We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #44 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Just a amazing Hotel! One of the most cozy hotels we've ever been to.
You can descibe Carlton as a hotel with great service, and perfectly located for a San Fran citytrip. Don't forget to take a glass of wine and listen to Snazz playing his keyboard in the afternoon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Koen_Lasschuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of Hotel Carlton and for taking the time to share such phenomenal praises with us. It's an extreme pleasure to be able to share our world class property and services with you, and we're happy to hear that you enjoyed the experience so thoroughly. Please be sure to reach out the next time you return to the region; we'd love to see more of you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,100
    1,082
    335
    93
    37
See reviews for
337
1,201
157
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights (Mon-Wed) for our first time visit to San Fran & we couldn't have been happier with our hotel choice. When we first arrived, we were running late to return our rental car and we were only going to leave our bags with the front desk but they said they actually had our room ready & it was only 11am! They also reccomended that we could just drop our car off at the rental location nearby, which was a great option instead of driving back to SFO. The concierge was very helpful when we asked for restaurant reccomendations, directions and what the best buses/trains were to take in the area.

The neighborhood is a bit sketchy a few blocks to the south but there are quite a bit of homeless people in San Fran in general. it's a quick walk to Union sqaure & Chinatown. There is also a useful bus stop a block away to go to the Golden Gate Bridge, Presidio & Cow Hollow. There are trolleys near by as well.

Our room didn't have air conditioning, but it was never too warm in the room - it was also some of the warmest weather they had experienced in awhile as well - so it's just not needed. The room was very spacious in comparison to NYC hotel rooms and very clean & updated. We also didnt hear much noise from inside the building but did hear some construction during outside during the mid-afternoon, but it wasn't too loud and didn't occur during sleep hours.

The wine hour is a nice added bonus & the restaurant inside the hotel has great inexpensive breakfast as well.

We will definately be staying here if we're ever in the area again and will try to stay at other JDV hotels in the future because of this!

Room Tip: The 2nd floor room next to the stairs may get a bit loud but it's easy & quick to get to!
See more room tips
Green Features: They are very enviromentally friendly as compared to other hotels i've stayed at before. Minimum towels, enviromentally friendly soaps, shower dispensers rather than tiny bottles of toiletries.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Danielle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to share such exceptional words with us. It's a true pleasure to share our facilities and hospitality with first time guests like yourself, and we're thankful to have found a quick fan in you. We'd love to have you back and to help you navigate even more of our region and property, and we hope that you'll reach out as you plan return trips to the area. Many thanks again for your time and review; we look forward to seeing more of you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed Here in Mar 2011 , lovely hotel beautiful decorated and large rooms , stayed for 4 nights and my only negative was the thin walls , but all in all a lovely hotel, staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. fly bar next door was fantastic great atmosphere

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emmyloo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to praise the exceptional services of our outgoing team. We apologize for any undue volume that results from our historic foundation, and we value your insights regarding this. We will certainly look for ways to resolve this concern, and we look forward to the opportunity of hosting you again soon. Please be sure to reach out the next time you return to the area; we'd love to share more of our world class services with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Everything and everyone were welcoming and comfortable. I love that it's pet-friendly. We had a small dog with us and it didn't cost extra to have it around. Price is very reasonable, as well as the price for valet parking. It has all the amenities we wanted. The room is also roomy enough. There are restaurants, bars, coffee shops, all within walking distance away.

Room Tip: Closer to the tenderloin region, which has some not-very-nice areas. But that's inevitable in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
6 Thank pren79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of Hotel Carlton and for taking the time to extol the many praises that stand us apart as the region's premier destination. We're so happy to have afforded you with pet-friendly accommodations that made your stay so relaxed and enjoyable, and we hope that you'll consider us again as you plan return trips to the region. We'd love to share our continued evolution with you and your family, and we hope that you'll reach out to us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

All of the staff were so friendly and helpful, they really made our stay so enjoyable. Hotel is a 10 minute walk to union square, and is an ideal base for touring the city. We were placed here initially for one night because our original hotel was double booked, but were happy to stay for the full 4 nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
6 Thank Marh_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Many thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to extol the services of our attentive team. It's our extreme pleasure to host first time guests, and we're happy to hear that your stay was an enjoyable one. We'd love to have you back and to share the many amenities and perks of our centrality, and we hope that you'll reach out again as you plan return trips to the area. Thanks again for your time and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

A great hotel in a great location. Lovely clean room. Customer service in this hotel was amazing, so helpful and friendly. I really enjoyed our stay here, we got upgraded as it was our honeymoon and were also given a bottle of wine to celebrate which was a nice touch. Free wine for half and hour every day, which also went down well with the guests. They have a restaurant on site, which we never actually ate at, but it always seemed busy and the food looked lovely.
Rooms had very thin walls so you did get noise coming from others rooms, however I think most people are aware of this and it didn't really other us too much and in general people do tend be courteous to others. We also spent very little time in the hotel as we were there to explore the city. I would def return to this hotel if I were to return to San Francisco.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hellsie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to share such enthusiastic words of praise with us. It's an immense pleasure to be able to host such special occasions, and we'd love to offer our congratulations and well wishes on your marriage. Please me sure to reach out as you celebrate future anniversaries; we'd love to be a part of your memories and to share more of our property, services and region with you. Thanks again for your time and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

A great place to stay in San Francisco. We stayed with 2 adults and 2 children. Yes the rooms are a little small but we were out all day so really didn't matter. The rooms are clean and have all the basic amenities including free WiFi. The staff very friendly and extremely helpful. There is a coin laundry 1 block away if you choose to wash your own clothes. It may not be suitable for really small children as it is a 15 min slightly hilly walk to union square.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marcus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to share your experience with us, Marcus. We're happy to hear that your stay was an overall enjoyable one and that you enjoyed the outgoing hospitality of our attentive team. We'd love to host you again and to share more of our property and region with you, and we hope that you'll reach out as you plan return trips to the area. Many thanks again for your time and review; we'd love to hear more from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 227 in San Francisco
5,053 reviews
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#17 of 227 in San Francisco
874 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#51 of 227 in San Francisco
4,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#49 of 227 in San Francisco
1,830 reviews
Hotel Vertigo
#74 of 227 in San Francisco
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-5817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Carlton offers an international ambiance paired with outstanding guest service. Built in 1927, this nine-story San Francisco hotel is 3 blocks from the California Street cable car line, 6 blocks from Union Square, 8 blocks from the main entrance to Chinatown and 9 blocks from Civic Center. Complimentary evening wine receptions are held in Hotel Carlton's lobby nightly and feature live music from local artists. In addition, Hotel Carlton provides complimentary wireless internet to all guests; upgraded bandwidth is also available (surcharge applies). Recently renovated, all 161 non-smoking guestrooms at Hotel Carlton feature remodeled bathrooms including decorative floor and wall tiling, new vanities and sinks. The public spaces showcase cross-cultural design that incorporates treasures from Africa, India, Nepal, Laos and Asia. Our restaurant Saha features award-winning Arabic Fusion cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Carlton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing