We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great SF hotel in interesting neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #45 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Utah, USA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great SF hotel in interesting neighborhood”
Reviewed January 4, 2009

So I love this hotel. It's absolutely my favorite place to stay in SF. Conveniently located, walking distance to all the sights or public transport to get there, and fantastic staff. Plus, the on-site restaurant is excellent. What more could you want?

PROS: Staff, location, views, flat-screen tv on 9th floor, green hotel. Very clean, and staff is incredibly attentive to your needs. ALso, I really like being greeted each time we come in the door. It makes me feel like I"m not just some random anonymous guest.

CONS: As some said, the walls are thin, but it's an old building. The elevators are also slow, but.... Sometimes had trouble getting hot water.

  • Liked — The staff and that it's a green hotel.
  • Disliked — Slow elevators.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travels_too_muchUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,175
    1,128
    366
    97
    43
See reviews for
379
1,269
168
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2009

This was my 8th trip to San Francisco and my favorite hotel experience. This time was a mother-daughter "bonding trip" and it couldn't have been better. Our room was on the 5th floor with two large beds. The room was very clean, the sheets were soft and there was plenty of room for two grown people who cannot figure out how to pack for a week. The staff was eager to answer questions and seemed happy to be there - smiling faces and all. Even the cleaning lady was fun to visit with. The location is good for using the MUNI system, though if you arrive from the airport via the BART, you may want to get a taxi unless you have packed light and have wheels on your luggage. I was happy to trade a "continental breakfast" for the wine time in the front lobby each evening. If you like to visit with people from all over the world, you are much more likely to strike up a conversation in the evening over a glass of wine than a sit in a break room early in the morning with a bagel. The restaurant "SAHA" within the hotel was excellent and my only regret is not eating more meals there. I write a food column for a LGBT magazine and needed to check out a number of places to eat, but even at one of the most strongly recommended places, I was wishing I were at SAHA. I will definitely return to the Hotel Carlton. Great experience! And did I mention it is a "green" hotel? - Bonus!

Helpful?
4 Thank lezaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2009

We booked the Carlton based on the Tripadvisor reviews and I think it was one of the best decisions we made, no holiday can go wrong if you stay in a hotel like this. The staff was great, very helpful, they had a great sense of humour and the afternoon happy hour for clients was the best thing ever - we got to know the staff and fellow travellers very well, made some new friends which made our stay in SF even better.
Rooms were well equipped, enjoyed the American tv and a good shower. Funny enough we never noticed the thin walls (maybe we kept more noise than our neighbours..)
The area was interesting, I much preferred to stay in a local area than in the very touristy places. There were nice breakfast places around and the walk to Union Square to all the shops was just right. The staff was sure to tell us about the areas which were not advisable at night, so we felt safe.
Thanks to Theo, Edgar, Gio and all the other reception staff for making us feel very welcome and if we are ever back in SF we know where to stay !

  • Liked — Service, service, service
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JaanaCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2008

The welcome at check in was really friendly and warm. The room was great, compact but stylishly decorated with lots of light and well thought out interior design. There was a large walk in closet which was great for getting luggage out of the way. The location was really fantastic, basically walking distance to most everything we wanted to see and do. Unfortunately we didn't get to enjoy the wine reception hosted by the hotel at 5:30 every evening because we were too buisy running around the city. I visit SF often and would stay here again.

  • Liked — location, room
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank diverguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2008

The hotel was fine for an older building and the staff was efficient. The walls though are just too thin and you could hear every word the people next door are saying. This would be somewhat bearable if it was during the day and you were not in the room for very long however when you could hear every word at 4 am when it is obvious that these people are awake and packing and leaving for the airport for their 6am flight, well, then it is very uncomfortable especially when you don't have to get up for another 5 hours...

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Romanchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2008

We are bay area locals staying in the city for one night, and wanted a decent hotel for a good price (which is hard to come by in SF, especially this time of year!)...I did a lot of research, and decided that based on the reviews here on Trip Advisor, that the Hotel Carlton would be worth a try...I was right...from the moment we walked in the door, we were greeted by extremely friendly front desk and bell staff... who made us feel at home right away. Valet parking was a little steep- $30...but worth it for the in & out privileges... We stayed on the Everest floor, in a deluxe room, which I think is just a tad bigger than the regular floors- and it also had a flat screen TV, which was nice. The room was clean, and well appointed... the bathroom was small, but very clean...The only thing I would say that is partially negative about this hotel is that the walls are indeed VERY thin...so if you are a light sleeper, it may not be the best choice for you...All in all- a great stay!

  • Liked — Staff, price, wine hour
  • Disliked — Thin Walls
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tammigop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
passporter75
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2008

Having been greeted with big smiles and complimentary glasses of wine, we immediately felt welcome.

Situated a short walk from the hustle and bustle of Union Square and the incredible burrito joints on Polk Street, the Hotel Carlton offers large, well decorated (and clean) rooms, with the only small downfall being some noise from the streets below.

Our room was on the 6th floor and featured a king sized bed, walk in wardrobe, bath and shower, and TV offering a good variety of channels.

The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable, and really do go out of their way to help you.

The foyer is stylish and comfortable, and the perfect place to relax and watch the world go by.

The breakfast menu is comprehensive, but expensive.

In all, a great hotel in a great location.

  • Liked — Comfortable and friendly
  • Disliked — Food prices
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 229 in San Francisco
5,238 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#92 of 229 in San Francisco
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#60 of 229 in San Francisco
4,652 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 229 in San Francisco
3,965 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#59 of 229 in San Francisco
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-5817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Carlton offers an international ambiance paired with outstanding guest service. Built in 1927, this nine-story San Francisco hotel is 3 blocks from the California Street cable car line, 6 blocks from Union Square, 8 blocks from the main entrance to Chinatown and 9 blocks from Civic Center. Complimentary evening wine receptions are held in Hotel Carlton's lobby nightly and feature live music from local artists. In addition, Hotel Carlton provides complimentary wireless internet to all guests; upgraded bandwidth is also available (surcharge applies). Recently renovated, all 161 non-smoking guestrooms at Hotel Carlton feature remodeled bathrooms including decorative floor and wall tiling, new vanities and sinks. The public spaces showcase cross-cultural design that incorporates treasures from Africa, India, Nepal, Laos and Asia. Our restaurant Saha features award-winning Arabic Fusion cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Carlton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing