We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what you expect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Ranked #106 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exactly what you expect”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This well located Hotel (you can get taxis at all times) delivers what the chain promises: Standard room sizes -but definitely they need a replacement of beds and furniture- with free internet and fairly LCD TV sets in all rooms. Breakfast will satisfy all family members needs.
Price/Location is at it's best... Since San Francisco is a non-car city for visitors, you can walk to Fisherman's Wharf and you will never expend more than 10 dollars getting to the other neighborhoods like Union Square.
The limited staff wasn't helpful answering questions related to additional fees on top of the already paid by internet... bordering on rudeness.

Room Tip: Stay away from the single bed rooms, they are tiny and no view at all. Odd room numbers are facing n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pallamand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    497
    294
    89
    57
See reviews for
314
388
45
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Lawn
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

the hotel was nothing specil the room could have been just about any other hotel room in the United States clean comfortibal 10 or 15 channels on the television, a safe no view in mine on the 5th floor faceing West but I didn't go to San Francisco to see a hotel room any way. I went to eat drink and see the sights and this was a GREAT location for all of the above. It was in walking distance of just about any land mark some one visiting the city would want to see and suround by good spots for a meal or a drink. I didn't have a vehical there and didn't need one but there is parking and public transport stops just out side of the door. the staff were plesent I rember the maitnace guy Alex being hellpful with directions and the desk staff tried to be hellpful but it wasn't their fault they didn't have tooth paste or shampoo at the desk. all and all I would stay there again but it is not the place for some one looking for a 5 or even 3 1/2 star stay but San Francisco is a cool enough place you won't want to spend much time in the room any way.

Room Tip: rooms on the west side at least up to the 5th floor have no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OakLawnJayC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We spent hours on TripAdvisor before choosing this hotel. We glad we did. It was a very pleasant stay indeed. The hotel was clean and the reception staff very nice. We didn't have a car. We had 2 rooms, the twin single overlooked the back of the hotel, the twin queen overlooked the "bridge". To be honest, the view of the bridge is no good when it's foggy (which is a lot of the time).
The breakfast area can get busy. There's a limited choice with the free breakfast, but it is palatable and we had no complaints about it (I really can't understand some peoples complaints I've read here, my comparison here being a New York hotel in a different chain we stayed at last year).
There's a bus stop across the road to the Bay. You could walk it in 15 minutes (the return trip is up hill for most of the journey though). There's a couple of bars and a small convenience store close by.
Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pa
Level Contributor
159 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Great views and location. Breakfast was better than I expected (waffles, eggs, sausage, cereal). Bus stop only 1 block away. Hotel was quiet even though we were on a busy intersection. Fantastic view of Golden Gate Bridge (if not foggy)Otherwise, nothing special about this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The room was tiny, dirty, and outdated! We payed $210 for a horrible room and could NOT wait to get out of there. Then you have to pay $26 for parking in their garage and I could barely drive through it! My husband went down for breakfast and it was extremely crowded, loud and the food sucked. The only good thing about the hotel was it's view of the Golden Gate Bridge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2,740 reviews
202 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,509 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Pros
- location

Cons
- dirty room
- breakfast dish wear VERY dirty
- staff doesn't care about guests (no welcome or even good morning)
- cold during winter (no air)

This hotel is falling apart and the management team is completely incompetent. Our room was dirty. The bathroom floor was sticky and it had long black hairs everywhere. And the sheets didn't look clean.
During the breakfast the staff was taking food (waffles) and chatting very loud in a room close to this area. The dish wear, specially mugs, were disgusting.
I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenaGuerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipswich
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here for four nights in October at the end of a coach tour. We had extended for two nights and were very disappointed. Certainly the worst hotel of the tour and we were told that the travel company would not be staying there next year due to complaints. Location was good to get around with a 10-15 minute walk to the front downhill and a good bus service back. Breakfast was basic and always chaotic with not enough seating when groups there. We had a lovely view of a green wall and when we asked if possible to move as we were staying longer got told not possible although there were rooms and we were prepared to pay a small upgrade fee. Would never stay here again and certainly not recommend it

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IpswichTractorgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#89 of 228 in San Francisco
978 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#77 of 228 in San Francisco
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Wharf Inn
The Wharf Inn
#117 of 228 in San Francisco
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn by the Bay

Property: Comfort Inn by the Bay
Address: 2775 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-1497
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn by the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn® By the Bay is conveniently located off U.S. 101, near Fisherman's Wharf, the San Francisco Marina Yacht Harbor, Fort Mason Center, Union Street and Lombard Street, the World's Crookedest Street. This San Francisco, CA hotel is close to popular attractions, including AT&T Park, the Golden Gate Bridge, San Francisco Chinatown and the San Francisco Civic Center Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn by the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn By The Bay Hotel San Francisco
Comfort Inn San Francisco
Comfort Inn Bay San Francisco
San Francisco Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing