We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cornell Hotel de France
Nearby Hotels
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$203
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$239
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$225
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$338
$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kimpton Buchanan(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$217
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
$418
$254
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$279
$237
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
$215
$210
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,867)
Filter reviews
1,867 results
Traveler rating
925
730
133
48
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
925
730
133
48
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjeanne d'arcfrench hotelbasement restaurantfrench themeclaw foot tubdifferent french artisthand paintedfrench toast or pancakesunion squarecharming hotelbush and powellsmall hotelcable carhot breakfastbreakfast was includedtwo blockspowell st
Filter
Updating list...
1,439 - 1,444 of 1,867 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for two nights in our trip to San Francisco and the major reason for us to choose this hotel was its location and reasonable price. We thought that the size of the room won’t be a problem, since we only use the hotel for a good night sleep. But as everyone has already mentioned, the rooms were really really tiny. It was the smallest hotel room that you can imagine: Two people cannot stand in the same side of the bed and there is almost no place to put your luggage. The furniture in the room was too old (just like the rest of the hotel) and I could not find anything about them to be described as “cozy”. The reception staff was not available 24 hrs and the breakfast was also awful. The only good thing about this place is its proximity to the Union Square (only two blocks away) and there is the Powell Street cable car just at the corner. You may stay at this hotel only if you are planning to use the hotel only for bed&shower, but I am sure you can find a better place in this price with some more search.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gulberk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

A very enjoyable staff in the front office and restaurant Jeanne d'Arc. Lovely quiet rooms with simplicity at it's peak and very comfortable bed. A full breakfast was a great way to start a San Francisco day without fussing for coffee and a bite to eat. Meeting the owner was delightful as well as I can see he is keeping watch over his lovely hotel and restaurant.

The restaurant is a huge salute to Jeanne d'Arc - and the food is delicious. The souflée was outstanding, as was the chocolate moose - and the entire meal from salad through filet mignon and pepper steak were joyous delights. La Cuisine - c'est magnifique ! What do we mean by a high salut to J. d'aAc? Statues, paintings galore encourage your eyes to wander around the dining room seeing what nooks and crannies might be hiding an old steam iron for pressing clothing...or other antiques delightfully placed throughout the hotel.

One key delight - the elevator. No more needs to be said until you see it with your own eyes.

The staff went out of their way to help us with a tight schedule for dinner, and we will return - even though we live within commuting distance of San Francisco.

Room Tip: Some rooms have tiny windows, some rooms have street windows and Bush Street in SF can be busy durning the day as it is a main artery. It won't matter regarding quietness so much at night. Not really a "view" hotel, so catch your views on the Cable Cars - just a few blocks for loading.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Promenades C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Hotel is clean, good service, great location, reasonable price. Good vallue.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We recently stayed two nights in the Cornell. The pros: Half the price of other hotels in the area. Within walking distance of China Town. A cable car route at the corner, in the heart of the financial district. Nice restaurant on the premises. Full breakfast included. Lots of pubs, restaurants within easy walking distance. The Cons: Surly owners/staff. Homosexual strip club virtually next door. Small crowded rooms, questionable room security.

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for two nights and for our purposes it was totally adequate. We were there to see the city and not stay in a hotel room except to sleep. For some reason after checkin the host and hostess turned somewhat surly. My wife was berift to tip money while I was parking the car in the garage across the street (be prepared for an additional $22 a night parking fee paid to the hotel). We tipped the host who had helped my wife with the bags up the 1930's vintage elevator. Notice, the elevator is a finger hazard as the inner gate is the expandable sissor type gate and kids especially might be at risk of losing a finger. We tipped him later, but the damage seemed to have been done. It didn't help, that I reported that the windows did not lock and these opened onto a external fire escape...not a good thing if you are leaving valuables like a laptop in your rooms. WiFi was available but pretty slow. There was no A/C to speak of, so being able to open the windows after a shower was a necessity, but you couldn't get them to lock afterwards.

The presence of the Gay Male review club next door didn't bother us much, no noise and we were back in our rooms before the action started. I mean action, because the morning sidewalk was littered with open condom wrappers...you know those crazy, zany gay guys...when you got to get some, you it doesn't matter where. I would recommend this place if you want a nice clean place to stay for a reasonable price. I got a kick out of the Fracophile decor...featureing medieval battle scenes, Joan of Arc and other classics. The breakfast was a one size fits all, eggs your style, bacon and toast. Cereal was self served. The Chinese gals serving were a bit out of place, since they slung plates like they had just been hired out of a chinese diner somewhere in the tenderloin. Watch for flying coffee and OJ. Enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Back side is quieter, but a street side might give you a better view of the gay bar action...lol.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hisey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis R, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Dear Sir,

We read your comments with interest. We are in the process of upgrading our web site and shall give more details about our hotel, which, will answer some of the points that you made. (Parking, security, elevator, location & size of rooms, AC, theme of the hotel ).

But right now we can address three issues :
---The gentleman who treated you poorly, does not work with us anymore.
--There is a gay theater mid- block on Bush Street but it keeps a low profile, no customers of ours has been bothered and we never had to complain.
---We may be the only small hotel in San Francisco or even in the bay area to offer a full breakfast to our guests .... in our beautiful restaurant Jeanne d' Arc..This breakfast is brought to the table by two nice waitresses who at times may be " very busy" but would not " throw any plates" and the coffee... does not fly. ! ! In our new web site it will be specified (apparently you did not read our note) that breakfast is not part of the room price but generously offered by Cornell Hotel de France.

Mr. Hisey I send you my best regards and thank you again for giving us the opportunity to clarify some important points.. for you or future customers.

Claude Lambert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We stayed in room 602, and it was a delightful room, decorated with lovely floral print wall paper and white wicker furniture. We loved the charm and character of the hotel. It was like stepping back in time when things were simpler and more relaxed. It was so inviting and much more enjoyable than the large chain hotels. The bed was very comfortable and the sheets and duvet were extemely soft. There was a large flat screen TV mounted on the wall opposite the bed. Our window opened to the east of Powell street and we could hear the cable cars at night which we enjoyed. We loved, loved, loved the large claw-footed tub! We were only a hop, skip and a jump from the cable car stop, and that was a big plus. The complimentary breakfasts in the morning were great and we always had plenty to eat. The staff was pleasant and helpful. We enjoyed our stay very much and will stay there again. We usually like to try different places when we travel, but we enjoyed this particular hotel so much, we will definitely return here again.

Room Tip: I would probably ask for a room with a window because the cool air is so nice for sleeping. And on a higher floor, there is less noise so the window can stay open without too much disturbance.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Candace H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews