across the street from the hotel for only $21 + tax per day. This is "cheap" compared to other parking garages in the area charging between $30-40 per day! Didn't have a chance to use breakfast, because it was only served between 0730-0900 hrs. Would have been nice if breakfast would have been till 0930 or 1000 hrs.

Room Tip: Stayed in a double room on the 5th floor, backside. Quiet with the window closed. However, would n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frida68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed for three nights. We liked our stay at the hotel quite a lot. Staff was very accommodating and very nice. Room was small but pleasant. Breakfast was nice. Location is wonderful. Would recommend the hotel to other friends. It is very European. Don't know if our room was the best, as it was right at the front door, but it was not too noisy. Price is very reasonable in SF. My husband and I would definitely stay there on our next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adria t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in October 2012. Choice based on location and reasonable room charge compared with alternatives. The friendliness of our greeting on arrival was not typical of the average hotel but in character with the ambience and nationality of the staff. A complimentary breakfast was appreciated. Just a few minutes walk from the cable car and Union Square puts this hotel in a favoured position. We confirm the room was small but adequate for our needs and well serviced and maintained. Overall we decided this was a 'quaint' but enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackarthurAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in Sept 2012. Great Location, Great Price. Very clean. Small hotel and older style but well maintained. The room we had was a small room however was fine for the 2 of us. The free breakfast is great. Free Wifi. Close to Cable cars, Union Square, Powell St Bart. Would definitley stay here again when visitng San Fran.

Room Tip: We stayed at the back of the hotel. We had a window into a service duct however it was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 30daysinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,341 reviews
Union Square
Petite Auberge
Petite Auberge
#26 of 230 in San Francisco
1,542 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#8 of 230 in San Francisco
1,752 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornell Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Hotel de France

Address: 715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $116 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cornell Hotel de France 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of San Francisco Discover the charm and elegance of France in the heart of downtown San Francisco at this family-owned and operated hotel, ideally placed within walking distance of vibrant Union Square. Cornell Hotel de France boasts an exceptional location close to many of the city's main points of interest. The theater district as well as the legendary Chinatown can be found only minutes from the hotel. The city's historic cable car system is also easily accessible and provides service to many areas of the city. Originally built in 1910, the Cornell combines old-world charm with today's modern amenities such as wireless internet access. Start the day with a free breakfast at the hotel's on-site renowned restaurant, Jeanne d'Arc. Admire prints of masterpieces from famous artists throughout the hotel. Union Square is a great choice for travelers interested in shopping, restaurants and city trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cornell Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing