We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Nearby Hotels
$279
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$223
$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$336
$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$189
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Kimpton Buchanan(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$197
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$299
$254
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
$416
$254
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$223
$198
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$274
$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (3,099)
Filter reviews
3,099 results
Traveler rating
1,309
1,232
395
108
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,309
1,232
395
108
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunion squarewine receptionthin wallstenderloinsutter streetcomplimentary winewalk in closetceiling fanevery eveningan older buildinghotel restaurantfew blocksfront desk stafflight sleeperstayed here for nightswine hourstreet noise
Filter
Updating list...
2,026 - 2,031 of 3,099 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2010

My husband and I stay at the hotel once or twice a year when visiting family in the bay area. This time we were in town for a wedding, and my sister-in-law, husband, and two young adult children, as well as my brother-in-law, wife, and two children stayed at the hotel as well. Everyone enjoyed their stay, whew, I was relieved that the hotel was able to satisfy such a wide range in ages. After successfully recommending it to my family, I would recommend the hotel to other people.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank notyou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Just returned from 4 nights at the Carlton booked through a travel company as part of a trip. Hotel fine, but lacking a bar. Was booked into a superior room on the top two floors which was quiet enough. Could not understand the previous comments about thin walls as never heard any neighbouring noise. Quiet enough in the room itself from outside with only the sirens being heard. The surrounding area does leave a lot to be desired however, with very few "nice" restaurants or bars to visit. Fly next door is OK, but not if you want a quiet drink.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnh1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

We stayed at the Carlton hotel for 4 nights at the end of June. My husband had mentioned on booking that we were celebrating our wedding anniversary so it was a nice touch to find a card and a bottle of wine in our room when we arrived. The room we had was very clean,a good size and the bed was very comfortable. As other guests have mentioned there is a free wine reception each evening......a great idea! If we go back to San Francisco again we wouldn't hesitate to book The Carlton as It is a little gem of a hotel, made all the more pleasureable by their team of people who really seem to be enjoying where they work!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coxo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

We would thoroughly recommend staying at this hotel. The reception staff were always cheerful and most helpful. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The safe provided free was an asset if you preferred not taking too much money out each day. Breakfast in the hotel was excellent but we chose to eat out in the evenings as the "Arabian menu" was not to our taste!

A walk to Union Square was around 15 mins - so very convenient with transport around the city plentiful and straightforward.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thefairbowlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Carlton. First impressions on the drive from the airport were not too good as the taxi did go through some dodgy looking areas. The hotel itself though was thankfully vey nice, It was clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The evening wine reception was well received and this was a good opportunity to meet other travellers and compare the days events. You could have as much wine as you wanted as well, The receptionist also plays the keyboard during this time. San Francisco has a lot of homeless people on the streets and although some of them approched us for money we never felt threatened at any time. The hotel that has a restaurant that seemed very popular although we did not try it. We did enjoy Fly the bar next door to the hotel though. I would recommed this hotel to other couples looking to enjoy the city without paying too much money. Value for money was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews