We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dingy and outdated” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn by the Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Ranked #107 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Dingy and outdated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel was the last stop on our guided coach tour from Las Vegas to San Fransisco. Must say it was a big disappointment. It is badly in need of refurbishment. Room very small and cramped. Bedlinen had seen better days, white sheets were grey!!! Bed extremely uncomfortable. There was quite a varied choice of items in their complimentary breakfast, but got rather chaotic and a free for all in the cramped dining room. The hot sausage and egg offered rather resembled a McD's sausage mcmuffin!!! Yuk. In it's favour was the hotels location. A nice 10-15 min walk downhill all the way to Fishermans Wharf. or take the No. 47 bus which stops across the road taking you down to FW and all the amenities and further transportation to other locations. A long uphill walk back after a tiring day's sightseeing is to be avoided so take the bus back, which stops one block from the Hotel. Our tour guide is recommending that the Company don't use this hotel again, and I can see why. SF was wonderful though. The weather in October was beautiful and warm, just perfect. What struck me was how friendly and helpful everyone was, especially the bus drivers. Sorry can't say the same for Comfort Inn staff. They were just so......"couldn't care less" best descibes it.

Room Tip: Comfort Inn by the Bay with views of the Golden Gate Bridge by stretch of the imagination. You need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank usafanScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    484
    289
    88
    55
See reviews for
303
376
44
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Had the misfortune to stay here for three nights in October as part of an organised tour during which we stayed in five hotels and this one was definitely the worst. In fact I understand that the tour company will not be using it next year so it can't just be me.
The view from the room was of a neighbouring wall about six feet away which meant the curtains had to be always drawn to protect one's modesty! Also the bedspread was filthy and had to be changed.
The staff were not over helpful with problems and I found that I had been charged over £40 to make two emergency phone calls home. An absolute outrageous fee in these days of cheap international calls.
The breakfast, when the hotel was full was chaotic and very limited choice.
Definitely a no-no

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vickeeble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed at Comfort Inn by the bay in September for three nights. Its an ideal location within walking distance to Fishermans Wharf area. Make sure you take flat shoes as there are very few flat walking areas in San Francisco. Breakfast was excellent and couldnt be faulted. The staff were very helpful with local places of interest and how to get there. There was a really bad smell between the beds in our room but we had it sprayed a couple of times (we can't really complain about this because if it had been that bad we should have asked for a move). A good basic place to stay if your not planning on being in the room much and are looking for somewhere cheap.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephbuttonmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Great location for the price. We could walk to the Bay and Fishermans Wharf area (about 10-15 mins), the cable car start, bike rentals, etc...Parking was cramped as you would expect, but we parked in the small above ground lot with a huge SUV and actually had no problems. Breakfast was plenty good and hearty -- something for everyone, including the kids (self made waffles) -- but it gets a bit crazy with all the tourists filling up before the big day! The not so nice part would be how dated the rooms are. We were on the top floor (you do get a small view of the bay and bridge). Small shower and toilet room. Small sink is outside the shower room and in the bedroom part. Drapes and carpet were dingy with my wife not wanting to walk around barefooted (you know how carpets get a little yucky after a while). Still -- a great value, I thought --just set your expectations. (and keep in mind you are not going to spend time in your hotel room!).

Room Tip: Get the view side if you can -- otherwise you are looking at a building and roofs right outside your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Texdelmundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Within walking distance to Fishermans Wharf and also on bus routes to anywhere else you would want to visit in San Francisco. A very good complimentary breakfast is offered and the staff are very friendly. Would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

The room was basic and smaller than some hotels I stayed in during our tour of the West coast. It did have all the bits such as coffee making and a safe, plus free Wi-fi although I could not get mine to work but others in our group had no problems. My biggest disappointment was pulling back the curtains and having a view of a solid brick wall less than 10 feet from the window. Everywhere were adverts to upgrade your room for a view but this did not seem worth it for two nights. Not too sure why called 'by the bay' for it is a good 20 to 30 minutes from central Fisherman's Wharf and the hill is steep on the way back. Well served by buses to get to central shopping, and Fisherman's Wharf, but these seem to disappear on a busy Friday night unless you know the system, forget Taxi's Friday nights as they are very busy. Complimentary breakfast included and this was a very good hot and cold buffet with good variety. Found Reception staff a little off handed. Believe my brick wall view tended to put me off this hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room without a view of a brick wall as it will put you off the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheltonian-65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I just took my first trip to san fran and stayed for 3 nights in this hotel. It was great. Everyone was super friendly, the room was very clean, and it was a short walk to the wharf! I have stayed in hundreds of hotels and would recommend this to anyone that is visiting!

Room Tip: We had a two bedroom on the 10th floor. Awesome view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#87 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#78 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Wharf Inn
The Wharf Inn
#113 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn by the Bay

Property: Comfort Inn by the Bay
Address: 2775 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-1497
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn by the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn® By the Bay is conveniently located off U.S. 101, near Fisherman's Wharf, the San Francisco Marina Yacht Harbor, Fort Mason Center, Union Street and Lombard Street, the World's Crookedest Street. This San Francisco, CA hotel is close to popular attractions, including AT&T Park, the Golden Gate Bridge, San Francisco Chinatown and the San Francisco Civic Center Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Comfort Inn by the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn By The Bay Hotel San Francisco
Comfort Inn San Francisco
Comfort Inn Bay San Francisco
San Francisco Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing