We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas in SF”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #45 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Christmas in SF”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I spent Xmas week wandering up & down the hills of SF while staying at the delightful Hotel Carlton. The location was great; the hotel's not among the crowds of Union Square but close enough to walk there in about 10 or 15 minutes. There are lots of transportation options nearby, and many of the tourist attractions and shopping areas are within walking distance. Yes, the Tenderloin neighbourhood which can be a a bit dodgy to walk around by oneself especially at night is nearby, but it is easily avoided. The staff are warm and friendly and informative. You'd think they didn't spend their days repeating the same things over & over! If you're lucky, Theo will not only check you in but play some of his music for you later in the lobby while you enjoy a complimentary glass of wine! The lobby is actually a space where one could enjoy hanging out for awhile--the international/global decor permeates the hotel including the lovely restaurant that seems quite popular. The rooms are spacious, nicely decorated, well-equipped and very comfortable. This brings to my only complaint. Because the hotel is old (in fact it has quite an interesting history), the walls are thin. I could hear nearly every word of my neighbours' conversations. During the day or evenings this didn't bother me too much as I simply put on the TV or radio. Thankfully they were very quiet at night, so I kept the volume low on my TV so as not to disturb them. However, trying to sleep-in was impossible. Between their noise and the banging of the cleaning staff's carts going up & down the hallways and guests going in & out of their rooms, I could not sleep past 8 or 9 AM even with earplugs! So if you're a night owl like me, bring heavy duty ear plugs and don't expect to sleep much in the mornings. That being said, being up early meant I got to enjoy more of SF, so I'd stay here again and I do recommend this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back corner (like 310) have an extra window (bonus!) but seem to be by an old eleva...
See more room tips
Green Features: They seem quite aware of conducting business in a green manner.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank africanomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We're so happy to have been able to share our Hotel Carlton with you this holiday season, and we thank you for lending us such thoughtful words of your visit. We're certainly proud of our team and their unparalleled hospitality, and we're glad to hear that their outgoing services were so memorable to your stay. We'd love to have you back and to introduce you to some of the many other rooms on site that are sure to be more conducive to your sleeping preferences, and we encourage you to reach out the next time you're in the area. Many thanks again for your time and review, and all our bet in the new year ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,175
    1,128
    365
    97
    43
See reviews for
378
1,269
168
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Just stayed two nights with three teens in the top floor suite, and they thought it was the best hotel ever. Clean, spacious, bright, and sharp. Loved the linens and decor. Two blocks from sandwich shop that stays open until 2 am (Bites.) Three blocks from a great burger, fries and shake take-out (Pearls.) Close to California cable car. The nice thing is that everyone at hotel seemed very happy, especially the other guests. My kids did not want to leave. They know a good deal when they see one. Very comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gsmyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
We're so happy that you and the crew enjoyed your visit so thoroughly. It's a pleasure to invite you in with the warmth and inviting comforts for which we're acclaimed and to hear that these were such memorable elements of your trip. We'd love to welcome you back soon and to help set the stage for your next enjoyable stay in the region, and we encourage you to reach out to our team as you plan future travels. Thanks again for being a guest of our Hotel Carlton and for offering us such lovely feedback of your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

The hotel is located in the middle of union square and this makes it easier to walk to nearest shops and restaurants. The Hotel building is a bit old and gives it a unique classy air. The staff was helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Choose a room at higher floor to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anwar1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
We're so happy to have been able to share our historic property with you, and we thank you for taking the time to lend us such kind words of your visit. We certainly hope to be able to host you again and to share even more of our one of a kind hospitality with you, and we encourage you to reach out as you stage return travels to the region. Many thanks again for being our guest and for lending us such a thoughtful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ourense, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I've spent 2 days in Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel in San Francisco. The hotel is well-located, just a few minutes walking from Powel St. Staff were super friendly and efficient. The room was big, clean, very nice and comfortable. I think it is very good value for money.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody.

Room Tip: I have stayed in a room with king size bed and city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jotabe80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thanks so much for being a guest of Hotel Carlton and for taking the time to share such a thoughtful review of your experience. We're always delighted to be able to share our site, services, and city with valued guests like yourself, and we hope that you'll think of us the next time your travels bring you to the San Francisco area. Thanks again for your stay and kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Unfortunately, I was expecting more from the hotel given the rating on tripadvisor. Unfortunately, I was sadly let down in terms of convenience and amenities. Yes, there was a wine happy hour, but I expect basic things like a hair-dryer and toiletries at a minimum. More than this, the walls of the hotel rooms were paper thin. People having a normal conversation in the next room over sounded as if they were right in the middle of my own room. I could even hear every little sound when someone was using in the bathroom next over. The noise issue was even worse with people in the hallway, and exponentially worse next to the closet for housekeeping when the housekeeper or someone was frequently shutting or slamming the door. I won't even mention the noise factor from outside the building which was tolerable given that it's in the city. It's unfortunate as I had high hopes given the overall rating of the hotel. I will say though that the décor and furniture had a nice ambience, but it certainly did not offset the noise factor. Cleanliness was also inconsistent (Bathroom tub had a scummy feel, and pillowcase had dark smudges). In addition, location was not the most central and was a good 10-15 minute walk to Union Square. I'd recommend staying elsewhere somewhere nearer to Union Station or Embarcadero...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmm303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
While it's a pleasure to have been able to host your recent visit, and we're happy that our site and ambience were enjoyable elements of the stay, we apologize for any undue noise and shortcomings associated with your respective room. We aim to provide our guests with all your in-room essentials and more, and we certainly have these available to offer, including those toiletries referenced in your review. We'd love the opportunity to further discuss this visit and for the chance to host you again, and we hope that you'll consider reaching out to our team. With a variety of rooms at our disposal, we'd love to have you back and to identify a space that's better suited to your privacy and preferences. Thanks again for lending us your time and review; we hope to speak more with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I loved the decoration of the hotel, all Indian style. The room was very big and even had a walking closet. The service of all the staff is great, they are always willing to help with a smile. They also serve complementary wine in the evenings. The location is good, about 10-15 min walking from Union Square.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alejandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
We're immensely proud of the hospitality afforded by our dedicated team, and we're so glad to hear that their efforts were so memorable in your visit. We'd certainly like to host you again and to share even more of our services with you, and we hope that you'll reach out to our team with your future travel needs. It would be a pleasure to hear from you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mar del Plata, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I stayed there for three nights with my husband and two young daughters. San Francisco hotels are very expensive, so I think this was a good choice, not terribly overpriced. The reception staff was very agreeable and kind, we felt welcome. I cannot say they could recommend many places, but they surely did their best to help us.
The room was definitely on the small side and the furniture seemed old, but it was clean and it had a wonderful extra space (sort of a walk-in closet) for all our things. I notice a lot of people complain about the noise, I did not find it so disturbing, you are pretty much next to the city center after all.
And this brings me to the single most important advantage of this hotel: location! Walking distance to the center, to the shops, to China town, to the Italian neighborhood, etc, etc. We only used the car to get to the Golden Gate Park and that was not so far either.
In conclusion, it might seem overpriced to people from Europe, but compared to the other hotels in San Francisco, I truly think this is a very good choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lex-flia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Many thanks for being a guest of our historic Hotel Carlton and for taking the time to lend us such a thoughtful review of the experience. We certainly do appreciate the opportunity to share our site and services with first time guests, and we're glad to hear that the both of these lent to the enjoyment of your San Francisco stay. We'd love the chance to welcome you back and to share even more of our property with you, and we encourage you to reach out as you stage return travels to the region. Thanks again for your stay and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 229 in San Francisco
5,235 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#91 of 229 in San Francisco
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#60 of 229 in San Francisco
4,649 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#68 of 229 in San Francisco
3,965 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#59 of 229 in San Francisco
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-5817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Carlton offers an international ambiance paired with outstanding guest service. Built in 1927, this nine-story San Francisco hotel is 3 blocks from the California Street cable car line, 6 blocks from Union Square, 8 blocks from the main entrance to Chinatown and 9 blocks from Civic Center. Complimentary evening wine receptions are held in Hotel Carlton's lobby nightly and feature live music from local artists. In addition, Hotel Carlton provides complimentary wireless internet to all guests; upgraded bandwidth is also available (surcharge applies). Recently renovated, all 161 non-smoking guestrooms at Hotel Carlton feature remodeled bathrooms including decorative floor and wall tiling, new vanities and sinks. The public spaces showcase cross-cultural design that incorporates treasures from Africa, India, Nepal, Laos and Asia. Our restaurant Saha features award-winning Arabic Fusion cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Carlton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing