We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay there again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #45 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Would stay there again”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Staff was friendly, room was clean, location was very good, décor was nice, and everything in the room worked. Only drawback was that parking was expensive ($35/night or $25 down the street), but it is everywhere in the city. We got a great rate through Priceline.com and had a wonderful stay -- we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewOrleansSecrets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
It's a pleasure to welcome you to our Hotel Carlton and to hear that the stay was enjoyable in so many way. We certainly understand and appreciate the high cost of San Francisco parking, but we hope our competitively priced rates cames as some relief during your explorations. We'd love to share more of our site and services with you the next time you're in town, and we encourage you to reach out to the team with any of your future travel needs. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,175
    1,128
    365
    97
    43
See reviews for
378
1,269
168
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic hotel! Theo, Edgar, Gio and Mary-Jain are the most helpful, cheerful, charming and exuberant staff I have come across in my travels.
I was only supposed to stay one night and ended up extending my stay for 3 nights.
Rooms where huge and super clean. Will definitely be returning when I visit San Fran again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Andreamichellew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
We're so happy to have had the opportunity to welcome you to our site and to hear that the outgoing services of the team set the benchmark for hospitality. We'll be sure to share these kind words with the team, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Carlton again soon. Many thanks for the kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Loved this hotel. We had a great stay. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Taxi's are readily available. Perfect central location for sightseeing. Front desk is awesome. So helpful! Lots if eating establishments close by. Parking was a challenge, do valet and use local transportation.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turnmill123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
San Francisco parking can certainly be troublesome, but we're so happy to hear that our front desk team and regional accessibility made your stay a comfortable and convenient one. We'll be sure to share your praises with the crew, and we hope that you'll think of our Hotel Carlton the next time you visit the city. Thanks again for your kind review, and safe travels until we see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

The receptionists were really nice and friendly with lots of knowledge about the city and area. They recommended the Big Bus Tour which turned out to be very handy and an amazing experience. They were always approachable and could not do enough for us.

The room was clean and of a nice size. Negative point was we were right across from the stairway and could hear all the foot traffic from the small gap at the bottom of the door. We could also see the light coming from there with the bed facing the door which was quite annoying.

Overall we still enjoyed our stay and the location but would probably opt for something a little closer to Union Square if ever back in town.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Blacknalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for being a guest of our property and for taking this opportunity to reach out with this review of your experience. We're thrilled to hear that our team set the stage for your enjoyable visit and that their expertise, both of our property and region, lent ease and enjoyment to your explorations. We can certainly understand how a disruptive sleep can hinder a visit, and we encourage you to reach out to our team as you plan future travels; it would be a pleasure to introduce you to one of the many other rooms on site that are bound to be better suited to your preferences. All our best until then, and thanks again for sharing your stay and voice with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I visited the city recently with my fiance and had an amazing time! First off, the staff at the Hotel Carlton is one of the friendliest I have ever experienced. They do a great job of making you feel right at home. Then there's the room. They are beautifully decorated and one of thee most comfortable beds we've ever slept on. The cherry on top to our stay has to be the complimentary wine they offer their guest from 5:30-6. Great way to get your night started on your adventures in San Fran. Cant see myself staying anywhere else on my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
It's such a pleasure to welcome newcomers to our Hotel Carlton and to hear that the unprecedented hospitality of our team set the stage for you and your fiance, Rob. Our complimentary wine hour is certainly a great way to settle in, to relax, and to get your visit started right, and we're thrilled that each experience thereafter was equally as memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon, and we encourage you to reach out to the team as you stage future San Francisco travels. Many thanks again for your stay and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights and each night was pretty awful. The walls are so thin that you can literally hear conversations 2-3 rooms in any direction. Factor that it is a low cost hotel and you get a noisy crowd of 20-somethings at all hours. If the hotel had normal walls, it'd be no problem, but it sounds as if you're thrown into the discussions whether you like it or not.
I saw the other reviews saying the same, yet I didn't fully appreciate just how thin the walls really are. It's worse than you're imagining, trust me.
Rooms are 2 star quality at best. Dingy, dated carpet and overall dirty feeling. Feels like a budget motel you'd find in the bowels of Orlando.
Friendly service but, if you value sleep (when you want it) and/or privacy, then move on. You've been warned.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Longtimetraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
We're so sorry to hear that your stay with us was a disruptive one, and we apologize for this atypical circumstance. We would certainly love to speak more with your regarding this and to learn of the specifics, and we encourage you to reach out to Jamie Lassak, our Front Office Manager, at your next available convenience: 415-292-1187 or jlassak@jdvhotels.com. Thank you in advance for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomona, California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Spent my Birthday weekend at this hotel. They had surprises for me when i checked in! Everyone was polite and helpful. It was just my husband and i so we had one of the queen bed rooms. I loved all the windows in the room and the one in the shower. Room and bathroom were clean and comfortable. Slept well. Was a great place to start touring from. We walked and took public transportation where we wanted to go. Didn't try the restuaraunt, but found good food nearby.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dashdashdashdash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
It's a pleasure to have been able to share your birthday weekend for you, and we thank you for lending us this kind feedback of your stay. It's a pleasure to be able to lend our unique hospitality to special occasions like these, and we appreciate you entrusting us with yours. Please reach out the next time you're in the area; we'd love to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 229 in San Francisco
5,235 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#91 of 229 in San Francisco
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#60 of 229 in San Francisco
4,649 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#68 of 229 in San Francisco
3,965 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#59 of 229 in San Francisco
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-5817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Carlton offers an international ambiance paired with outstanding guest service. Built in 1927, this nine-story San Francisco hotel is 3 blocks from the California Street cable car line, 6 blocks from Union Square, 8 blocks from the main entrance to Chinatown and 9 blocks from Civic Center. Complimentary evening wine receptions are held in Hotel Carlton's lobby nightly and feature live music from local artists. In addition, Hotel Carlton provides complimentary wireless internet to all guests; upgraded bandwidth is also available (surcharge applies). Recently renovated, all 161 non-smoking guestrooms at Hotel Carlton feature remodeled bathrooms including decorative floor and wall tiling, new vanities and sinks. The public spaces showcase cross-cultural design that incorporates treasures from Africa, India, Nepal, Laos and Asia. Our restaurant Saha features award-winning Arabic Fusion cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Carlton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing