We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COMFORT INN BY THE BAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Ranked #96 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed two nights. OK, but not great. We thought their free breakfast would be really good, but it was just ok. The rooms were good, comfortable and fine for short visits like ours. Not far from the water, which is good for us since we are not long or short distance walkers. All down hill from the Comfort Inn to the ocean. Close enough to walk to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39.

Lorries shuttle from the airport to the Inn and back works well and priced better than taxi's.

Would recommend staying for short stays and if you are not expecting a 4/5 star location.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: Most rooms have views of the bay, but not all. Ask before you check in. Usually the upgrade cost a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOHN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

459 - 465 of 1,177 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2013

Stayed there for 4 nights and thought the hotel was ok, good size rooms but nothing too great. The location was ok but I was there for tourism and would've rather stayed somewhere closer to town or fishermans wharf

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Mystic79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed here for two nights after a week long conference in the city. The hotel is quite conveniently located within walking distances to the bus and cable car (steep up hill to catch cable car to downtown SF but easy walk downhill vice versa). We were able to walk to the fisherman wharf as well in under 20 min on a nice day. The room was a bit outdated, but beds were comfortable. The bathroom was small and wasn't thoroughly cleaned since i noticed a piece of hair still clinged to the wall by the dryer. The cleaning staffs should be more thorough with their cleaning. For the price that we were paying, this was decent since it also included a sufficient selection for quick breakfast.

The hotel staffs were all amazingly friendly. They were able to give us precise directions and also helped us to arrange a shuttle to the airport. Now the downside, we stayed at the end of hallway on the second floor and the wifi connection was pretty much non-existent. Even though there were supposed to be 4-5 connecting networks available, we weren't able to connect any of them.

Room Tip: If you are willing to pay for an upgrade, ask for room facing the bay area and on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cookiedoughy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Can I just say Comfort Inn by the Bay was the perfect location for our getaway. My spouse and I drove from where we were staying in Las Vegas to San Francisco to attend the 18th Annual Ghirardelli Chocolate Festival. The hotel was within walking distance to the Festival. Neither of us ever visited San Francisco, so we were a bit annoyed to find that we had to pay for parking ($25.00 located underneath the hotel, very small area made for small vehicles). Believe me we looked for parking, which proved futile. We ponyed up the $25.00 and checked in. Glad we did on our walk to view the San Francisco Bridge, we noticed a vehicle broken into. Who needs the headache. Staff was helpful, (best way to pick up the trolley, etc). Breakfast was typical for this type of lodging, a bit more spacious to accomodate the hotel guests. Room was clean. Our time was short in San Francisco, but if you stay longer ask for a room facing the front of the hotel. We had an awful view of backs of buildings.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a street view (front of hotel or facing the bay).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happy-In-Vegas-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I booked thru hotel website for $80/nite+tax for a 1 queen bed room. The location is good, staff was friendly, hotel is clean, the room is cozy, the bed is reasonable, the hot breakfast was better than most similar level hotels. I've seen some members complain about the parking, it's small and expensive, but that's the way it is over there, tell me what else is not expensive in SF? Some even complained about the breakfast, dude..it's all wrong. Slow wifi? they have 5 APs just find one that works faster, besides 4G LTE coverage all over the hotel.

Room Tip: if you are absolutely sure, you may book thru hotel website and pay for prepaid rate, which is not r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ken240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I was staying there for a running race, so I got a group rate. It was very quiet. The room was okay, a little outdated though. The parking (like everything in SF) was horrendous. It is in a garage under the hotel. If you have an SUV, it is very hard to navigate; it is very small and narrow. They do have breakfast, but I had to leave early and didn't get to try it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MicheleDahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Has the basic, peaceful place, excelent ubication 15 min from the bay and 5 to ghirardelli place, ver y celan place. Nice people and the breakfast is simple and the basic nothing more
Rooms are clean with the basic to sleep, internet its kind of slow
The best if u want a place to sleep a near the bay

Room Tip: No great view so any room its ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adric2099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#86 of 230 in San Francisco
610 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#108 of 230 in San Francisco
1,046 reviews
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#50 of 230 in San Francisco
2,280 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Marina District
Travelodge by the Bay
Travelodge by the Bay
#11 of 53 in San Francisco
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn by the Bay

Address: 2775 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-1497
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $149 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn by the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn® By the Bay is conveniently located off U.S. 101, near Fisherman's Wharf, the San Francisco Marina Yacht Harbor, Fort Mason Center, Union Street and Lombard Street, the World's Crookedest Street. This San Francisco, CA hotel is close to popular attractions, including AT&T Park, the Golden Gate Bridge, San Francisco Chinatown and the San Francisco Civic Center Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn by the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn By The Bay Hotel San Francisco
Comfort Inn San Francisco
Comfort Inn Bay San Francisco
San Francisco Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing