We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay(ish) - but good to know before you stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Ranked #104 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Clearfield, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Okay(ish) - but good to know before you stay”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Positives:
- Pricing for this hotel is better than most in the area. Fairly close to the west end of Fisherman's Wharf.
- Front Desk very willing to help keep a customer satisfied with the Comfort Inn brand.
- The hotel itself is a little older and not updated, but for the money, not too bad.

Negatives:
- Underground parking is nearly impossible for a large SUV (very tight turn radius). The airport only had a Yukon XLT, so I had to make due. A typical turn cannot be made to go down or get off the ramp. A 3 point turn becomes a 103 point turn. Not their fault, but good to know going into it. You can park outside if needed (I found that out after I parked).
- To qualify my next point, I am overly sensitive to cigarette smoke. I could sense the faint smell of smoke when I came into the lobby. When I got into my room, that became worse. Dizzy and nausious, I called the front desk who advised they had been a smoke-free facility for 3 years. They offered to give me another room, but I opted to cancel my reservation and go elsewhere, because I felt other rooms would probably have the same problem. If you are not opposed to the lingering smell of smoke, then you would be fine to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    504
    295
    89
    57
See reviews for
321
391
45
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Marina
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I are in San Francisco for a week. We chose the Comfort Inn because of the bridge views, but are really disappointed as you need binoculars! However the Inn is well located on the 47 bus route from Fishermans Wharf, where it crosses Lombard (the crookedest street). Breakfast is a bit sparse, and only one lift is working. But it is ok. I don't think we would choose to come back here, but if you have already booked, it is fine.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnfris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights and the best thing about his hotel is the location. It is walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf, and it has great views of the bay and the Golden Gate Bridge.
The staff was pleasant and breakfast was very nice.
Our room was on the top(11th) floor, so it had the best view outside, but the view inside wasn't that great. Our room smelled really musty, which was probably caused by the huge dark water stain on the ceiling. It was not very attractive. The room was pretty clean, but the decor was outdated, and the sheets and bedspread had fabric pills all over them.
The breakfast area was clean and nice, with a great selection of food. They had 3 waffle makers, so we made our own waffles every morning. The worst thing about the breakfast area was the plates. They were almost completely grey from the utensil scratches. It wasn't very appealing.
There is a $26+tax, per day, charge to park your vehicle. We were aware of this charge, but it does add to the room rate, so be aware.
Since everything is expensive in San Francisco, and this hotel is reasonably priced, I guess we got what we paid for. It is in a great location, and fortunately we didn't spend a lot of time in our room. With a few simple changes, this hotel could be a lot better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cnj98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Did an overnight in the city and could have stayed here for a few days. Had a bayside room on the 10th floor with fantastic view - Golden Gate, Alcatraz and Treasure Island. Pretty to see the lights and night and watch the sailboats and ferries by day. Spent an extra hour before noon check-out time sipping coffee and taking in this view. Room was efficient, clean comfortable. Plush beds and quiet interior halls. In-room safe and free wifi. Basic cable, no HBO: but this is a world-class city where there are so many better things to do! Breakfast bar was well stocked and maintained until close - waffles and breakfast breads, eggs (scrambled & hard boiled), fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal. Staff were very courteous and did a great job. Close to Muni bus stops - #30 and #47 took us where we needed to go. Sandwich shop and a few little restaurants across street. Refrig in room was a bonus round.

Room Tip: Request bay side room above 7th floor to assure spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swilrgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nicely located near the Fishermans Wharf and the beginning of the street cable car. Especially when you have ply a short time to stay in SF. We walked down in about 10 minutes. After checking in we got a small room with one queen bed, on the even numbered side of the hotel. No view except for a blind wall. But I had asked for a room with 2 queen beds when I booked. So I went down to the reception at once. The receptionist made changes so we got the room, uneven number, we wanted, for the same price and with a view on the Bridge. This room was nice and spacious. The breakfast buffet was good. We had a pleasant stay in the hotel. Even though there were noises during the last night. Like some one was hammering little nails, doing maintenance/repairing?

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank julaHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The room smelled musty. The furniture was shabby. The heater was loud at night. We found on street parking and saved ourselves the hotel fee of $26 to park in their garage underground. We were on the second floor, so our view of the golden gate bridge was obscured by the trees, but you could see a small potion of it. The location is very good, and exactly where my family wanted to be. The price of the hotel was not bad for two rooms, but in the morning I found a bug in my room. I am not sure what kind of bug it was, but the manager assured me it was not a bed bug. The manager was professional and courteous, I'd give this hotel a two or a three if I didn't find that bug. Breakfast was so-so and very crowded, so go early. The glassware and china in the breakfast room have seen better days. The staff is friendly, but Id never stay here again because of that bug. I can deal with shabby furniture, poor quality bed sheets, but cleanliness is a must.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elk555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Newfoundland, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed here in Nov/2012. Although the hotel is dated, it is clean and the staff is very friendly. Breakfast was good. Price was reasonable for the location (close to FW & downtown). Bus route just outside as well as the Hop on Hop off buses. This is a very busy hotel and everyone seemed to be enjoying their stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank handpsimmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#91 of 229 in San Francisco
1,004 reviews
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#83 of 229 in San Francisco
577 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn by the Bay

Property: Comfort Inn by the Bay
Address: 2775 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-1497
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn by the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn® By the Bay is conveniently located off U.S. 101, near Fisherman's Wharf, the San Francisco Marina Yacht Harbor, Fort Mason Center, Union Street and Lombard Street, the World's Crookedest Street. This San Francisco, CA hotel is close to popular attractions, including AT&T Park, the Golden Gate Bridge, San Francisco Chinatown and the San Francisco Civic Center Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn by the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn By The Bay Hotel San Francisco
Comfort Inn San Francisco
Comfort Inn Bay San Francisco
San Francisco Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing