We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #43 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2006

Firstly the contact and communication I had prior to arrival was exceptional. Esther the reservations manager was outstanding and continued to be prompt in communication after we left my sunglasses in the hotel.

The hotel was great. The rooms were clean and well presented. They are on the small side but perfect for a couple.

The hotel is a bit of walk to union square but defintely do-able even with a baby and stroller.

Best to turn left out of the hotel along Sutter not right as this neighbour is a wee bit dodgy.

Check in was delayed but the staff were really great through this process.

I recommend the Saha resturant, we had dinner and breakfast there that was fantastic. However there was a wee bit conflict between waiter staff that was a wee bit unsettling.

  • Liked — The staff and room appearance
  • Tips/Secrets — Eat at Saha
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Lee-SmithClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,105
    1,084
    336
    93
    37
See reviews for
339
1,205
157
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Van BC
Level Contributor
153 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2006

Very friendly, helpful & humourous front desk staff. Great restaurant in the hotel. Good location on Sutter St. Lots of restaurants & nightlife nearby. Good size room, modern decor & clean. No street noise. Walls, however ,are paper thin. I could plainly hear every word of the guy staying next door including when he was talking on the phone. Bring your earplugs. Otherwise, perfectly fine. J&L, Van, BC.

  • Disliked — thin walls
  • Tips/Secrets — ear plugs
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank JULOfrVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2006

A bit of a hike along Sutter, away from the downtown area. Check your San Francisco map and you'll see this hotel is within breathing distance of the not-recommended Tenderloin district.

Good access to city buses. Convenience stores across the street and just down the block. A super coffee place with cheap Internet access 2 blocks down on Polk. (Quetzal)

Elevators tiny but efficient. Attractive lobby with working fireplace around which it was a joy to sit on a cool morning or evening and read the newspaper or coffee table books provided. Complimentary wine was served at 5:30 p.m. Staff is friendly and helpful.

My room was directly across the elevators on a corner - 2 windows and one in the bathroom. There was a narrow walk-in closet. Toiletry products were replenished daily, whether or not they had been used. The bed was comfortable with lots of pillows. Alhtough the room was small by North American standards it was not so small that you would bump against the bed, desk, night stands or roomy dresser. No AC but an adjustable ceiling fan and high ceilings could make the room comfortable on warmer days. Small but decent TV and a very nice clock radio.

If I were travelling alone I might not stay here again - just because of the location. But, if I were with a group or travelling companion would not hesitate to revisit this property.

  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Peggysuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2006

We stayed at the Hotel Carlton for 5 nights and it was great. We arrived to early to check in but they stored our bags for us, so we could go sightseeing. When we did come back to check in they gave us a room upgrade and Wow! it was really nice. The view was okay, but we were on a corner so it was nice.

The wine tasting from 5:30 - 6 was really fun. We were only able to partake twice but it was fun to sit and talk to other travellers. Plus the cozy fire was nice to sit around.

We only had breakfast at the hotel one morning but the food was good. The service was lacking a little though.

So true about the Hotel being in the middle of nowhere but in the middle of everything at the same time. It was easy to get everywhere from the Carlton.

Couple things of note. The toilets flush really loud. If you are in the hall you can hear them flushing from inside the rooms. The walls are really thin, the first three nights we were woken up around 3:30 each morning by the guests across the hall coming in from their night out and we were wear earplugs. You can also here fire trucks all the time, but I guess that is big city for you.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. We had a great time here.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Paper thin Walls
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a corner room so you only have one neighbor the walls are really thin.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank FlexitarianCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2006

I wanted a nice, affordable hotel in San Francisco for a long weekend and found a real gem at the Carlton. Although just a the edge of the Tenderloin, it is a good 8-10 blocks off Union Square. The lobby is clean, inviting and cozy with a fireplace, great coffee table books and really comfortable leather chairs and sofas. The staff is first class, accomodating and friendly. The housekeepers are great and professional. The breakfast in Saha, the in-house restaurant is OK, but there are better ethnic restaurants around each corner. Try alaTruque for excellent Turkish food at a great price ! The bus lines go right past, so accessing any part oi the city is easy. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and quite. The linens and pillows and bed are comfortable and lush. Wireless can be accesed from the upper floors (Don't pay the fee...just ask for a room high up ). I will definitely stay again. Skip the $ 180 rooms, ande enjoy the well priced Carlton

  • Liked — CLEAN...SPARKLING CLEAN ROOMS AND LOBBY
  • Disliked — THE neighbor hood is just at the edge of an iffy area
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a room on ther upper floors
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank dinner8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2006

My boyfriend and I stayed two nights at the Hotel Carlton in early September (we spent 4 nights in San Francisco and wanted to try out two different hotels - the Carlton was our second hotel). We very much enjoyed our stay. The lobby of the hotel is just lovely. The furnishings are from all over the world. It feels very welcoming and after being out and about all day, it felt like a great place to "come home" to. There is a wine reception in the evening. The rooms feel equally welcoming. Our room felt more like we were staying at a friends home in their guest room instead of a hotel. There were photos from Tibet on the walls. The closets are large. The bed was very comfortable.

The only complaint would be that the bathroom was quite small (but the lovely lobby is worth putting up with a small bathroom). The staff is very friendly. The location is excellent. The hotel is close to most places one wants to go to in San Francisco (walking distance or within easy access to public transportation). We loved our stay at the Carlton. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — the lobby and the way room felt like visiting someone's home
  • Disliked — small bathroom
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Kokko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bay, Ca
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2006

We stayed for one night at the Carlton. The lobby was decorated beautifully. The rooms were small but like the lobby decorated nicely. The bathrooms were modern and clean.

This hotel has the best sleeping beds; I just wish I could of slept longer. At about 6am you could hear everything outside, including the neighbors taking their showers.

The staff is awesome. Very good customer service. All in all I wold stay here again.

  • Liked — the beds
  • Disliked — paying for internet service and the noise
  • Tips/Secrets — order room service
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank N_Franklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,060 reviews
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#17 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#49 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Hotel Vertigo
#75 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-5817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Carlton offers an international ambiance paired with outstanding guest service. Built in 1927, this nine-story San Francisco hotel is 3 blocks from the California Street cable car line, 6 blocks from Union Square, 8 blocks from the main entrance to Chinatown and 9 blocks from Civic Center. Complimentary evening wine receptions are held in Hotel Carlton's lobby nightly and feature live music from local artists. In addition, Hotel Carlton provides complimentary wireless internet to all guests; upgraded bandwidth is also available (surcharge applies). Recently renovated, all 161 non-smoking guestrooms at Hotel Carlton feature remodeled bathrooms including decorative floor and wall tiling, new vanities and sinks. The public spaces showcase cross-cultural design that incorporates treasures from Africa, India, Nepal, Laos and Asia. Our restaurant Saha features award-winning Arabic Fusion cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Carlton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing