We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Trip to San Francisco in 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cornell Hotel de France
Ranked #22 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Harrodsburg, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our Trip to San Francisco in 2012”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Staying at Cornell Hotel de France on Bush Street in San Francisco added to the "charm" of our visit to this exciting city. The Cornell Hotel de France was decorated beautifully in oil paintings and even had oil pictures painted on the doors of each room and doorway. It was charming!!! Every floor featured the art work of a different French artist. Our room was big enough for two, cozy, and comfortable even with the antique bathtub which made the Hotel authenic and such a departure from the motels we usually stay in.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good. Very nearby is a theatre that I wish we had noticed sooner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    831
    666
    127
    42
    30
See reviews for
231
919
107
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bronxville, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Being that I researched and booked the hotel via surfing the net, I had trepidations of what the hotel would actually be like. I was delighted with the accommodations , staff, food, location and everything else that the hotel implies. I will return to San Francisco for an annual conference and plan on lodging at Cornell Hotel de France every time.

Room Tip: 6th floor that faced the street, quite and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgis, South Dakota, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed here at the end of August. It has a great location and the trolley is within only a few steps. The rooms are uniquely decorated and very cozy with a European flair. Breakfast is served in the lower level, was very good and the staff very friendly. We would highly recommend the Cornell~perfect location!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We met friends in San Francisco and staying at the Cornell made the week so special. The paintings decorating every inch were charming and every staff member from the office to the wait staff became our friends for the week. We will recommend this place to everyone we know! The location was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobpamrodey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovenia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed here at the end of July. We were very satisfied, redarding everything...breakfast was very good, room was quiet and cosy on very busy street (you should be on top floor).
We were pleasantly surprise how close was everything; even downtown.
I would recommend this hotel to everybody travelling to San Francisco. I will stay here next time for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MetaSlovenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed at the Cornell for four nights in August. I found the service to be extremely friendly, and the breakfast was good, too. Much more than expected, actually, as it wasn't just continental. As an example of the great service, I can provide the following: for the first two nights a friend stayed with me whose flight was delayed. We went to the pizza place across the street to order, and was planning to drink one of the bottles of wine we had obtained from a place in Sonoma. When Claude, one of the owners, saw us, he offered us a table in the as-yet-unfinished cafe near reception. While he kindly refused when we offered him a glass, he stayed to chat with us for a bit, and remembered us the following day as well. The hotel also will arrange an airport shuttle for you, if needed.

My room was on the 4th floor, and the window faced a shaft open to the sky, so it was very quiet in the room while still being quite sunny during the day. The room was small, but the bed was very comfortable. If I were to stay there again with a boyfriend I'd probably get a larger room, because it was quite tight with the luggage of two people, even though we didn't have a lot. For the second two nights, when I was there on my own, the room was the perfect size. I'm only marking it down a little bit because the shower was pretty tight, even though I'm a pretty small person, the maids had missed a bit of dusting, and there was no cable TV. Aside from those pretty minor things I was very happy with the hotel.

The hotel itself is near Union Square, and also near Market St. It's also within a longish walk to the Marina. There are many bus lines close by, and of course the Muni Rail and BART on Market St. The California and Powell cable car lines are also nearby. There are also a lot of restaurant and cafe options. I will definitely stay here again the next time I'm in San Francisco and need a hotel room. I wish I could give this hotel a 4.5 star rating.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street, since they are very quiet. If you have two people, you should p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UrbanTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed here because it was the only hotel I could find that didn't cost over $200/night in the union square area and the only place that had consistenly good reviews on-line. I was very pleasantly suprised at how close this is to union square (literally 2 blocks on the historic Powell street cable car line at bush street). The staff was very friendly and my room was clean and quite. Bed and pillow were a bit hard for my liking so didn't sleep great. decor is a bit dated but that is what gives this place it's charm. If you are accustomed to staying in the big fancy hotels this may not be the place for you. It was a quaint Bed and breakfast style accomidation that in my opinion was a great find for the area and price point. Didn't try breakfast so can't comment on the free breakfast. It is also very easily walkable to the powell St. BART stop (took me ~10 min with luggage) however there is a pretty good hill (as there are everywhere in SF) on the way there. Wireless worked great too. The area is safe and clean and it is easily accessible by public transport so what's not to like! Would defenetly stay here again and wouldn't hessitate to recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bo88yG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 229 in San Francisco
5,233 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,778 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#59 of 229 in San Francisco
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#9 of 229 in San Francisco
1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornell Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Hotel de France

Property: Cornell Hotel de France
Address: 715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cornell Hotel de France 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of San Francisco Discover the charm and elegance of France in the heart of downtown San Francisco at this family-owned and operated hotel, ideally placed within walking distance of vibrant Union Square. Cornell Hotel de France boasts an exceptional location close to many of the city's main points of interest. The theater district as well as the legendary Chinatown can be found only minutes from the hotel. The city's historic cable car system is also easily accessible and provides service to many areas of the city. Originally built in 1910, the Cornell combines old-world charm with today's modern amenities such as wireless internet access. Start the day with a free breakfast at the hotel's on-site renowned restaurant, Jeanne d'Arc. Admire prints of masterpieces from famous artists throughout the hotel. Union Square is a great choice for travelers interested in shopping, restaurants and city trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cornell Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing