We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Josh left his heart in SF”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #45 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Josh left his heart in SF”
Reviewed August 17, 2005

I took my autistic son to San Francisco, for the first time as a teenager. We did the city tour, bay tour, dined at The Cheesecake Factory, tried the cable car and the bus/bart, walked endlessly at downtown and Chinatown. He enjoyed every minute of it! From the time we checked-in (we came early - 10:00 am - nevertheless, they checked us in!) until we left (the staff arranged for our transportation to the airport, which I forgot to do!). The staff, from front desk to housekeeping - are the best. We are Filipinos and I got just what I wanted!

I wish you could read my son's SF journal. He got an A for it!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LizfromLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,174
    1,128
    364
    97
    43
See reviews for
377
1,268
168
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2005

Excellent hotel - had read the reviews before my recent trip and have to agree with the positive comments that have gone before. Wonderful staff, great room and enjoyed the restaurant.

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank kenny99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 1, 2005

Great hotel with wonderful, accomodating staff. Went there this past week and couldn't be happier. Had standard room with two double beds for three people which was a little tight but ok- especially at that price. Hotel was very clean and staff always willing to help. Great location, blocks from Union Square. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 21, 2005

What a fabulous surprise to find this little treasure in such a convenient location. The staff were so efficient and friendly, the rooms were gorgeously decorated, clean and spacious and so affordable. The Saha dining room served yummy breakfasts and dinners, the wine provided in the evenings was a bonus after a long day of sightseeing. My husband and I didn't want to leave and we enjoyed every minute of our honeymoon here. Congrats to the hotel for a superb renovation and such well-trained, knowledgable and friendly staff. We couldn't have asked for a greater getaway.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 19, 2005

Stayed here in July 2005 and would have no problems recommending this hotel to anyone travelling to San Francisco. Lovely, clean rooms (2 separate stays) containing all one could possibly need - there is no air conditioning but we found that there was no need for it even during the summer. The staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. The manager's wine session in the evenings is something we have never come across before and is a good opportunity to meet other people holidaying in San Franciso. In the restaurant I had one of the best steaks I have ever had! Would stay here again no problem.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 22, 2005

Very pleasant place in San Francisco, nice room with details taken care of, different from the usual, quite good location and extremely kind people for a reasonable price. I do highly recommend the hotel.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2005

I normally stay over a night or two in San Francisco when I am in Silicon Valley on business, so it is on my own dollar and I seek out good value. I find San Francisco safe, and I can look after myself so my only constraint on location is that I like to be close to the Union Square area.
The Carlton is a nice hotel, friendly and comfortable. Also, I suspect that the Saha restaurant in the hotel could be very good; it had a nice ambience and breakfast was good.
The only negative is that parking is a hassle, but then again, that's San Francisco. the hotel parking lot closes at midnight - so beware. I street parked 3 blocks away at 3am and the car was there next morning so that was a plus :). Also note, and I don't think it should worry anyone, but there were some hookers hanging out neighbouring block (but not beside the hotel) at 3AM. It is only two or three blocks from Van Ness so overall I would say the location is good and safe.
I will be staying there again soon.

p.s. The friendlness which everyone commented on is something I found a bit forced, and I strongly suspect it is part of the training\induction\selection process for staff. But it is better than surly.

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank ratminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 229 in San Francisco
5,233 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#91 of 229 in San Francisco
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#60 of 229 in San Francisco
4,643 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 229 in San Francisco
3,962 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-5817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Carlton offers an international ambiance paired with outstanding guest service. Built in 1927, this nine-story San Francisco hotel is 3 blocks from the California Street cable car line, 6 blocks from Union Square, 8 blocks from the main entrance to Chinatown and 9 blocks from Civic Center. Complimentary evening wine receptions are held in Hotel Carlton's lobby nightly and feature live music from local artists. In addition, Hotel Carlton provides complimentary wireless internet to all guests; upgraded bandwidth is also available (surcharge applies). Recently renovated, all 161 non-smoking guestrooms at Hotel Carlton feature remodeled bathrooms including decorative floor and wall tiling, new vanities and sinks. The public spaces showcase cross-cultural design that incorporates treasures from Africa, India, Nepal, Laos and Asia. Our restaurant Saha features award-winning Arabic Fusion cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Carlton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing