We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cornell Hotel de France
Ranked #21 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
AUCKLAND
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great little hotel”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My son (14) and I stayed here in late June for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. More than a place to rest your weary bones (we had flown 11 hours) it is a great location with quaint (but small) rooms. Staff and owners are friendly and helpful, internet is fast and breakfast is the same everyday - which means it is great! Totally recommend as it is great value and you'll love it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PhoenixFlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    645
    122
    41
    30
See reviews for
220
887
103
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The owners were awesome and the place is completely charming. When I came down to breakfast at 9:30 - the time the stop serving - they were happy to serve me and made me feel welcome to my excellent breakfast. The rooms aren't much but the bed was comfy. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. The value is outstanding for SF. I felt like I was staying in Paris!

Room Tip: The owners were awesome and the place is completely charming. When I came down to breakfast at 9:30...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for only one night but we had an excellent experience! This hotel has so much character- the rooms are small but fitting with a hotel of this era. The complimentary breakfast was great and the service was beyond our expectations. Internet in the rooms was fast and there are a lot of great restaurants and shops nearby. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank StephAnieHDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahti
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel is really nice, clean, rooms are spacious enough and location is absolutely great. Breakfast is good - but during weekends be prepared to wait since it starts quite late and everyone is there waiting to be served at the same time. Reception people are ok and Noel the Manager Dog is really nice;)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FinnMale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Cornell for three nights arround the July 4th holiday. I read all the reviews on TripAdvisor and followed the advice offered. We had a medium size room on a higher floor in the back. Room 536 on the Etagere Matisse, or the Matisse floor, was perfect. We openned the windows at night and had a lovely breeze with minimal noise. The bathroom was large and roomy. The cable cars do start early in the morning, but this did not bother me (I do use ear plugs when I travel). The hotel is charming and in an excellent location. Each floor is named after an Impressionist artist and has framed prints as well as miniatures hand painted on each door. The elevator has a sliding, accordion door like you see in the old hotels in Europe. The most charming part is the restaurant downstairs where you have breakfast or a fixed price dinner. The decor is renaissance France with stone walls that have hand painted vignettes all around, pictures of Joan of Arc, old tools and artifacts tastefully placed to compliment the decor and French music! Breakfast was eggs or French toast. Eggs come with two any style, a peice of bacon, two pieces of toast, hashbrowns, fresh fruit juice and tea/coffee. Sabine, the owners daughter, waited on us both days. The day time manager was Louis who was very helpful with ideas and directions. We loved this hotel and will go back on our next trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Thacher28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Overall this was a lovely property with helpful management. The Queen room was small, but clean. However, the window in the bathroom which opened to an alley (we were on the ground floor) would not lock and therefore was a bit worrisome. The big draw back, however, was that we were jolted awake at 6:30am by what sounded like a flood of water in our bathroom, but turned out to be the water heater. It continued for a half hour, and was spouting hot air into our room. With no one at registration until 7:30 we did not have anyone to contact with our concerns.

I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cait F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We always stay at the Cornell hotel when going to San Francisco, at least twice a year . We love its location (close to Union Square) and the charm of its rooms and bathrooms (comfortable beds). Everything is very clean and the windows open easily. We particularly recommend the 5th and 6th floor for a quiet night. If you come by car the parking across the street is very convenient and safe. And the complementary breafast varied and satifying. The experience is most enjoyable.

Room Tip: Top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Francoise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,123 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Marines Memorial Club Hotel
Marines Memorial Club Hotel
#10 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#8 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornell Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Hotel de France

Property: Cornell Hotel de France
Address: 715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cornell Hotel de France 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of San Francisco Discover the charm and elegance of France in the heart of downtown San Francisco at this family-owned and operated hotel, ideally placed within walking distance of vibrant Union Square. Cornell Hotel de France boasts an exceptional location close to many of the city's main points of interest. The theater district as well as the legendary Chinatown can be found only minutes from the hotel. The city's historic cable car system is also easily accessible and provides service to many areas of the city. Originally built in 1910, the Cornell combines old-world charm with today's modern amenities such as wireless internet access. Start the day with a free breakfast at the hotel's on-site renowned restaurant, Jeanne d'Arc. Admire prints of masterpieces from famous artists throughout the hotel. Union Square is a great choice for travelers interested in shopping, restaurants and city trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cornell Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing