We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decor a bit outdated, convenient for Fisherman's wharf, if you want to pay extra for Golden Gate view you can, parking you also ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Ranked #111 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Decor a bit outdated, convenient for Fisherman's wharf, if you want to pay extra for Golden Gate view you can, parking you also ”
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We had a 2 night stay, bit disappointed as the rooms were a bit dark and had a 1970's dated look. No view and as we had booked and paid 10 months earlier disappointed in the rooms allocated. Breakfast was only adequate and desk staff were helpful and friendly.
If you need parking, it is available, but you are charged so you need to calculate this in to your budget.
5 to 10 minute walk to Fisherman's wharf.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kessel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    487
    290
    89
    56
See reviews for
305
378
44
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay here. It is definitely worth paying the extra money for a bay side view. Seeing the Golden Gate Bridge made our stay extra special.

It's within easy walking distance of Fisherman's wharf and there are frequent buses to the downtown area.

I would describe the free breakfast as adequate if it wasn't for the waffles which were just delicious.

Yes the bathroom is small and the decor is outdated but the beds were very comfortable which is far more important to me. Loved the free wi-fi access.

I would happily come back here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank tulip457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I've stayed at many a Comfort Inn, so I was expecting the same as before: a quality room at a fair price. Our hotel room was ok, bed was comfy, but the bathroom was so, so tiny and outdated.

I just wasn't impressed by the front desk staff here -- they seemed irritated by all of the New Year's Eve hotel stayers, maybe.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank llclarityll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad de México, México
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Good option, near to Fisherman Wharff and Chestnut shops. 15 min from Downtown by taxicab. Also next to bus stops going Downtown. Enough good breakfast, friendly staff and nice rooms. Also good price compared to other hotels around.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alvarou4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
163 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We choose this hotel on price. Breakfast is included. They offer all kinds of room options. Pick the bayside, above floor five and get a great view of the marina district and the bridge. The rooms layout also varies with price.

The location is great, at the corner of Lombard, 101 and van ness. It is an easy walk downtown to the wharf and only 2 miles to the bridge. It is a quick walk up Lombard to the crooked street.

Parking is expensive, $35 per night. You can park at the presidio for $6, but then 1.8 mile walk. Refrigerators cost extra, as does the safe. This hotel is on an extremely busy traffic corridor. There is no grand entrance. If you are driving, you have to pull into their underground car park, by buzzing yourself in. This is only accessible from the south direction on 101. My recommendation, get there at an off traffic hour. Oh, it is very easy to turn into the wrong hotel. Scope this out on google earth before you drive there.

The staff was very good and efficient. The building itself is old. The staff does a really good job of keeping the building clean, but their efforts can't overcome the old wall paper, carpets and furniture.

Room Tip: Choose marina side for the view of the bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank henry21_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patterson, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

This is our second time staying here. We love how economical the hotel is, however, very clean!! We walked to the wharf and it was not bad at all, maybe a mile. If you'd like to take a taxi, it will cost only 6 bucks. We also wanted a late night bite sent to our room and the staff helped make that happen, they sent up menus on places that were open late, very helpful! Another great thing about this hotel is that the parking is only 29-, other hotels are up in the 45-50 dollar range. Our room also had a great view and a refridgerator that we love to have. I definatley will stay again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MonicaD03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
115 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Well-located, clean, good-sized rooms with bath tubs, big tv, restaurants nearby which deliver, satisfying breakfast spread... We have no complaints and would definitely recommend this hotel.

Beds are comfortable, tea and coffee making supplies practical and convenient. They are generous with towels and rooms were serviced satisfactorily.

We loved the breakfast. A good variety and frequently replenished. We had everything we required, and more.

People who complain about the lifts probably have nothing else to whinge about. What is an extra few minutes' wait when most American service staff spend even longer of your time talking about nothing?

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YellowCombi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#89 of 227 in San Francisco
957 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#77 of 227 in San Francisco
550 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Wharf Inn
The Wharf Inn
#113 of 227 in San Francisco
758 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn by the Bay

Property: Comfort Inn by the Bay
Address: 2775 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-1497
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn by the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn® By the Bay is conveniently located off U.S. 101, near Fisherman's Wharf, the San Francisco Marina Yacht Harbor, Fort Mason Center, Union Street and Lombard Street, the World's Crookedest Street. This San Francisco, CA hotel is close to popular attractions, including AT&T Park, the Golden Gate Bridge, San Francisco Chinatown and the San Francisco Civic Center Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn by the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn By The Bay Hotel San Francisco
Comfort Inn San Francisco
Comfort Inn Bay San Francisco
San Francisco Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing