We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scary Wake-Up Call!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cornell Hotel de France
Ranked #24 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Atherton, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Scary Wake-Up Call!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Overall this was a lovely property with helpful management. The Queen room was small, but clean. However, the window in the bathroom which opened to an alley (we were on the ground floor) would not lock and therefore was a bit worrisome. The big draw back, however, was that we were jolted awake at 6:30am by what sounded like a flood of water in our bathroom, but turned out to be the water heater. It continued for a half hour, and was spouting hot air into our room. With no one at registration until 7:30 we did not have anyone to contact with our concerns.

I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cait F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    796
    644
    122
    41
    28
See reviews for
219
885
102
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We always stay at the Cornell hotel when going to San Francisco, at least twice a year . We love its location (close to Union Square) and the charm of its rooms and bathrooms (comfortable beds). Everything is very clean and the windows open easily. We particularly recommend the 5th and 6th floor for a quiet night. If you come by car the parking across the street is very convenient and safe. And the complementary breafast varied and satifying. The experience is most enjoyable.

Room Tip: Top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Francoise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Jose-Luis did a fabulous job! We had last minute changes to our travel plans. He was helpful and accommodating. From reservation to check out, this was a great experience. The hotel is oozing with charm. We were on a tight budget and this was a great value that provided all that we needed with excellent service. The location was perfect. I will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brown Deer, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I have stayed at this location for many years on my trips to San Francisco, initially on business and now for leisure. The rooms are small but adequate, very European. The staff is the best. They made me feel like family. Breakfast (included in the room price) is quite good. Two blocks on way from Nob Hill and two blocks the other way from Union Square. Perfect location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Randall W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Overall, we'd stay again. But .... our junior was small. I had to place my things in the smaller bedroom and change clothers in there. The air was stuffy, making it hard to sleep the first two nights - we finally opened the windows. The location was stupendous - Powell-Hyde cable car a few steps away. Free, hot breakfast was a nice touch. Overall? A good value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnSAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Sadly this hotel is quite nice, however I stayed in room 200 and was infected with huge bed bugs! I woke up one morning to see a full size bed bug. . . I traveled back home to Texas and now I'm covered in bites and my home appears to be infected :(

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Vince C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

From the small paintings on the walls to the excellent full breakfast, I was impressed by this hotel. The prices are very reasonable, the location excellent (close to everything but not so close that it is noisy) and the staff are friendly and helpful. This will always be the place I stay in San Francisco.

Room Tip: It takes a little while for the water to get hot in the shower, but be patient, its coming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NancyPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,109 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Marines Memorial Club Hotel
Marines Memorial Club Hotel
#10 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#8 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornell Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Hotel de France

Property: Cornell Hotel de France
Address: 715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cornell Hotel de France 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of San Francisco Discover the charm and elegance of France in the heart of downtown San Francisco at this family-owned and operated hotel, ideally placed within walking distance of vibrant Union Square. Cornell Hotel de France boasts an exceptional location close to many of the city's main points of interest. The theater district as well as the legendary Chinatown can be found only minutes from the hotel. The city's historic cable car system is also easily accessible and provides service to many areas of the city. Originally built in 1910, the Cornell combines old-world charm with today's modern amenities such as wireless internet access. Start the day with a free breakfast at the hotel's on-site renowned restaurant, Jeanne d'Arc. Admire prints of masterpieces from famous artists throughout the hotel. Union Square is a great choice for travelers interested in shopping, restaurants and city trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cornell Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing