We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn by the Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Ranked #106 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

A group of 10 of us stayed here for 3 days, location is good and only 5 minutes walk to Fisherman's Wharf, Room size was good with a great view of the bay, most of the staff where very helpful.
The only issue I had was breakfast as there was no organisation and we had to wait for plates and food to be replenished, overall the food on offer was very nice and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravo96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMF_SFO, Manager at Comfort Inn by the Bay, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us - we look forward to seeing you again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    484
    289
    88
    55
See reviews for
303
376
44
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband used points for our stay here and the hotel staff definitely rewarded us for being loyal customers. Our room on the 11th floor had the most spactular view of the bay and the Golden Gate Bridge. Plus the location put us in walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf. I could run down Van Ness to Bay and run along the water - it's about 5 miles to the Bridge, one of the most beautiful runs I've experienced anywhere. The Comfort Inn hotel staff were always available and extremely knowledgeable about directing us to various area sites and attractions. Wish we could have stayed longer and will definitely stay here on our next visit to San Francisco Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JFranke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMF_SFO, Manager at Comfort Inn by the Bay, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us - We look forward to seeing you again soon !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel in downtown San Francisco. The location was GREAT! On Van Ness & Lombard - so you are close to the famous "crooked" street! The staff that checked us in were very friendly & helpful. The rooms were very adequate. The only complaint that we had was with the parking facility! It is a very tiny underground parking ramp, fit only for small vehicles. There is an outside lot for larger vehicles also, which would have served our needs perfectly, as our group had both a small car & a van. When we returned after an evening of sight-seeing, the outside lot was full, and we were forced to used the tiny ramp. Our van was a rental, and it was extremely frustrating trying to fit it around corners, and into the tiny parking spot. Getting it out in the morning was just as frustrating!!!! Except for that flaw - the hotel is great! Our rooms were on the 7th floor, and one of them looked out at the bay & the Golden Gate Bridge! That was awesome!!! I'd stay there again, but it's good knowing ahead of time about the parking situation!! AND - I'd never try to park a van in the underground lot again, either!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 680janej55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcalali, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Fantastic hotel, in a good location for Fishermens Wharf only a couple of blocks away. Breakfast is ample, and something there for everyone. The staff are also pleasant. We were a senior couple from Scotland, who had a little mishap on our first days in San Fran. ( will not go into the details ), the manager, Todd, went above and beyond his call of duty. A true gentleman. He put us at ease, and because of this we enjoyed the rest of our trip. A must stay with the local buses outside the hotel to take you into the heart of the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickeymac7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaziabad, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I have stayed a few times in this Comfort Inn Hotel, on the Van Ness Avenue. It's an excellent budget hotel with great breakfast. The rooms are quite clean, the staff are quite friendly and helpful. During my last stay, they provided me a room on the 7th floor with excellent view of the Golden Gate bridge. The hotel is located very close to local bus stops, so commuting was never an issue.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sumit311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Hotel is pretty standard for Comfort Inn. Good location and the service was very good. Eva at the front desk was very nice and helpful. They have your basic continental breakfast and the breakfast room was always cleaned and stocked well. It's a small area but turnaround of people was pretty quick. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I have stayed in san Francisco before and this time got a cheap deal with comfort inn to be honest because we got it cheap I thought it would be really basic. The room was superb very clean staff very friendly no matter what time of day it was. The breaksfast I could fault what so ever and location is exactly where it was a few blocks from the bay

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hayley w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#89 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#78 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Wharf Inn
The Wharf Inn
#112 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn by the Bay

Property: Comfort Inn by the Bay
Address: 2775 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-1497
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn by the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn® By the Bay is conveniently located off U.S. 101, near Fisherman's Wharf, the San Francisco Marina Yacht Harbor, Fort Mason Center, Union Street and Lombard Street, the World's Crookedest Street. This San Francisco, CA hotel is close to popular attractions, including AT&T Park, the Golden Gate Bridge, San Francisco Chinatown and the San Francisco Civic Center Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Inn by the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn By The Bay Hotel San Francisco
Comfort Inn San Francisco
Comfort Inn Bay San Francisco
San Francisco Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing