We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No, you aren't in Paris - you are in San Francisco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cornell Hotel de France
Ranked #23 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No, you aren't in Paris - you are in San Francisco”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Altho it looks and sounds like you may be in Paris you are actually at the wonderful small hotel on Bush Street built in 1910 and has been beautifully updated. The Cornell Hotel is run by a family originally from France and they brought the music, atmosphere and charm to us here in America. A generous breakfast is served every morning by a delighful staff in a dining room that you will not see anywhere else in the world.

It is within walking distance (3 blocks) to Union Square and the Powell Street cable car is just at the corner. Altho close to all the hubub the rooms are quiet and comfortable.

When we were waiting for shuttle to the airport the owner sat down to chat with us. I mentioned not seeing their dog "Noel" so he was sent out to greet us. I have stayed there many times and would recommend to any good friend. It is a treat everytime.

Room Tip: All rooms I have stayed in there are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank singlelatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    644
    122
    41
    28
See reviews for
220
885
102
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

This hotel is located just a few steps away from Powell St. and the wonderful cable cars. It is however, a very old looking hotel, maybe a boardinghouse in a previous life. The room was a little surprising it was very small and although it was clean, it is very dated. The room has a very small bathroom with a claw foot tub/shower. It had all the basics, bed, lights, TV and towels. The walls were a bit thin, could hear the man singing in the shower in the next room. Since this was our first trip to San Francisco, we were out of the hotel quite a bit, but for the money did expect a little more. The big plus for the hotel is the staff very helpful and friendly. The advertised breakfast on the hotel website was for an "american breakfast", unfortunately this fell short. On two of the three mornings we went down for breakfast, heard a few fellow diners ask if they could pay to get more food. Breakfast consisted of either 4 half slices of french toast (it was good though) or eggs with a smidgen of hash browns, toast and a slice of bacon. You did get a glass of orange juice and tea or coffee. The lady managing the breakfast was very efficient, but a little hard to understand. One of the reasons this hotel came on my radar, was the fact they had an advertised full breakfast. Would have picked one with a continental offering if I had known what they really offered. We are not big eaters, but even for us the offering was slim. Thought it would be a good idea to get breakfast at the hotel to start off the day. I'm disappointed it did not come close to what I expected and read about.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Di R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We just spent another comfortable visit to the Cornell Hotel de France in San Francisco's French Quarter. This ideally located hotel has been the mainstay home for our semi-annual culture and shopping visits to our favorite California city. The French provincial decor, quaint Jean de Arc basement restaurant, friendly, accommodating owners and staff, access to the Powell St. cable car line are just several of the reasons we never consider anywhere else when in San Francisco. This reasonably priced establishment is within a few blocks of Union Square, the main shopping district, live theaters, and easy walking distance to some of the best restaurants and attractions in the city.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeMnfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

When we decided to add a San Francisco stop to our holiday and began looking for a hotel we became totally bamboozled. Every hotel seemed to have comments like "it's old, what can you expect in SF" or "beware of the homeless" etc. So armed with all this knowledge choosing a hotel was a nightmare and we imagined San Francisco to be not the sought after destination that we'd imagined. So, after many hours searching we finally settled on the Cornell and kept our fingers crossed.
What a pleasant surprise was we got to find such a delightful hotel, more the atmosphere one would expect in a B&B, friendly and personal.
The hotel is old but the owners have done a good job of cleaning it up and putting their own (French) stamp on it. Our room was more than adequate, comfortable bed and good bathroom and although smallish plenty of room to move around and most importantly, very clean.
The included breakfast was more than we expected and the staff, well we thought they were just so very nice. There is also an evening meal available, a set menu and price. Although we didn't eat there as we eat our main meal in the middle of the day we spoke to others who sang praises and the quote was" San Francisco's most hidden treasure"
Position wise the hotel is central to Union Sq and China town. An easy walk. The homeless weren't a problem at all.
All up, we would stay here again if we were lucky to visit the beautiful city of San Francisco again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank telmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed two nights in semi transit to LA to return to Australia. This is a hotel we stayed at last year (see review of 7Nov10) and so we came back.

The hotel provides a great location to get around SF and once you know the Muni system etc it's easy.

The facilities are very good and rooms comfortable, although the smaller rooms can be little cosy.

We would have liked tea or coffee in the room or a central point at which to go for it. Instead our enquiry was politely dealt with by a referral to the kitchen staff to see if they would co-operate. We had a fallback plan!

WiFi was unreliable but we muddled through and maintained our holiday blog.

Breakfast was a treat again. The server in the morning is so bright and cheerful that your day must start off well. Food is great and there is sufficient for a good start to your day. Listen carefully as the accent is a bit strong but then our accent is probably as difficult!

There are some good restaurant options close by if you don't want the 4 course option in Jeanne D'Arc restaurant.

The only killer is that walk up Powell St from Sutter to Bush!

We'll stay here again if we get to visit SF again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petsaloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Love the food in the artful restaurant, Jeanne D'Arc. There was a violinist that played for us at our table, which was such a nice touch!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marianotari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2011

My partner and I stayed here in mid-September 2011 for two nights. Our room was located at the back of the hotel and was very clean, roomy and quiet. It was well appointed with toiletries, etc. The staff were very good and very accommodating particulary when we arrived and requested a second night (which we hadn't previously booked).

I did struggle a little with understanding the breakfast staff but I put that down to being an Aussie.

Overall we had a lovely stay and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Request a room towards the back of the hotel as I believe they would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanelleBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,111 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Marines Memorial Club Hotel
Marines Memorial Club Hotel
#10 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#8 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornell Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Hotel de France

Property: Cornell Hotel de France
Address: 715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cornell Hotel de France 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of San Francisco Discover the charm and elegance of France in the heart of downtown San Francisco at this family-owned and operated hotel, ideally placed within walking distance of vibrant Union Square. Cornell Hotel de France boasts an exceptional location close to many of the city's main points of interest. The theater district as well as the legendary Chinatown can be found only minutes from the hotel. The city's historic cable car system is also easily accessible and provides service to many areas of the city. Originally built in 1910, the Cornell combines old-world charm with today's modern amenities such as wireless internet access. Start the day with a free breakfast at the hotel's on-site renowned restaurant, Jeanne d'Arc. Admire prints of masterpieces from famous artists throughout the hotel. Union Square is a great choice for travelers interested in shopping, restaurants and city trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cornell Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing