We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #46 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 2, 2006

I recently returned from a business trip to San Francisco where a room was booked for me at Hotel Carlton without previous knowledge of this hotel. Front desk and valet service was flawless. The room was very nice and the bed extremely comfortable. When I asked if the temperature in the room be made warmer, staff promptly responded and quickly brought up a space heater just in case I wanted extra warmth. Wake up service was prompt and exact, the restaurant was very good and the lobby adorable with a meiterranean flair. Although I did not participate, early evening wine was served, providing a nice, thoughtful touch, especially for the single traveler . I need to be back in the city next month and I am staying at this lovely little find which is so reasonable priced.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank mf90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,000)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,428 - 2,434 of 3,000 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2006

The food was delicious and had enough variety to even satisfy my vegetarian colleague with whom I was travelling. Go with the price fixe (Appetizer, Small Plate and Entree)

Appetizers:
- Ravioli is to die for
- The lamb was excellent

Small Plates
- The avocado salad was small...tasty

Entree
- The duck was good
- Salmon and Shimp BBQ was excellent
- Vegetarian lasagna was so so. Order a second helping of the ravioli instead

Dessert
- Rice pudding had a nice consistency

8  Thank CeePop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2006

Stayed at Hotel Carlton from 10/14 to 10/19. We chose this hotel because of the positive reviews posted on this site. Other's comments about clean rooms, comfortable beds and great employees were all true. By the second day, we were addressed by our names whenever we entered the lobby. The guys we got to know in our 5 days there were Theo, Gio, J.P. and Edgar. Each and every one went out of their way to make sure that we were taken care of. Because we always got back too late for the evening's wine tasting, Edgar supplied us with a chilled bottle of our favorite. All the guys gave great advice and directions.

At Gio's suggestion, we took a city tour on our first full day there through Tower Tours. I strongly recommend this if it's your first time to SF. It is both enjoyable and insightful. As importantly, you get a chance to see everything and you can then decide where you want to go back to and spend more time. The hotel is within walking distance of Union Square with its upscale shopping and Chinatown. Van Ess is a main street going north and south and it's only two blocks from the hotel. It costs only a $1.50 per person to ride the bus and it will take you right down to Fisherman's Wharf. If you have a car, the scenic ride down highway 1 is absolutely amazing. Go south at least to Big Sur for the best views.

The Hotel Carlton was an excellent value but more importantly, the people there make the difference. Upon returning to SF, I would not consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank M-Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2006

Firstly the contact and communication I had prior to arrival was exceptional. Esther the reservations manager was outstanding and continued to be prompt in communication after we left my sunglasses in the hotel.

The hotel was great. The rooms were clean and well presented. They are on the small side but perfect for a couple.

The hotel is a bit of walk to union square but defintely do-able even with a baby and stroller.

Best to turn left out of the hotel along Sutter not right as this neighbour is a wee bit dodgy.

Check in was delayed but the staff were really great through this process.

I recommend the Saha resturant, we had dinner and breakfast there that was fantastic. However there was a wee bit conflict between waiter staff that was a wee bit unsettling.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Lee-SmithClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2006

Very friendly, helpful & humourous front desk staff. Great restaurant in the hotel. Good location on Sutter St. Lots of restaurants & nightlife nearby. Good size room, modern decor & clean. No street noise. Walls, however ,are paper thin. I could plainly hear every word of the guy staying next door including when he was talking on the phone. Bring your earplugs. Otherwise, perfectly fine. J&L, Van, BC.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank JULOfrVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2006

A bit of a hike along Sutter, away from the downtown area. Check your San Francisco map and you'll see this hotel is within breathing distance of the not-recommended Tenderloin district.

Good access to city buses. Convenience stores across the street and just down the block. A super coffee place with cheap Internet access 2 blocks down on Polk. (Quetzal)

Elevators tiny but efficient. Attractive lobby with working fireplace around which it was a joy to sit on a cool morning or evening and read the newspaper or coffee table books provided. Complimentary wine was served at 5:30 p.m. Staff is friendly and helpful.

My room was directly across the elevators on a corner - 2 windows and one in the bathroom. There was a narrow walk-in closet. Toiletry products were replenished daily, whether or not they had been used. The bed was comfortable with lots of pillows. Alhtough the room was small by North American standards it was not so small that you would bump against the bed, desk, night stands or roomy dresser. No AC but an adjustable ceiling fan and high ceilings could make the room comfortable on warmer days. Small but decent TV and a very nice clock radio.

If I were travelling alone I might not stay here again - just because of the location. But, if I were with a group or travelling companion would not hesitate to revisit this property.

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Peggysuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2006

We stayed at the Hotel Carlton for 5 nights and it was great. We arrived to early to check in but they stored our bags for us, so we could go sightseeing. When we did come back to check in they gave us a room upgrade and Wow! it was really nice. The view was okay, but we were on a corner so it was nice.

The wine tasting from 5:30 - 6 was really fun. We were only able to partake twice but it was fun to sit and talk to other travellers. Plus the cozy fire was nice to sit around.

We only had breakfast at the hotel one morning but the food was good. The service was lacking a little though.

So true about the Hotel being in the middle of nowhere but in the middle of everything at the same time. It was easy to get everywhere from the Carlton.

Couple things of note. The toilets flush really loud. If you are in the hall you can hear them flushing from inside the rooms. The walls are really thin, the first three nights we were woken up around 3:30 each morning by the guests across the hall coming in from their night out and we were wear earplugs. You can also here fire trucks all the time, but I guess that is big city for you.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. We had a great time here.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank FlexitarianCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#54 of 230 in San Francisco
2,407 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Alise - A Staypineapple Hote...
#12 of 230 in San Francisco
669 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
#66 of 230 in San Francisco
1,728 reviews
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#97 of 230 in San Francisco
3,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-5817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $140 - $505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Carlton offers an international ambiance paired with outstanding guest service. Built in 1927, this nine-story San Francisco hotel is 3 blocks from the California Street cable car line, 6 blocks from Union Square, 8 blocks from the main entrance to Chinatown and 9 blocks from Civic Center. Complimentary evening wine receptions are held in Hotel Carlton's lobby nightly and feature live music from local artists. In addition, Hotel Carlton provides complimentary wireless internet to all guests; upgraded bandwidth is also available (surcharge applies). Recently renovated, all 161 non-smoking guestrooms at Hotel Carlton feature remodeled bathrooms including decorative floor and wall tiling, new vanities and sinks. The public spaces showcase cross-cultural design that incorporates treasures from Africa, India, Nepal, Laos and Asia. Our restaurant Saha features award-winning Arabic Fusion cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Carlton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing