We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Ranked #106 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good choice for downtown”
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights. Chose this location because it was a reasonable rate (reasonable for SF) and fairly good location. We paid a little more for top floor/GG bridge view, and it was worth it! Sat at window the first night and watched sunset at the bridge. Room was just average, nothing special, but clean and met expectations. Blankets and bed sheets had holes in them and need to be replaced. Only food options in hotel itself was breakfast buffet. It was to last until 9:30, and it was completely UP by then. Eggs and sausage patties were not great, but rest was acceptable, and there were a lot of choices. Parking was $25 a day, and TIGHT! However they did let us keep our car past checkout for a few hours, and not having to look for and pay for MORE parking was greatly appreciated.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank suave1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    497
    294
    89
    57
See reviews for
314
388
45
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Averill Park, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Chose this hotel for its location for our 4 nights in San Francisco. We stayed in a suite - plenty of room to spread out. Very clean. This may sound like an insignificant feature - but when traveling with more than one person - nice back up - there were locked men's and women's rooms on our room floor accessible only with a room key for that floor. (Obviously in addition to bathroom in suite) Takes some of the hassle out of getting a group on the road in the morning!! Staff very nice.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneZS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed here for a good central location to all SF area site seeing plans. Hotel gets it done. It's a very good option with nothing fancy but a good clean, comfortable hotel. Nice rooms with a friendly staff, and really good breakfast. Get the 3 days area transportation pass and you can go all over the place for $22.00 pp. Bus pick up right out your front door, and from there head to fishermen's wharf. Grab the street car's or other SF mass transit options and go.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve60000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here over a weekend in late October 2013 at the end of a six week family vacation in the USA before returning to New Zealand. In terms of comfort and quality this accommodation was the worst on our trip - sadly - but it wasn't all bad. While the hotel is tired and dated the location is good, with MUNI links along Van Ness Boulevard, and down to Fishermans' Wharf. Only a 6-8 min walk (or quick cab ride) to Cow Hollow and some great bars & restaurants. Hotel breakfast was good - lots to eat & drink - no complaints. Staff were helpful and efficient - no complaints. We stayed on Level 2 in an 'accessible' one bedroom suite (King size bed plus pull out sofa) with a distant view of the Golden Gate bridge. The suite was basic but functional. Traffic noise from Lombard Street and fog horns booming all night made for a bad night's sleep on Friday however Saturday night was quieter. King size bed was comfortable but the pull out sofa bed was terrible. Springs were poking out all over and the blankets provided were threadbare with holes - unacceptable. However, taking into account the reasonable rate which included breakfast, we think the hotel represented fair value given the expensive hotel rates in SF. If you stay here we suggest you book a suite with two queen beds - and don't sleep on the pull out sofa!!

Room Tip: Don't expect a good night's sleep on a pull out sofa in this hotel - they are terrible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranBoNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
60 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This hotel was our last chance to get something decent closer to fishermen's wharf and at a decent price for SF. Accommodation in SF comes at an outrageous price. After reading the reviews I expected very low quality but in reality the hotel is an a good shape. It's true that the interior design makes you feel in the 80s, luckily the LCD TV in the room made us feel towards the 2000s. Anyway, the room was nice and clean. No view. They advertise Golden Bridge view but that's a different type of room which comes at extra cost. We did not care about the view.

In terms of room and cleanliness you can rest assured. All good.
Now, there are some annoyances which you must be prepared to face:

- in room safe comes at a cost. 2 dollars/day. It was for the first time I was asked to pay for this. The interesting part is that you pay in advance and if you don't use it you can get the money back. A dodgy way to earn extra bucks I would say.
- breakfast is a disappointment. Apart from make-your-own-waffle service which is nice, you get frozen junk food, low quality coffee and not too much diversity. Thumbs down for the food.

You might want to go for this hotel as it is fairly close to Fishermen's wharf, maybe 15 mins walk. Anyway, all the hotels closer to the wharf come at a very high price... your choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DragosJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

great location, about 10min walk to fishermans wharf. Nice, clean and spacious room with a great view of the golden great bridge. shame about the staff at the reception desk. Not helpful at all. we asked them if they could call us a taxi one night and they said that they had so we waited outside for about 20 minutes. when we went back inside to enquire they casually told us that the taxi company had called back to say they weren't coming about 10mins ago and they hadn't bothered telling us or calling another one. eva and sarah seemed like it was always too much trouble for them to answer any questions and provided us with no help at all. Alex was friendly when we checked out. This is a great place to stay if you are well prepared and have done your own research. breakfast was good, plenty of variety.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saimaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 5 nights. We were given a spacious room overlooking the bay and (eventually, due to the fog), got a great view of the Golden Gate Bridge. The room was clean and well presented and the staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was simple but there was plenty of it. As pointed out by others, it can be a bit busy at times. Location was superb and just a short walk from Fisherman's Wharf area. My only complaint would be the lack of stairways. There were only 2 lifts and they could be very slow, especially at breakfast time. We were on the third floor and would quite happily have used the stairs rather than wait for the lift. A minor failing and it would not put me off using the hotel again and I would recommend it to anyone wanting a well placed base for exploring the brilliant city of SF.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#89 of 228 in San Francisco
978 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#77 of 228 in San Francisco
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Wharf Inn
The Wharf Inn
#117 of 228 in San Francisco
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn by the Bay

Property: Comfort Inn by the Bay
Address: 2775 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-1497
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn by the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn® By the Bay is conveniently located off U.S. 101, near Fisherman's Wharf, the San Francisco Marina Yacht Harbor, Fort Mason Center, Union Street and Lombard Street, the World's Crookedest Street. This San Francisco, CA hotel is close to popular attractions, including AT&T Park, the Golden Gate Bridge, San Francisco Chinatown and the San Francisco Civic Center Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn by the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn By The Bay Hotel San Francisco
Comfort Inn San Francisco
Comfort Inn Bay San Francisco
San Francisco Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing