We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location / Friendly atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #43 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Whangarei, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Great Location / Friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Great smaller hotel with very friendly staff. Stayed three nights on stopover. Tidy clean room with very comfortable beds. Not too noisy for a city hotel. Located within walking distance of Downtown SF, I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We're so glad to have welcomed you to our historic Hotel Carlton, and we thank you for sharing this exceptional feedback with us. We look forward to welcoming you back and to sharing even more of our site and services!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,105
    1,084
    336
    93
    37
See reviews for
339
1,205
157
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

The friendly staff not only greets you with smiles when you check in, they pour you complimentary wine at 530!! Want advice? they know where the closest post office is and where to catch the cable car or bus. They call cabs promptly, and will store your luggage when you show up at 9am. Even the pretty girl who cleans your room smiles as she communicates with you. Her heavy foreign accent reminds you what a truly international city sf is! All this, and a very comfortable bed to sleep on! Hey Bourdain fans, the Swan Oyster Depot is 3 blocks away! Giants game, ferry building, wharf, all close and easy to get to. For the folks who complained about the slow elevator, go stay in a newer place. This one adds charm to a real cool place! Will gladly stay here again!

Room Tip: Loved room 817. King bed, no street noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidkahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We're so glad to hear that our historic charm and signature hospitality set the mark for your San Francisco stay, and we thank you for being a guest of Hotel Carlton. The team will be thrilled to hear of this kind feedback, and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back the next time you're in the city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
154 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Hotel Carlton is in a good location and offers great value for money in a city where hotels are expensive. It is about a 15 minute walk to Union Square. The Nob Hill neighbourhood the hotel is situated in has a quirky character and seemed to come alive on the Friday evening before our departure. If you need to sleep in near silence then take heed of earlier reviews about the noise! The wine tasting and live music every evening was excellent and certainly enhanced our experience, hosted in the comfortable hotel reception area. On the downside, in my opinion the hotel reception service has much room for improvement. We had a very warm welcome (including remembering our birthday celebrations) on arrival but when we returned after 4pm to actually check-in the reception staff had changed and we had a long wait for our rooms which were not ready. When I asked if we could get a drink while waiting the reply was "sorry sir, I don't understand what you mean...pause...the hotel bar is not open". There was a lacklustre reply when we asked for restaurant recommendations later in our stay and on departure, the receptionist insisted on pushing the hotel's limo/ shuttle services - the hotel clearly gets commission. Further, when we did leave we asked for a metre-taxi (it cost $45 from the airport to the hotel so we were expecting around the same to get back). Instead of ordering a metre-taxi, the receptionist ordered us a limo. The driver insisted the charge was $55 plus tip - not the $50 displayed on the hotel reception sign - and indicated the hotel gets $10 for every limo booked. By this point we did not have time to wait for a cab to arrive and the service from the hotel's reception soured what would otherwise have been a fairly decent stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrcrdeacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
While we're glad to have welcomed you to our site, we're sorry to hear that miscommunications with our team dampened what would have been an otherwise enjoyable visit. We certainly make every attempt to provide our guests with the very best of attentive services, tailored specifically to request, and we'll be sure to explore this further with the team to correct this atypical shortcoming. It would be an absolute pleasure to hear from you and to welcome you back again soon, and we encourage you to reach out to our management team with concerns you might have. Our apologies again, and all our best until we hear from you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

My family enjoyed the location of the hotel, as the hotel was located within walking distance (a few blocks) of an event we were attending. Food and shops (for amenities) are steps outside the hotel door.

This was my first botique hotel venture and Joie de Vivre created a charming decor. The hotel building is old, the hallways, elevator are in need of a facelift. The room was spacious, the bed comfortable. However, the bathroom was tiny and was showing sings of wear. Walls are thin. My husband loved the hotel. I might not stay at this hotel again, but I might try additional Joie de Vivre hotels.

I have found alternative hotels in the same price range which offer more onsite amenties, cleaner, and a better fit for me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 935teresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thanks for being a guest of our Hotel Carlton and for taking the opportunity to lend us this feedback of your visit. We're certainly glad to hear that our site lent convenience to your explorations and that our historic charm came through so resoundingly. Should you return to the area, we'd love the opportunity to welcome you back and to introduce you to some of the many other rooms on site that are sure to exceed your expectations for both their offerings and privacy. Please be sure to reach out to our team, and thanks again for your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

We booked the Carlton for our wedding vacation as it is close to City Hall. The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating but the hotel itself is in desperate need of major updating. The elevators are small, slow and very old - the inside has this strange world map print which makes it feel like you are staying in a backpackers hostel. We originally were on the 6th floor but had to ask that we be moved as our room had a door that joined to the room next door and we could hear everything the occupants next door were doing, even opening doors or their phone ringing. The rooms have had a redesign to make them look modern but the bathrooms are tiny, our bathtub was cracked and the water pressure was very poor. There was no space to hang our towels or put our toiletries - you could barely open the bathroom door while inside as it was that small. The closet in the room is huge, almost double the size of the bathroom which is such a waste. The blinds in the room do not do a good job of blocking out light. The only positives about the room was that there was a Keurig coffee machine which was very nice to use but there was no fridge which was disappointing for the location and price, we stayed for 4 nights and it would have been very handy. Although they have some of the nicest staff I have ever experienced in a hotel and it is a central location, I would not stay here again as it is just too outdated and not functional.

Room Tip: If you do stay here, ask for a room that does not have a door that joins to the room next to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank BMR1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
We're glad to have welcomed you to our historic property and appreciative of your visit and feedback. That said, we apologize if your respective accommodations missed the mark, in spite of the room change, but we're glad our team's hospitality exceeded the mark. We'd certainly welcome the opportunity to host you again and to lend our support in identifying a a room that's better suited to your preferences, and we encourage you to reach out the next time you're in the city. It would be a pleasure to share more of our site and services with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington NZ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

For the most part I really enjoyed my stay at the hotel Carlton.
The staff were fantastic, very helpful and always smiling!
The rooms are huge, and the bed was very comfortable.
The hotel restaurant has delicious Moroccan food, and is a great choice for an easy dinner. But I wouldn't recommend going there for breakfast, very very average.
The only problem I had during my stay is that the hotel is old - this is evident in the bathrooms (although they're perfectly functional and clean). But the biggest problem is because it's old there is NO soundproofing between rooms. I could hear the people next door using the toilet... And on my last night the people next door had a dog which woke me up barking during the night.
I asked to be moved on my first night (of 5 nights) but unfortunately there were no other rooms available. However management did give me a credit to apologise for this.
Great service and big rooms, but not sure if its worth it for the lack of privacy sound wise!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LanaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thanks for visiting our historic Hotel Carlton and for lending us this feedback of your stay, Lana. We're happy to hear that the visit was overall enjoyable, and we apologize if your room missed the mark in terms of privacy offered. We'd certainly welcome the opportunity to welcome you back and to showcase others that are sure to be better suited to your preference, and we encourage you to reach out again the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

I booked another hotel, but because I looked at this hotel, I got a notice when the price went down. I remembered the beds were reviewed as comfortable so I decided to switch. I'm glad I did! The beds were indeed very comfortable. There was a lot of positive energy. There was a complementary wine reception every evening. The hotel was convenient to bus stops and restaurants. We didn't stay in our room much during our stay, but it was great to have a clean, comfortable room to come back to each evening. The staff was very helpful and gave us a lot of good advice. I definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: The city view room was worth the small upgrade charge. Room 710 is at the end of the hall and seemed...
See more room tips
Green Features: Each room has a pitcher for water. You can get filtered water in the lobby and on a couple other floors. It did seem to be environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CamReviewer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
We're so happy to hear that you made the switch to our site and that our exceptional guest services surpassed your expectations. It's a pleasure to be able to offer you the comforts and amenities you've described here, and we're glad that you enjoyed our wine service and regional connectedness. We look forward to welcoming you back and encourage you to reach out again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,060 reviews
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#17 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#49 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Hotel Vertigo
#75 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-5817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Carlton offers an international ambiance paired with outstanding guest service. Built in 1927, this nine-story San Francisco hotel is 3 blocks from the California Street cable car line, 6 blocks from Union Square, 8 blocks from the main entrance to Chinatown and 9 blocks from Civic Center. Complimentary evening wine receptions are held in Hotel Carlton's lobby nightly and feature live music from local artists. In addition, Hotel Carlton provides complimentary wireless internet to all guests; upgraded bandwidth is also available (surcharge applies). Recently renovated, all 161 non-smoking guestrooms at Hotel Carlton feature remodeled bathrooms including decorative floor and wall tiling, new vanities and sinks. The public spaces showcase cross-cultural design that incorporates treasures from Africa, India, Nepal, Laos and Asia. Our restaurant Saha features award-winning Arabic Fusion cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Carlton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing