We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cornell Hotel de France
Ranked #25 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
LaPorte, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We first chose the Cornell Hotel because of its location to the BART Powell St Station, and it is only a few doors from Powell St Cable car main route. The price was very reasonable, the Hotel very similar to those we stayed while in Europe. Our room was very small, however everything we needed was there. A very clean room with a nice comfortable bed, flat screen TV, very few stations but did not go to San Francisco to watch TV, and the bathroom too was very small but very clean and nice, clean tile shower. Every employee we met was very helpful, the breakfast to start the day was perfect. The quaintness of the Hotel, loved the elevator, added to our trip! We stayed 5 nights and would choose this Hotel again if returning to San Francisco. It was enjoyable to stay in a Hotel that looked a little different. All of the employees were very helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: If room size is important, choose one of the listed larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerryR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis R, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
"Merci" beaucoup for your nice comments It is a reward for everybody working in our hotel .
With our regards

Claude Lambert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    808
    653
    122
    41
    30
See reviews for
222
896
105
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

For a fair price the service was outstanding. IThe hotel is very close to Union Square and Chinatown and within minutes from Moscone Convention Center.

Room Tip: Very courteous and professional staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis R, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Great was our pleasure to read that you liked the way you have been treated by our staff... Thank you very much for your nice comment..
Best regards.

Claude Lambert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Always with trepidation do you step over the threshold,it can make or break a dream.Nothing to worry it was great hotel,good reception,lift to the 4th floor front,pleasant room and bathroom,good nights sleep good breakfast and excellent location.Mind you it's a bit uphill but there is public transport.Now if you want a beer or wine with super spagetti then Uncle Vito's opposite is brill.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petershropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

how were we to know there would be a heat wave mid-October? But, there was , and altho there were ceiling fans and working windows, it was a hot, hot one-night stay. We checked out a day early and went to a big downtown hotel. It is quaint,and cheap, but the rooms are tiny to the point of discomfort. There is a cute little restaurant downstairs that serves breakfast(included). The staff was very helpful, and printed our boarding passes. The neighborhood is central to most things, and a block from the cable car. but- CAVEAT:if you are a family, be forewarned that there is a gay nightclub next door, and this includes an adult "toy store" that is open to the sidewalk. So if your kids want to giggle at the array of butt-plugs on display, this is the place for you. Probably no return stay in our future.

Room Tip: away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgbnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbelltown, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Thought i was in France. A reception "salon" instead of a desk, a very quaint elevator and each floor themed with a different French artist. Also well located around the corner from Powell and cable car, plus an easy walk (downhill) to Union Square and the BART (best way to get to and from airport for only $8.10). Free wifi in room and free breakfast in the restaurant in the basement.
Downside: small (but well appointed) room, front door locked at 11pm (don't lose your key), breakfast times too late if you want to get an early start on the day, no air conditioning (in Rm 207).
Upside: great value for money, good location, amazing staff. Recommend a visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank takemetotheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, Carpinteria
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

My husband had to go to a conference in SF, and pretty much everything was booked around Moscone Center and Union Square, so he found Cornell Hotel de France.

Needless to say, he experienced the hotel longer than I did. And it did feel like we were back in Paris for my short two nights.

I got a point out though that I do travel with my 2 small dogs. And it was a bit deceiving, when they have on their website the fact that they have Noel, a golden retriever, as a greeter.

I really don't have much to say about the hotel; except that, they don't have the do not disturbed signs. Which is inconvenient when you wanna sleep long, and you have to yell out the door: Do not disturbed!

The hotel is clean freak approved, and it has only showers no bath tubs. The bathrooms are as big as the bedrooms. In other words, very very small (even for French standards).

If you don't mind the size I give it a go, and of course if you don't have pets, but like to pet other people's dogs, then is okay too.

I hear breakfast is good, eggs any way you want, but you do have to tip.

Room Tip: 305 room has no view but to another building's wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chiquibabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
347 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Having been in Paris in October 2011, I was amazed to find this french themed hotel in San Francisco. It is simply a great hotel in a very convenient location near the Market and Powell Cable Car (just metres away) and near Union Square, Chinatown and just a ride from Fisherman's Wharf. This is a great spot to wander around San Francisco and enjoy the sights. The hotel is very comfortable, the breakfasts good and the hosts extremely pleasant and very accommodating. A pleasure to be in this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nigel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 228 in San Francisco
5,157 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#13 of 228 in San Francisco
2,749 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#9 of 228 in San Francisco
1,691 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#51 of 228 in San Francisco
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornell Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Hotel de France

Property: Cornell Hotel de France
Address: 715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cornell Hotel de France 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of San Francisco Discover the charm and elegance of France in the heart of downtown San Francisco at this family-owned and operated hotel, ideally placed within walking distance of vibrant Union Square. Cornell Hotel de France boasts an exceptional location close to many of the city's main points of interest. The theater district as well as the legendary Chinatown can be found only minutes from the hotel. The city's historic cable car system is also easily accessible and provides service to many areas of the city. Originally built in 1910, the Cornell combines old-world charm with today's modern amenities such as wireless internet access. Start the day with a free breakfast at the hotel's on-site renowned restaurant, Jeanne d'Arc. Admire prints of masterpieces from famous artists throughout the hotel. Union Square is a great choice for travelers interested in shopping, restaurants and city trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cornell Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing