We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Ranked #94 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This hotel was our last chance to get something decent closer to fishermen's wharf and at a decent price for SF. Accommodation in SF comes at an outrageous price. After reading the reviews I expected very low quality but in reality the hotel is an a good shape. It's true that the interior design makes you feel in the 80s, luckily the LCD TV in the room made us feel towards the 2000s. Anyway, the room was nice and clean. No view. They advertise Golden Bridge view but that's a different type of room which comes at extra cost. We did not care about the view.

In terms of room and cleanliness you can rest assured. All good.
Now, there are some annoyances which you must be prepared to face:

- in room safe comes at a cost. 2 dollars/day. It was for the first time I was asked to pay for this. The interesting part is that you pay in advance and if you don't use it you can get the money back. A dodgy way to earn extra bucks I would say.
- breakfast is a disappointment. Apart from make-your-own-waffle service which is nice, you get frozen junk food, low quality coffee and not too much diversity. Thumbs down for the food.

You might want to go for this hotel as it is fairly close to Fishermen's wharf, maybe 15 mins walk. Anyway, all the hotels closer to the wharf come at a very high price... your choice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DragosJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

486 - 492 of 1,194 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

great location, about 10min walk to fishermans wharf. Nice, clean and spacious room with a great view of the golden great bridge. shame about the staff at the reception desk. Not helpful at all. we asked them if they could call us a taxi one night and they said that they had so we waited outside for about 20 minutes. when we went back inside to enquire they casually told us that the taxi company had called back to say they weren't coming about 10mins ago and they hadn't bothered telling us or calling another one. eva and sarah seemed like it was always too much trouble for them to answer any questions and provided us with no help at all. Alex was friendly when we checked out. This is a great place to stay if you are well prepared and have done your own research. breakfast was good, plenty of variety.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saimaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 5 nights. We were given a spacious room overlooking the bay and (eventually, due to the fog), got a great view of the Golden Gate Bridge. The room was clean and well presented and the staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was simple but there was plenty of it. As pointed out by others, it can be a bit busy at times. Location was superb and just a short walk from Fisherman's Wharf area. My only complaint would be the lack of stairways. There were only 2 lifts and they could be very slow, especially at breakfast time. We were on the third floor and would quite happily have used the stairs rather than wait for the lift. A minor failing and it would not put me off using the hotel again and I would recommend it to anyone wanting a well placed base for exploring the brilliant city of SF.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and had a room on the 8th floor with view on the GGB. Size was good, bathroom clean.
We didn't like the smell of the room, old and artificial / chemical. Windows were not isolated too well.
We did like the location, we did like the waffles for breakfast, therefore 4 out of 5.
Wifi is for free but not the fastest...

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jennyjen79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on the final leg of our American holiday. This is the second time we stayed at this hotel. The last time we stayed we had a harbour view room but San Francisco weather intervened and it was fogged out most of our stay. This time we chose a normal room and the weather was bright and sunny. This place is close to Fisherman's Warf but far enough away not to get caught up with the crowds. The number 47 bus picks you up from across the road and short time later you are in Fisherman's Warf. The return journey drops you off at the block before the hotel. Getting to Union Square was just as easy but takes a little longer. The room we stayed in was roomy and comfortable. The only downside was that it was on the second floor at the corner of the building overlooking the intersection. I didn't hear any traffic noise but the wife did. The staff were very helpful and even arranged our transport to the airport for us.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sandgroper57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stay at many Comfort Inn hotels. Location was excellent but were disappointed in breakfast. Not the same as at other Comfort Inn restaurants however the Cafe Lombard across the street had great omelets. The front desk staff were extremely helpful and we had a lovely view of the bay bridge from our room. Garage was extremely small and we put a dent in our rental car trying to maneuver out of the tiny space. If you aren't driving, the local transportation seemed to be very handy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosalee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed in San Francisco for 3 nights. This hotel was a perfect location, easy walking distance from Fisherman's Wharf and all the various attractions. The staff were very helpful with all our various queries. Breakfast was good though if you timed it wrong it was very busy and you had to wait for items to be refilled but generally a great start to the day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#113 of 230 in San Francisco
1,056 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#87 of 230 in San Francisco
615 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#52 of 230 in San Francisco
2,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn by the Bay

Address: 2775 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-1497
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $128 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn by the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn® By the Bay is conveniently located off U.S. 101, near Fisherman's Wharf, the San Francisco Marina Yacht Harbor, Fort Mason Center, Union Street and Lombard Street, the World's Crookedest Street. This San Francisco, CA hotel is close to popular attractions, including AT&T Park, the Golden Gate Bridge, San Francisco Chinatown and the San Francisco Civic Center Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Comfort Inn by the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn By The Bay Hotel San Francisco
Comfort Inn San Francisco
Comfort Inn Bay San Francisco
San Francisco Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing