We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cosy & homely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #44 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 23, 2014

The rooms were clean & the beds comfortable also the pillows which is great when away from home, the staff was so friendly & very helpful regarding food venues & catching buses, trains & the happy half hour in the big lobby was a nice gesture for everyone to meet.

Room Tip: We were on the seventh floor facing the road for five nights & had very little road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Cazzan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2014

Thank you Cazzan2014 for the great review! We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the recommendations from our wonderful staff!

We hope to see you the next time you visit San Francisco!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,020)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,024 - 1,030 of 3,020 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2014

The hotel was beautiful and the rooms very comfortable. The staff was most friendly and knowledgeable about the hotel and the area. They were able to accommodate our needs and travel problems. We were able to ,meet people from other parts of the USA and other countries in a very friendly atmosphere. It was a most enjoyable experience. We highly recommend the Hotel Carlton.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam J, General Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Thank you Tom for your fantastic review of your stay at Hotel Carlton! We are thrilled that we were able to make your trip to San Francisco one of the best! We hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights as part of a tour .It was in a fairly good location ,not too close to the busy areas but not too far away either ,The lobby was beautiful ,lots of seating and there is disabled access to the side . The room was well presented and clean and the bed was very comfortable . Had to wait a little while for our cases but not too long . The bathroom was quite small and as my husband is disabled, it was difficult getting in as the wheelchair would not fit through the door ,so make sure to check when booking if you need a larger room . The staff were excellent and very helpful , the wine reception in the lobby at 5.30 to 6pm was a lovely touch as there is no bar ,but there is one next door . I would stay here again as i thought it was a nice hotel and quite good value .

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tinaoconnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam J, General Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Thank you Tina for the great review of your stay. It sounds like you did not reserve one of our wheelchair accessible guestrooms which may have made it a bit easier for your husband. I'm sorry this was not planned as it would've been much more comfortable for your stay. Please let us know in advance next time so we can be sure to accommodate your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Arrived a bit early to check-in but were able to get into an upgraded room with 2 Queen beds about an hour before the normal check-in time. I found the front desk staff to be extremely helpful and friendly. The location is great - if you want to walk use Polk as it is relatively flat going north (versus most of your other options).

My only issue with the hotel was with the internet. You can only connect a single device without paying and when I paid there was a problem with the system at the hotel - that required sitting on the phone with IT for an hour because the desk staff did not believe it was hotel-wide (they believed it was an issue with my device - which after trying 3 devices it was clearly not). The national IT desk only then realized that the problem was hotel-wide and the system was restarted, but on vacation I'd rather not be dealing with an IT help desk. That was very frustrating.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JaneKampsten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam J, General Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

We are happy you enjoyed your upgraded guestroom and that we were able to accommodate your early arrival. We are sorry to hear of the trouble you had using our free to guest wireless internet. The system is set to allow 3 devices per guestroom so we are reaching out to our IT department to troubleshoot why this didn't happen in your case. We want to make sure this is fixed for future guests. Thank you again for the feedback and we hope to see you back at the hotel soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

I liked the unique accommodations of this hotel. The rooms are decorated with a fresh retro style. Front desk staff were friendly. One of the desk staff went above and beyond when they printed information out for a couple that were heading toward Yosemite, because of the forest fire there. Enjoyed the wine reception daily, because we met visitors from Europe that we enjoyed talking too.
Ate one time in the hotel restaurant, Saha, for breakfast only. It was okay. Did not eat there for dinner. Not into Arabic fusion cuisine, besides, I think the restaurant could use updating. It does not look fresh, that's why I am giving the hotel a 4 instead of a 5. There are other restaurants around though. The hotel is somewhat pricey, but in general I think San Francisco is pricey.
Be prepared that the hotel is a bit of a walk from Union Square. If you walk around San Francisco all day, you will walk a little more to get there. The upside is that you get away from the hubbub around Fisherman's Wharf and Union Square.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise. Don't hear noise from neighboring rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank monica h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Thank you for the great review Monica! I'm so glad to hear that you found the hotel staff to be friendly and helpful during your travels!

Thank you again! Come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Exactly what I expected with a 3 star hotel. Good hotel, clean room, okay value, comfortable, and located in a good area relatively close to union square central shopping area. It's got some character too..

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank basicfeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam J, General Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Thank you for your review of Hotel Carlton. We are happy the location and amenities at the hotel were to you liking. We appreciate you sharing your experience on TripAdvisor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed in the Hotel Carlton for 3 nights.

Check-in was the most frustrating part of the hotel. They do not have a valet attendant outside the hotel at all times. We waited maybe 20 or so minutes before we were able to get the valet to take our car and go check-in.

The room is pretty average. Very nice size TV and a large walk in closet. The closet is the same size of the bathroom, that’s how large it is. The hotel was a weird mix of old and new. Some things were very new, like the shower and sink, and other things were obviously showing the hotel’s age (like the bathroom vents and the elevators). The beds were comfy and we had no problem sleeping.

Great thing about the hotel is the ice machine also gives free cold water and the hotel provides a pitcher in every room. However, our room was right next to the ice/water machine, so it did get a little loud in the middle of the night whenever people were filling up.

The hotel offers a wine hour in the lobby. There was always some middle-aged man in a really crazy outfit playing strange music. We never stayed or tried the wine, we would just walk right through and on to our next thing but know, it’s an option.

Last time we were in SF, we stayed at the Omni (a MUCH nicer but more pricey hotel). We opted to stay here instead of going back to the Omni because we thought one more day in SF would be better than less days at a better hotel. All in all, I think we made the right decision to stay here and have a longer stay. It’s no five-star hotel but when there’s so much to do in a city like SF, it serves it’s purpose as a nice place to sleep at night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lolaisabruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam J, General Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Thank you Lola for your review of your stay at Hotel Carlton. I am glad you found the bed comfortable, the decor to your liking and the hotel to be a good value. We are happy you enjoyed your trip to San Francisco!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
#63 of 231 in San Francisco
1,738 reviews
Hotel Vertigo
#74 of 231 in San Francisco
1,446 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#18 of 231 in San Francisco
5,397 reviews
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#96 of 231 in San Francisco
3,427 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#54 of 231 in San Francisco
2,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-5817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $153 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Carlton offers an international ambiance paired with outstanding guest service. Built in 1927, this nine-story San Francisco hotel is 3 blocks from the California Street cable car line, 6 blocks from Union Square, 8 blocks from the main entrance to Chinatown and 9 blocks from Civic Center. Complimentary evening wine receptions are held in Hotel Carlton's lobby nightly and feature live music from local artists. In addition, Hotel Carlton provides complimentary wireless internet to all guests; upgraded bandwidth is also available (surcharge applies). Recently renovated, all 161 non-smoking guestrooms at Hotel Carlton feature remodeled bathrooms including decorative floor and wall tiling, new vanities and sinks. The public spaces showcase cross-cultural design that incorporates treasures from Africa, India, Nepal, Laos and Asia. Our restaurant Saha features award-winning Arabic Fusion cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Carlton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing